Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome59.79%
Worth A Look: 22.68%
Just Average: 9.28%
Pretty Crappy: 5.67%
Sucks: 2.58%

13 reviews, 116 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rushmore
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"'Kiss me, little one.'"
5 stars

"Rushmore" is a repeat viewer if ever I've seen one. Wes Anderson takes a simple, old-fashioned story and turns it into one of the sweetest, most vivid films in recent history by creating realistic, complex characters. It doesn't get much better than this.

You knew a kid like Max Fischer in school. If there's a club, he's the president. And if there is no club? You can bet he'll start one. Decked out in a perfectly pressed suit, he wears his various achievements like a shield against whatever the world throws at him. He's the weird guy who actually thinks being a hall monitor is some hot shit.

"Rushmore" is the story of how he falls in love, makes some friends, and begins to grow up. It all starts when he becomes infatuated with Miss Cross, a pretty first grade teacher. She explains to Max that she's too old for him, but a crush is a hard thing to break when you're a stubborn teenager.

Woven into the story is depressed millionaire Herman Blume, who sees Max as something of a kindred spirit. The two become unlikely friends, but the relationship crumbles when Blume realizes that he's falling for Miss Cross. She returns the feelings and Max begins his journey to maturity.

"Rushmore" is successful where so many other coming-of-age movies fail because it consistently catches you off guard--Anderson and cowriter Owen Wilson don't take their story too seriously in the first half of the film, and that makes the deeply complex third act as surprising as it is satisfying.

Anderson also happens to have a natural knack for filmmaking; "Rushmore" is a visual joy from start to finish. The compositions alone are worth your money; a lot of scenes get their laughs simply from the way in which they're constructed. Anderson knows that framing is one of the most important parts of filmmaking, and he takes the time to make every shot original and funny.

This is the kind of movie I love--it's not too long, it never lets the plot overwhelm the characters, and there are oodles of small touches that you catch only upon multiple watchings. And, while the themes may be easy-to-spot, you're never beaten over the head with them--like the play near the film's end that becomes a metaphor for the entire story.

Finally, the performances--they're out and out magnificent, particularly Bill Murrary as Herman Blume. You forget right away that you're watching a big name comedian; he drops his fame and runs with the character. It's really a beautiful thing to see, especially the scenes in which he awkwardly courts Miss Cross. Olivia Williams does a spot-on job as the object of our heroes' affections, and you may even begin to fall for her yourself a little bit. As Blume says, "She's got something you can't quite put your finger on." It's a natural spark that's hard to explaion.

Jason Schwartzman, though, steals the show from his older co-stars. Fischer would turn obnoxious in most other actors' hands, but this kid does something really special with the role. In the end, you feel bad and even root for him to win--Schwartzman takes you inside Max's smug facade and lets you see what makes him tick. In this way, he builds sympathy without being obvious.

The most interesting, beautiful, and FUN film of 1998.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=203&reviewer=123
originally posted: 01/02/00 18:30:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/26/15 stanley welles a delicious twisted treat 4 stars
1/16/12 hurdygurdy man Endured this to see why well liked.. NFI! What fuckin planet am I on?? 1 stars
5/29/11 heather omg this is the worst movie every made dont watch it!!!!!! 1 stars
9/09/10 the dork knight Elitist. Empty. Aimless. What the fuck is so fascinating about this? 1 stars
6/23/10 PAUL SHORTT QUIRKY COMEDY WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
9/23/09 Monday Morning This flick rocks, and if that makes me a snob, so be it!!! 5 stars
6/29/07 johnnyfog For snobs only. Not endearing, not interesting, not funny. 2 stars
1/07/07 Bitchflaps A fine cast (bar Schwartzman) can't save this dull dull film. 2 stars
12/14/05 Ewok All -Time Greatest Movie ever and a half!! 5 stars
11/05/05 DM Doesn't work in places, but so endearingly unconventional you have to like it. 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Schwartzman embodies the creepy geek = that doesn't help this garbage one bit 1 stars
6/13/05 E-FUNK Wes Anderson's swansong of genious. Murray is amazing as is every detail of this movie. 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Wes Anderson's Best Film 5 stars
4/29/05 pym Great movie, I love Anderson's sense of humor, Murray and Schwartzman were excellent 5 stars
1/17/05 sbpat21 Really brilliant and quirky 5 stars
1/06/05 HL Let's not assume you'll love this movie...not as funky as "Ferris Bueller's Day Off". 4 stars
11/15/04 Dunce Rare film that gets better with repeated viewings. Murray is the best! 5 stars
7/05/04 James Kustes It will be nice to see Murray return in The Life Aquatic 5 stars
4/07/04 Morally Sound Funny movie with all the quirky, satirical comedy one could ever want. Awesome acting too! 5 stars
2/04/04 Asolando Nearly flawless, intelligent, offbeat comedy. 5 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold Pretty damn overrated. Anderson has become self-conscious about being an "indie" director. 3 stars
3/21/03 Kyle Overrated, but still a good film nonetheless. 4 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald funny and charming and wildly original 5 stars
1/03/03 Thomas Sealey The humor is all in the delivery. Anderson delivers the humor, but makes you figure it out. 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Obscenely overrated; Murray, though, is superb. 2 stars
11/26/02 Zack W. Young This film is brilliant; Mona Lisa and Brahm's 2nd come to mind. 5 stars
11/03/02 Nerf_Herder One of the best films ever made 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum About as funny as a fart at a funeral 1 stars
8/26/02 I Can't Swim I am in awe of it 5 stars
7/24/02 Chris Muggleworth This movie is like no other, and gives me a feeling like nothing else can 5 stars
7/23/02 erick hilarious, and it only got better (royal tenenbaums) 5 stars
4/17/02 R.W. Welch Has a certain style and low key humor, not a lot of electricty. 4 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean Great ideas, but why does it play out so dull? 2 stars
2/19/02 luda hoe one of my favorite films 5 stars
11/24/01 KC witty yet leaves ou wondering, can be seen as original or boring 3 stars
11/23/01 George Partington Humor, pathos, struggle, growth, understanding, acceptance.read Howe's review; he nailed it 5 stars
8/21/01 Hal Henry Mind-bogglingly good. Dark but adorable, Anderson is the new godfather of literary quirk. 5 stars
8/14/01 shankster If you didn't like this movie - you have no soul 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A perfect film...no joke. This movie is so original and the cast was amazing to watch. 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel "wow...were you in the shit?" "yeah, i was in the shit." 5 stars
6/27/01 Chris Newton aesteticly pleasing and has a wonderful story to it 5 stars
6/26/01 ted ryan originality is here 4 stars
5/30/01 Carly a quirky, hilarious little gem 5 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Art-house freaks? Go put on your Linkin Bizkit albums, pop in 'The Program' and have fun. 5 stars
3/09/01 The Mighty Mo When I began tIt had potential and creativity but sucked it with pointless drudgery. 3 stars
3/03/01 doug The best yet from Wes..... 5 stars
2/28/01 Scott This movie is very funny but not for everbody. Murray is always funny and real. 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake Max is not an endearing character at all. Go Swans review sums it up for me. 2 stars
11/08/00 Tim Fair Great movie, all the way around. 5 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley War does funny things to men. 5 stars
5/05/00 Kieran This movie inspired me in life & praise Jah for Wes dusting off Murray & letting him shine 5 stars
4/12/00 Adrian Pickworth don't fuck with my play! 5 stars
4/09/00 Schrive-dog Murray is a true genius. Loved Mr. Littlejeans . . . "Best play ever, man." 5 stars
4/03/00 Casper Once again a comedic gem is brought to us by geniuses Anderson and Wilson. Loved it!!! 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold the kid with the slingshoy was fucking hilarious 5 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman good movie. liked it, but didn't write home about it 4 stars
1/18/00 amanda awesome shit! Bill Murry and Jason Schwartzman, we need to see more of you!!!! 5 stars
1/12/00 Nice Guy Eddie Not what I expected from the trailers -- better! Pleasantly surprised. 5 stars
1/07/00 Man On The Street Thinly veided ode to obsession 4 stars
12/23/99 Wafer Irony is hilarious 4 stars
10/29/99 Bozo I love this to death; great debut by Jason, Bill Murray should've been Oscar winner 5 stars
9/03/99 Elizaveta Yeahhh Bill Murray! I loved this movie so much - smartly hilarious and snide!! 5 stars
7/29/99 Scott Lange Absolutely perfect- my favorite comedy of all-time. 5 stars
7/25/99 Michael Grimm So well written and acted, Bill Murray is the best 5 stars
7/25/99 Ryann Gray Such an in depth entertainer...FUCKING AWESOME IT IS!!! 5 stars
7/15/99 bridgette made me smile, but i didn't laugh as much as i thought i would. still good though 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Critics said this falls apart towards end. What movie were they watching? 4 stars
5/07/99 BraveFan "She's sweet, but she's fucked up." Best of 1998 5 stars
4/26/99 Lucas jackson it was an outstanding movie,I loved the guys plays and Bill Murray was awesome 5 stars
4/24/99 Chelsea, the mod pixie Loved it! Great script, awesome set design, crushworthy lead! 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson A classic! See it now! Hunt it down! Steal it! Just watch it! 5 stars
3/27/99 Lisa My new reason to live. Seen it 4x so far; seen something new each time. Murray was robbed. 5 stars
3/26/99 kmk not as great as everyone keeps saying, but original and well written. 4 stars
3/25/99 debbie tuttle what's your rushmore? 5 stars
3/23/99 jvt A refreshing teen comedy 5 stars
3/20/99 Andy Rice Good Shit 5 stars
3/19/99 Mambo Howlingly funny in a deadpan way 5 stars
3/17/99 S.B. Glowinski It's just always a great high to see such an original piece of work. 5 stars
3/17/99 Scott Stipe F***in A 5 stars
3/16/99 Chris Ashmore Refreshing and original. Doesn't flow particularly well at times. But, 4 stars. 4 stars
3/12/99 Jeff HOUN good movie, could've been better, no real ending plot 3 stars
3/10/99 nototis Amazing. A coming of age movie that doesn't suck. 5 stars
3/10/99 haden lawyer Original and entertaining 5 stars
3/10/99 Negative Creep Great film. Very entertaining and plus Affleck just rocks. 5 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey Charhas' review rocks! Now that's movie business! 5 stars
3/08/99 Thysious I will see it again 5 stars
3/07/99 tellurium Wow, saw it twice. Just the right amount of artisticness to be a successful Hollywood film. 5 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Bring it on! 5 stars
3/02/99 Jerry-93 I laughed, I cried, I pissed my pants 5 stars
3/01/99 slimshady this movie rocked jason schwartzman is hysterically funny , definatly a must see movie 5 stars
2/28/99 captjoe just read charas, laughed so hard I cried 5 stars
2/28/99 jennifer newsome this was the best film i have seen in a long time, it is a true origional, bravo!! 5 stars
2/27/99 Dirty Dave Capone great 5 stars
2/26/99 Viral Messiah AWESOME! 5 stars
2/26/99 Sink Bill Murray.Soundtrack!Great,inventive, film. 5 stars
2/24/99 Cagliostro This movie is *full* of entertainment...wonderful! 5 stars
2/23/99 somber Haven't seen a great movie like this in a while. Here's to of the best of 99 5 stars
2/20/99 MilhousFan Awesome movie man! Great music too! 5 stars
2/18/99 chuck-d it was great! well acted, well written, wonderful direction, and wierd as hell 5 stars
2/18/99 Agsmith I think i liked it.. I scratched my head a lot.. But it was good 4 stars
2/15/99 Vick Di Brecci Soundtrack, Murray, and Shwartzman, are better than the dumb plot which starts off good. 4 stars
2/11/99 Ben An odd movie, but very enjoyable. Murray and Schwartzman were good 5 stars
2/08/99 Gary More creative than most recent movies. Liked the sound track. 4 stars
2/08/99 Jumbles Feels more like real life than anything I've seen in a while. 4 stars
2/08/99 MickCollins Needed more Murray. Max gets creepyas hell after awhile. 4 stars
2/07/99 john this movie was sooo amazing. bill murray is a god. 5 stars
2/06/99 Giladani Saw it at Telluride, has its been changed? Max is creepy, Murray does his usual schtick. 3 stars
1/11/99 Kevin Maynard Murray's found the role of a lifetime. The funniest, saddest performance of the year. 5 stars
1/02/99 Leon Russell Bill Murray is an underrated actor. He deserves parts in serious features. 4 stars
12/28/98 Movie Geezer I really enjoyed this fim---offbeat and refreshing 5 stars
12/27/98 The Dude Bill Murray is great , the movie is funny, and it gives me a major hard on. 5 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz An Oscar-worthy performance by Bill Murray 5 stars
12/13/98 Binky I love me a Wilson. 5 stars
12/11/98 Kirgo Refreshingly odd 4 stars
11/25/98 poppy Tone of BottleRocket w/o the story problems. Bill Murray finally gets a good role. 5 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool So enjoyable and original that it's hard to believe it was funded by a Hollywood studio! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Dec-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast