Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome59.79%
Worth A Look: 22.68%
Just Average: 9.28%
Pretty Crappy: 5.67%
Sucks: 2.58%

13 reviews, 116 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Rushmore
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"Fine storytelling...without the comic timing."
3 stars

When I saw the trailers for Rushmore, I thought it would be a smart, funny revenge comedy. And it was, if you omit the word 'funny.' It's not for any lack of intelligence or humor in the script, or poor acting. It's just a bunch of jokes that you know should be amusing, but can't bring yourself to laugh out loud at. You might pull off some inward chuckling, though.

Rushmore is the screen debut of Jason Schwartzman, a creepy little fellow if there ever was one. He plays Max, a failing overachiever student at Rushmore Academy. At the tender age of 15, he has already developed a talent for writing plays, taken up smoking, and fallen in love. His love interest, played by Olivia Williams, is a first grade teacher at Rushmore. Unfortunately for Max, Bill Murray is also in love with her. Murray is a rich businessman who, right off the bat, Max takes to and starts treating like a mentor. It all flows from there, into the revenge, and the reconciliation, and some pretty good practical jokes.

Unfortunately, the practical jokes have all been seen before, and instead of being paced throughout the movie, are nearly all crammed into one musical interlude. All of the rest of the poorly timed humor is spaced well, providing a steady pace of 'almost' hilarity.

Strong performances are found throughout, but nothing to rave over. None of the characters grab you, or make you cringe, or even make you feel ANYTHING. Anything at all. Bill Murray, as has been said many times, proves the rumors of his acting ability to be true here. Jason Schwartzman, being related to those in the business, makes him seem the perfect fit, although I have personal doubts as to his range. Olivia Williams is well cast, but doesn't give nearly the performance she could have.

Overall, Rushmore tends to fall just short of expectations, mostly because it can't capture it's audience. It's worth seeing once, but I don't think that multiple trips to the rental store will come out of the viewing.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=203&reviewer=130
originally posted: 12/19/99 02:30:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/26/15 stanley welles a delicious twisted treat 4 stars
1/16/12 hurdygurdy man Endured this to see why well liked.. NFI! What fuckin planet am I on?? 1 stars
5/29/11 heather omg this is the worst movie every made dont watch it!!!!!! 1 stars
9/09/10 the dork knight Elitist. Empty. Aimless. What the fuck is so fascinating about this? 1 stars
6/23/10 PAUL SHORTT QUIRKY COMEDY WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
9/23/09 Monday Morning This flick rocks, and if that makes me a snob, so be it!!! 5 stars
6/29/07 johnnyfog For snobs only. Not endearing, not interesting, not funny. 2 stars
1/07/07 Bitchflaps A fine cast (bar Schwartzman) can't save this dull dull film. 2 stars
12/14/05 Ewok All -Time Greatest Movie ever and a half!! 5 stars
11/05/05 DM Doesn't work in places, but so endearingly unconventional you have to like it. 4 stars
8/17/05 ES Schwartzman embodies the creepy geek = that doesn't help this garbage one bit 1 stars
6/13/05 E-FUNK Wes Anderson's swansong of genious. Murray is amazing as is every detail of this movie. 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake Wes Anderson's Best Film 5 stars
4/29/05 pym Great movie, I love Anderson's sense of humor, Murray and Schwartzman were excellent 5 stars
1/17/05 sbpat21 Really brilliant and quirky 5 stars
1/06/05 HL Let's not assume you'll love this movie...not as funky as "Ferris Bueller's Day Off". 4 stars
11/15/04 Dunce Rare film that gets better with repeated viewings. Murray is the best! 5 stars
7/05/04 James Kustes It will be nice to see Murray return in The Life Aquatic 5 stars
4/07/04 Morally Sound Funny movie with all the quirky, satirical comedy one could ever want. Awesome acting too! 5 stars
2/04/04 Asolando Nearly flawless, intelligent, offbeat comedy. 5 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold Pretty damn overrated. Anderson has become self-conscious about being an "indie" director. 3 stars
3/21/03 Kyle Overrated, but still a good film nonetheless. 4 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald funny and charming and wildly original 5 stars
1/03/03 Thomas Sealey The humor is all in the delivery. Anderson delivers the humor, but makes you figure it out. 5 stars
12/28/02 Jack Sommersby Obscenely overrated; Murray, though, is superb. 2 stars
11/26/02 Zack W. Young This film is brilliant; Mona Lisa and Brahm's 2nd come to mind. 5 stars
11/03/02 Nerf_Herder One of the best films ever made 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum About as funny as a fart at a funeral 1 stars
8/26/02 I Can't Swim I am in awe of it 5 stars
7/24/02 Chris Muggleworth This movie is like no other, and gives me a feeling like nothing else can 5 stars
7/23/02 erick hilarious, and it only got better (royal tenenbaums) 5 stars
4/17/02 R.W. Welch Has a certain style and low key humor, not a lot of electricty. 4 stars
4/02/02 Butterbean Great ideas, but why does it play out so dull? 2 stars
2/19/02 luda hoe one of my favorite films 5 stars
11/24/01 KC witty yet leaves ou wondering, can be seen as original or boring 3 stars
11/23/01 George Partington Humor, pathos, struggle, growth, understanding, acceptance.read Howe's review; he nailed it 5 stars
8/21/01 Hal Henry Mind-bogglingly good. Dark but adorable, Anderson is the new godfather of literary quirk. 5 stars
8/14/01 shankster If you didn't like this movie - you have no soul 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A perfect film...no joke. This movie is so original and the cast was amazing to watch. 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel "wow...were you in the shit?" "yeah, i was in the shit." 5 stars
6/27/01 Chris Newton aesteticly pleasing and has a wonderful story to it 5 stars
6/26/01 ted ryan originality is here 4 stars
5/30/01 Carly a quirky, hilarious little gem 5 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Art-house freaks? Go put on your Linkin Bizkit albums, pop in 'The Program' and have fun. 5 stars
3/09/01 The Mighty Mo When I began tIt had potential and creativity but sucked it with pointless drudgery. 3 stars
3/03/01 doug The best yet from Wes..... 5 stars
2/28/01 Scott This movie is very funny but not for everbody. Murray is always funny and real. 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake Max is not an endearing character at all. Go Swans review sums it up for me. 2 stars
11/08/00 Tim Fair Great movie, all the way around. 5 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley War does funny things to men. 5 stars
5/05/00 Kieran This movie inspired me in life & praise Jah for Wes dusting off Murray & letting him shine 5 stars
4/12/00 Adrian Pickworth don't fuck with my play! 5 stars
4/09/00 Schrive-dog Murray is a true genius. Loved Mr. Littlejeans . . . "Best play ever, man." 5 stars
4/03/00 Casper Once again a comedic gem is brought to us by geniuses Anderson and Wilson. Loved it!!! 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold the kid with the slingshoy was fucking hilarious 5 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman good movie. liked it, but didn't write home about it 4 stars
1/18/00 amanda awesome shit! Bill Murry and Jason Schwartzman, we need to see more of you!!!! 5 stars
1/12/00 Nice Guy Eddie Not what I expected from the trailers -- better! Pleasantly surprised. 5 stars
1/07/00 Man On The Street Thinly veided ode to obsession 4 stars
12/23/99 Wafer Irony is hilarious 4 stars
10/29/99 Bozo I love this to death; great debut by Jason, Bill Murray should've been Oscar winner 5 stars
9/03/99 Elizaveta Yeahhh Bill Murray! I loved this movie so much - smartly hilarious and snide!! 5 stars
7/29/99 Scott Lange Absolutely perfect- my favorite comedy of all-time. 5 stars
7/25/99 Michael Grimm So well written and acted, Bill Murray is the best 5 stars
7/25/99 Ryann Gray Such an in depth entertainer...FUCKING AWESOME IT IS!!! 5 stars
7/15/99 bridgette made me smile, but i didn't laugh as much as i thought i would. still good though 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Critics said this falls apart towards end. What movie were they watching? 4 stars
5/07/99 BraveFan "She's sweet, but she's fucked up." Best of 1998 5 stars
4/26/99 Lucas jackson it was an outstanding movie,I loved the guys plays and Bill Murray was awesome 5 stars
4/24/99 Chelsea, the mod pixie Loved it! Great script, awesome set design, crushworthy lead! 5 stars
4/14/99 Jon Jackson A classic! See it now! Hunt it down! Steal it! Just watch it! 5 stars
3/27/99 Lisa My new reason to live. Seen it 4x so far; seen something new each time. Murray was robbed. 5 stars
3/26/99 kmk not as great as everyone keeps saying, but original and well written. 4 stars
3/25/99 debbie tuttle what's your rushmore? 5 stars
3/23/99 jvt A refreshing teen comedy 5 stars
3/20/99 Andy Rice Good Shit 5 stars
3/19/99 Mambo Howlingly funny in a deadpan way 5 stars
3/17/99 S.B. Glowinski It's just always a great high to see such an original piece of work. 5 stars
3/17/99 Scott Stipe F***in A 5 stars
3/16/99 Chris Ashmore Refreshing and original. Doesn't flow particularly well at times. But, 4 stars. 4 stars
3/12/99 Jeff HOUN good movie, could've been better, no real ending plot 3 stars
3/10/99 nototis Amazing. A coming of age movie that doesn't suck. 5 stars
3/10/99 haden lawyer Original and entertaining 5 stars
3/10/99 Negative Creep Great film. Very entertaining and plus Affleck just rocks. 5 stars
3/10/99 Ah Dooey Charhas' review rocks! Now that's movie business! 5 stars
3/08/99 Thysious I will see it again 5 stars
3/07/99 tellurium Wow, saw it twice. Just the right amount of artisticness to be a successful Hollywood film. 5 stars
3/05/99 Mike Rotch Bring it on! 5 stars
3/02/99 Jerry-93 I laughed, I cried, I pissed my pants 5 stars
3/01/99 slimshady this movie rocked jason schwartzman is hysterically funny , definatly a must see movie 5 stars
2/28/99 captjoe just read charas, laughed so hard I cried 5 stars
2/28/99 jennifer newsome this was the best film i have seen in a long time, it is a true origional, bravo!! 5 stars
2/27/99 Dirty Dave Capone great 5 stars
2/26/99 Viral Messiah AWESOME! 5 stars
2/26/99 Sink Bill Murray.Soundtrack!Great,inventive, film. 5 stars
2/24/99 Cagliostro This movie is *full* of entertainment...wonderful! 5 stars
2/23/99 somber Haven't seen a great movie like this in a while. Here's to of the best of 99 5 stars
2/20/99 MilhousFan Awesome movie man! Great music too! 5 stars
2/18/99 chuck-d it was great! well acted, well written, wonderful direction, and wierd as hell 5 stars
2/18/99 Agsmith I think i liked it.. I scratched my head a lot.. But it was good 4 stars
2/15/99 Vick Di Brecci Soundtrack, Murray, and Shwartzman, are better than the dumb plot which starts off good. 4 stars
2/11/99 Ben An odd movie, but very enjoyable. Murray and Schwartzman were good 5 stars
2/08/99 Gary More creative than most recent movies. Liked the sound track. 4 stars
2/08/99 Jumbles Feels more like real life than anything I've seen in a while. 4 stars
2/08/99 MickCollins Needed more Murray. Max gets creepyas hell after awhile. 4 stars
2/07/99 john this movie was sooo amazing. bill murray is a god. 5 stars
2/06/99 Giladani Saw it at Telluride, has its been changed? Max is creepy, Murray does his usual schtick. 3 stars
1/11/99 Kevin Maynard Murray's found the role of a lifetime. The funniest, saddest performance of the year. 5 stars
1/02/99 Leon Russell Bill Murray is an underrated actor. He deserves parts in serious features. 4 stars
12/28/98 Movie Geezer I really enjoyed this fim---offbeat and refreshing 5 stars
12/27/98 The Dude Bill Murray is great , the movie is funny, and it gives me a major hard on. 5 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz An Oscar-worthy performance by Bill Murray 5 stars
12/13/98 Binky I love me a Wilson. 5 stars
12/11/98 Kirgo Refreshingly odd 4 stars
11/25/98 poppy Tone of BottleRocket w/o the story problems. Bill Murray finally gets a good role. 5 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool So enjoyable and original that it's hard to believe it was funded by a Hollywood studio! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Dec-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast