Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.88

Awesome50%
Worth A Look: 18.75%
Just Average: 7.5%
Pretty Crappy: 16.25%
Sucks: 7.5%

2 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

Dilili in Paris by Jay Seaver

First Love by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Carrie (1976)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"'They're all gonna laugh at you!'"
5 stars

One of the best horror movies ever. A few parts seem silly now, but overall "Carrie" stands the test of time. It's still frightening, it's still beautiful, and it's still Brian De Palma's first masterpiece.

Well, I guess that last part won't really change, since he could never make a new film and have it be his first masterpiece, because of his other great films, but that's irrelevant. This movie kicks ass in every way possible.

Sissy Spacek plays Carrie White, a girl who gets verbally abused at school and whacked with prayer books at home. De Palma starts the movie off with a nice introduction to both of her Hells--we're in the girls locker room, there's beautiful music playing, chicks are splashing around naked, and then all of a sudden Carrie gets her period in the shower and the other children are launching tampons. And this ain't even the worst part of her day.

She goes home to her Jesus-freak mother, who flips out when finds out that Carrie "is a woman now." She smacks Carrie around for awhile and then forces her to pray all night long in a small closet filled with religious paraphanelia. I swear to God, I'll never complain about getting grounded from the computer again.

It's around this time that Carrie finds out she has telekenesis--she can move shit with her mind, a talent that comes in rather handy later on in the picture when some kids play a nasty trick at her and she makes like James Brown for the big payback.

Now, to De Palma's credit, "Carrie" never becomes exploitive about its subject or takes the low road--this is a movie that properly earns its scares by making you care about the characters and what happens to them. There are some really touching scenes in here that give the film's eventual violence much more weight than they would have in your standard assembly line thriller/horror type movie.

There are also oodles of great performances. It's hard to believe Sissy Spacek was twenty seven when she made this--she completely sheds any semblence of her age and convinces you that she's a put upon teenage girl who doesn't know how to deal with the strange situation she finds herself in. She's matched by Piper Laurie, who plays her pyschotic mother. The performance never really devolves into a limp caricature, like it would in almost any other actress's hands. She brings a lot of passion to her scenes and obviously took a somewhat goofy role extremely seriously.

The rest of the cast is just as good--Nancy Allen, back when she was the hottest little thing on two legs (if you really want to see what she's capable of, check out "Dressed to Kill," Brian De Palma's first stab at soft core porn); John Travolta, back when he was still in the process of welcoming back Mr. Kotter; and the lovely miss Ann Irving, back before she married Spielberg.

As good as the acting is, it's overshadowed by De Palma's direction. He's been aping Hitchcock for years, but this was the movie where he really nailed it. He proves himself with "Carrie" as a fine director of horror--he combines gruesome elements to shock you and some really suspenseful scenes to hold you in. He also proves he can do touching (the amazing dance sequence near the end). Enjoy what he does here; he would never pull it off again.

And now, what you've all been waiting for--a mention of Stephen King's novel. The film, to me, is hugely superior; the book was too clinical to generate much suspense. De Palma makes the story very emotional, and I just enjoy his approach a lot more.

"Carrie" is the rare horror film that is as beautiful as it is scary. One of my very favorites. (Special Note: Get the DVD if at all possible. It looks spectacular, especially for a movie made in the seventies)

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2037&reviewer=123
originally posted: 12/29/99 12:38:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/13/19 Carl Bruun Yet another critic who thinks he’s being edgy by trashing DePalma. Yawn. 4 stars
11/07/17 MORRIS CAMPBELL A CLASSIC WITH A GREAT FINALE 4 stars
7/14/13 Marty Very solid. Pushed the right buttons and a fun watch. 4 stars
6/26/11 Jennifer Barr i think this was a great movie 5 stars
11/05/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess One of the few SK adaptations that lives up to the book 4 stars
1/01/10 art HERE"S MY THEORY of this film,the whole thing was a NIGHTMARE! 1 stars
11/11/09 art A ''GRAND'' movie about a WITCH! 2 stars
11/02/09 RLan An ok movie. Not that scary, but Piper Laurie deserves praise for her performance. 3 stars
10/20/08 Monster A Go-Go One of the best horror flicks ever-certainly best S. King adaptation! CLASSIC! 5 stars
5/30/08 PAUL SHORTT THERES LITTLE SUSPENSE OR DRAMATIC TENSION, ITS NOT SCARY, ITS JUST VIOLENT AND OFFENSIVE 1 stars
11/21/07 Kevin A bloody good time. Period. 5 stars
10/28/07 action movie fan corny dialouge, overaction and silly violence weaken potentially good story 2 stars
4/09/07 AbsurdRandomness Beautiful horror film, just as ADogg said. The use of Katie Irving's songs was perfect! 5 stars
1/05/07 R.W.Welch Would have been easy to screw up, but De Palma hits all the right notes here. 4 stars
9/28/06 Agent Sands Perfect example of suspense, but why can't the revenge be more satisfying and less brief? 4 stars
9/24/06 David Pollastrini brian De Palma best work 5 stars
2/11/06 Maz I AM CARRIE 5 stars
12/19/05 kr an ok movie but not a big fan of horror movies 3 stars
8/25/05 TheOthersFan The characters are all cliches - I don't hate or love any of them enough to care 3 stars
8/06/05 Gunther I was very dissappointed. This movie can hardly be classed as horror. 1 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones Brilliant - Feel Good Comedy of it's Year 5 stars
8/20/04 J I think it was that time of month for Carrie!!! 4 stars
6/19/04 STEVE FSULKNER superior-made s.king&cast famous 5 stars
6/06/04 Ryan Clark People who can't appreciate De Palma's masterpiece doesn't know a thing about movies. 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Stylish and atmospheric,one of the De Palma's best. 5 stars
2/23/04 john DePalma at his best - a truly unsettling thriller 5 stars
11/25/03 Gi Gi carrie is a lesbian I think 1 stars
11/14/03 cody a great movie ,good acting,and cool climax 4 stars
11/11/03 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) GREAT MOVIE!!! BEST HORROR MOVIE EVA!!! ya right this is so corny. it SUX all ass god made! 1 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus an ok movie....NOT 2 stars
9/12/03 Gray I could have directed it better 4 stars
8/29/03 Kur This movie still haunts me after all these years and I still can't watch it alone. 5 stars
6/08/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
5/04/03 Elizabeth Little it was so so 3 stars
4/10/03 Ross Bernard Horror movie? Yawn...Kazaam was much more frightening 2 stars
11/23/02 Kyle Pretty campy in spots, but Spacek's & Laurie's performances are top-notch. 4 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Carrie rocks and fuck she is scary looking. Clever how the mother was killed like Christ. 5 stars
4/25/02 Charles Tatum DePalma is one of the few to film King right 4 stars
4/05/02 Junshi errm...her mother was cool, but the plot is kinda stupid. I mean the plot isn't scary. 2 stars
4/05/02 John Roberson FAR better than the book; one of the best films about adolescent pain ever made. 4 stars
4/05/02 Gooseman 1976 Special Effects notwithstanding, good scary movie for the time 4 stars
4/02/02 Jake Big letdown, I dunno what the Director was on! Carrie doesn't make sense, what a mess! 2 stars
4/01/02 Film Dude GRRRRREEEEEAT! 5 stars
3/13/02 Marcia Lartz Compelling misfire. Far too good a character study to mire it in supernatural horror. 4 stars
2/06/02 Butterbean Carrie's mother scared me more than Jason, Chucky, and Leatherface put together. 5 stars
8/30/01 Gary Atmospheric and deliciously cruel. Classic horror. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk One of the best King adaptations...DePalma surprises with a downright ruthless movie. 5 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg Great ending . 5 stars
6/27/01 MALIK WILLIAMS The movie was great it is my all time favorite move 5 stars
6/07/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Tragic tale of violent revenge on ignorance and human cruelty. Calculating 5 stars
4/19/01 Steve I LOVE P.J.Soles Work in this! i like that hat! 5 stars
4/13/01 kid rock De Palma rules. This movie is a classic and my all time favorite. 5 stars
3/30/01 Erik North One of the best horror movies of modern times--and tragically poignant at that 5 stars
3/21/01 F*ck ya all I love the fact that she has telekinesis 5 stars
12/03/00 Cristopher Revilla it was okay, only for sissy spaceck's performance 3 stars
7/31/00 Elvisfan The first sin was intercourse 5 stars
7/13/00 DAVID I didnt really like this movie!! 2 stars
7/03/00 Stephen Anderson Great Stephen King movie 5 stars
4/29/00 Yo Momma fucked up! 1 stars
4/29/00 Negative Norm good campy fun! 5 stars
3/29/00 Michael Grimm overrated 3 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright A perfect horror/drama that will probably never be surpassed. Spacek is tremendous. 5 stars
2/28/00 Ken Krysa My personal favorite scarry movie of all time. Brian De Palma rules!!!!!! 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski I don't knwo who freaked me out more: Carrie or her mom. ROCK!!!! 5 stars
2/06/00 Critic better than average 4 stars
1/20/00 The Bomb 69 horror movie that actually SCARED me!! 5 stars
7/03/99 J-Dogg Come on people! Rate this! It's the only horror movie that actually gave me a nightmare! 5 stars
5/18/99 Lucas jackson hell I would not want to meet that girl or her satanic mom,hell it was scary shit 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-1976 (R)

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1977 (R)


Directed by
  Brian De Palma

Written by
  Lawrence D. Cohen

Cast
  Sissy Spacek
  Piper Laurie
  Amy Irving
  William Katt
  John Travolta
  Nancy Allen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast