Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.15

Awesome: 15.22%
Worth A Look: 5.43%
Just Average: 2.17%
Pretty Crappy: 33.7%
Sucks43.48%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Psycho Goreman by Jay Seaver

Coming 2 America by Peter Sobczynski

Raya and the Last Dragon by Peter Sobczynski

Jumbo by Jay Seaver

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Down to You
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"Mullets? They’re in, man."
2 stars

A predisposition to dislike Teen Romantic comedies probably stilted my opinion of “Down To You” right off, but first let me say that I didn’t think my low expectations would have been bad if the movie had been good.

I knew something was inherently wrong as I walked into the theatre to see “Down To You”...I knew I shouldn’t be there, that I should be in a different theatre watching a different movie. But there I went, and I honestly hoped that it would be entertaining.
It was entertaining, yes. Sadly, the reason it was entertaining was that it was unintentionally awful. Why? So many reasons, stuffed into so little a movie.

The Plot: Al Connelly (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) is a nice enough fellow. He wants to be a chef. His friends (Shawn Hatosy and Zak Orth) aren’t really that nice. One’s an actor who recently got a starring role in the very high quality film “Ben Huge” (yes, it’s a porno) and the other, well...he’s just really, really pathetic. Imogen (Julia Stiles) is a chain smoking freshman who has a predilection for cake and art. They meet, and we are drawn into their rather bitchy transformation into a ‘serious’ couple. We witness their first date, their first kiss, and (three months in) their first time sleeping together. It’s all so, so happy. Then, of course, the slide begins. Where they were irritating and full of treacle before, they became simply irritating. They begin to fight. It’s all downhill from there.

When Kris Isacson, the ‘director’, saw that his story was going down the drain (if it had ever been in the sink) he decided to try and fill the holes with flashy cinematography. At
least, I’m sure he thought it was flashy at the time. What it seemed to be was an attempt by a first year film student to bring cohesion to a tale that had nothing to hold it together
with special forms of camera work. I was not impressed.
The vision he appears to have had could have been a good one. It really could. But there’s not enough effort all around and his actors sound like they’re fresh off the high school stage. The screenplay is weak, and fluctuates between trying to be philosophical and trying to be riotously funny without ever reaching either.
As a romantic comedy, “Down To You” fails quite miserably. It’s not funny (save for a few scenes about Mullets and a reality based cooking show) and the romance is overshadowed by the depressing tone that permeates it from beginning to end.

As I said, a inherent dislike for this genre tainted my view towards it. However, a good movie of any sort should be able to overcome such prejudices, and “Down To You” didn’t even come close.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2139&reviewer=130
originally posted: 01/23/00 20:09:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/16/15 dr. lao The narration made me think I was watchng the worst episode ever of "The Wonder Years" 1 stars
11/15/11 Dane Youssef Even worse than I thought it would be. Little girls might like it. All else avoid! 1 stars
8/04/07 mb Weak movie, but the boy-girl attraction does pull you in. 3 stars
7/21/07 gr117 I'll second the "poo" critique. 1 stars
12/07/06 Steve Michaud Puerile, recycled rubbish 2 stars
9/17/05 tony it was poo but ok i guess 2 stars
3/09/04 Fullofshit This film stars the 2 worst actors of all time, congrats go to prinze and kutcher 5 stars
11/19/03 Pat Well yeah it´s the typical movie with the cheesy story, but it´s got some fine moments 3 stars
10/09/03 Erik Van Sant Prinze Jr is calssically trained to blow goats. Keep up the good work, douche-bag. 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin ok...I really hated this movie. thought it would be good but it was weird and it angered me 1 stars
5/31/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Herein Julia Stiles's downward spiral got worse than something shoved up your rectrum (sic) 2 stars
1/11/03 Barry Watched it on cable. Why does Freddie bother? He needs something shoved up his rectrum. 1 stars
1/10/03 sandi the movie was good! 4 stars
7/01/02 KMG Freddie! Wassssuuup? Why do you keep doing the SAME MOVIE?! 1 stars
3/13/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Freddie Prinze Jr. wasted, Julia Stiles fits such sub-medioctity to a T. 2 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I can't decide whose worse, Prinze or Kutcher. Oh! Yes I can, this movie beats 'em both! 1 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Freddie Prinze Jr. is good, you doodooheads! It's Julia S. whose oars don't reach the top o 2 stars
12/24/01 Chris Julia can't even make this good. shoot prince 2 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Give me a blow torch and a crowbar and I'll tell Prinze Jr. what I think of him. 1 stars
7/13/01 Jessica I loved it! 5 stars
6/22/01 caitlin what a piece of shit movie 1 stars
6/12/01 Bada Bing Crosby Granted, its not "Dr. Zhivago" but not nearly as bad as some of you seem to think 4 stars
6/05/01 Vanessa Robles Its the best movie I've ever seen and all the people who didn't like it are fucking stupid! 5 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse goddam stupid movie, Freddie Prinze Jr's weakest of his career 1 stars
5/06/01 Kate horrible movie with no plot I cant believe Julia and Freddie wasted their talent 1 stars
4/25/01 Cloak Julia Stiles shines even in crap like this 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a good movie. You guys just don't know what you're talking about!!! 5 stars
3/23/01 PIUOIAUdlkjs it's absoulutely awesome! i love it from the beginning till the end! 5 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why??? 1 stars
1/01/01 Down to you fan it was a great movie so fuck off everyone who thinks its not!!!! 5 stars
12/07/00 Girl 9 Soooo bad I had to apologize to my boyfriend for renting it! 1 stars
12/02/00 scott wahls Fonzi's "COOKS" take on "COPS" was funny, Ms. Blair is hot, rest blew goats 2 stars
10/04/00 Jacques Strap stupoid, immature and insulting movie to boot 1 stars
9/27/00 Ground Zero Let's hope Freddie Prinze Jr's career ends here. 1 stars
9/07/00 Stuntman god dang awful and pitiful execuse for a movie 1 stars
7/21/00 Kirsten Ridiculously bad; makes Deuce Bigelow look like Ben Hur 1 stars
7/17/00 Digitalus freakin' shit 1 stars
6/25/00 ane i thought it was brillliant 5 stars
6/25/00 ane tancev i thought it was brillliant 5 stars
6/17/00 Sir I like the way it was set out 5 stars
6/14/00 FREDDIE It was beyond a teen movie, i liked the style the movie was done in 5 stars
6/09/00 MR joel harwood Good 5 stars
6/03/00 MR joel harwood Beyond a teen film/ JULIA STILES is hot 5 stars
4/26/00 Pansy Like The King said, this movie sucks. The hell with Freddie Prinze Jr. and his mom! 1 stars
2/27/00 Kyle Broflovski King, dude, I forgive you...animal tranquilizers are much more fun than this piss. 1 stars
2/21/00 Mr. Kramitall I agree with Erik the Movieman. Boring as hell 1 stars
2/17/00 Andi C. I like the way it was done 4 stars
2/06/00 Reed Rothchild My farts act better than Freddie Prinze Jr. 1 stars
1/30/00 Lame-Oh Absolute stupidity 1 stars
1/29/00 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules What up hoe bag King dude. Freddy Prinze Jr ate your mom's ass like fruit loops! Eat it! 5 stars
1/28/00 Lauren Finn It was the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
1/28/00 Chartsy Oh, no! What an unfortunate movie. 1 stars
1/25/00 Jeanne The movie had a very weak plot and the dialogue couldn't have been written worse. 1 stars
1/23/00 Randall It was so cute, great date movie 4 stars
1/22/00 VioLenT BoB Good FLick, Adult FUn, No Boobs, 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jan-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jun-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Kris Isacsson

Written by
  Kris Isacsson

Cast
  Freddie Prinze Jr.
  Selma Blair
  Shawn Hatosy
  Ashton Kutcher
  Zak Orth
  Julia Stiles



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast