Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.82

Awesome: 4.63%
Worth A Look: 5.56%
Just Average: 12.96%
Pretty Crappy: 21.3%
Sucks55.56%

10 reviews, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

Two Tigers by Jay Seaver

Dare to Stop Us by Jay Seaver

White Snake by Jay Seaver

Knives Out by Peter Sobczynski

21 Bridges by Jay Seaver

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Urban Legends: The Final Cut
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Did you hear the one about the stupid film sequel to an unwatchable hit?"
1 stars

Amy is a cute film student trying to get her film made.

It will be centered around a bunch of murders that occur according to urban legends, this idea courtesy of the colorful character Loretta Devine, from the first film. As with all the "Scream" and "I Know What You Did" last season of your choice, red herrings are thrown at the audience as the film crew begins dying one by one. I cannot go into such bothersome details as characters and situations because I had no idea who anyone was in the first fifteen minutes of the film. Amy looks like her leading lady, there is a seemingly unrelated murder that begins in a coat check room and ends up in a bathtub full of ice...I sat, sighed, and appreciated the pretty good direction and nothing more.

Finally, the scares began to come together, as the film makers narrowed its suspects. I was actually appreciating some of the action, but the director/cowriter kept doing the same plot points all the recent slasher films have done: no one believes the protagonist, who can go from running from a psycho murderer to sitting quietly in a library and investigating clues on the computer in the next scene. The police are doltish, and I eventually did not care who lived or died because I could not stand the supporting characters myself. Even the urban legends Ottman uses to illustrate the murders are half thought out. Aside from someone waking up with their kidney missing, I never heard of the dead bodies in the carnival ride, or the midnight screaming that covers up a real murder. I can't be that sheltered!

The final revelation about the killer's identity would have been surprising if I had not figured it out half way through the film. Their motivation is completely bogus, I half heartedly thought of murdering idiotic mall kiosk employees with less drawn out explanations than the killer's here.

I do not believe that the audience should be this much smarter than the entire cast of a film. Jennifer Morrison as Amy does an admirable job, considering the script, and she makes some smart moves once in a while. Ottman's direction is pretty smooth, despite the complete leaps in logic his script takes. The scene with the cascading buckets of prop guns is not funny or suspenseful, it is frustratingly convenient.

The final twist, involving a cameo from someone from the totally unwatchable previous film, is probably the most clever thing about this film. Too bad Ottman could not keep this originality up for the preceding hour and a half.

I suggest "Urban Legends: Final Cut" be put back in the can. Skip it.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2143&reviewer=325
originally posted: 03/31/03 17:26:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/24/13 Jan Marie It just doesn’t get any better than seeing the gorgeous “Mrs. Anita Pelaez” over at her and 5 stars
4/17/12 ROSCOE PRETTY BAD BUT WATCHABLE 2 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef Actually... kind of fun for a sequel to a movie that was a rip-off in the first place. 4 stars
1/11/06 Darren O lacks the novelty of the original, and doesn't live up to the title 2 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman hahahaah oh my god, the first one was ok, but this one is a HORRIFIC PEICE OF Shiat 1 stars
10/23/05 tony poooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo 1 stars
8/03/05 ^podo boring and stupid... 2 stars
5/23/05 E-FUNK Holy shit! This movie is so bad it warrants executions for everyone involved. 1 stars
2/01/04 Rocko *cough* horse shit *cough* 1 stars
11/24/03 Thiago Pretty original way to continue the series. I really enjoyed UL2. 4 stars
11/08/03 Samuel Didn't even compare to the origional...which also sucked!! 3 stars
11/03/03 American Slasher Goddess Not bad, but weaker then the first one. 3 stars
7/24/03 Double G Why did they make a sequel, if they 1st one was so bad. This is torture, don't watch it!!!! 1 stars
7/06/03 Jack Sommersby Arid and just plain boring sequel to the passable original. Good cinematography, though. 1 stars
7/02/03 Gray had some good scenes wasn't helped by racist hummer 2 stars
6/22/03 Hottie I didn't think it was that bad! I thought it was good! 4 stars
3/31/03 y2mckay God how I hated this piece fo shit. Die, Loretta Devine. DIE YOU FAT BITCH! 1 stars
3/01/03 ME A GREAT FILM 5 stars
1/01/03 Chowie WHAT A PIECE OF SHIT! 1 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi this was fucking torture 1 stars
4/25/02 Charles Tatum Terrible sequel to a terrible film 1 stars
3/14/02 Christian Oh dear. What happened?The first one was so entertaining 1 stars
11/29/01 Rutt13 one of my beer farts could make a better film, even the girls are ugly. 1 stars
11/16/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is better than the first one & really haves it clever parts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/02/01 Jennifer Doran i like chicks 4 stars
4/16/01 LiL Wow, what a piece of shit 1 stars
3/27/01 Rampage Crappy shows like The X-Files are even freakier that any stupid teen horror flick. 1 stars
2/21/01 Jenna Eva Mendes is HOT 4 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Doesn't even qualify as hackwork. Shit trying to pass itself off as potpourri. 1 stars
1/13/01 movie chick Don't waste your time on this crappy sequel. 1 stars
12/18/00 Thrillhouse Like JustinR review says, "Who comes up with this shit?" 1 stars
12/05/00 Cristopher Revilla what's with hollywood? they're just releasing shitty sequels from even shittier flicks!!! 1 stars
12/03/00 Stuntman laughably stupid, makes Malcolm in the Middle look like Eerie Indiana 1 stars
12/02/00 Dee Ingold I think it was an awesome movie i want to see it again. 5 stars
11/12/00 Evelyn Four words...MATTHEW DAVIS IS SEXY!!p.s. I liked this movie a lot better than the first one 5 stars
10/08/00 Ground Zero worse than the first 1 stars
10/05/00 CHRIS MADE ME WANT TO DEFICATE! 1 stars
10/04/00 Jacques Strap it's like watchingX-Files, but w/o Fox Mulder and Scully. Godawful. 1 stars
10/03/00 JJ It was fun 4 stars
10/03/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Suckers! You've wasted your lives and money on a piece of dreck. Satan Rules Hollywood!!! 1 stars
10/02/00 PJ Got 6 words for this crap-- This Movie Sucked Ass Shit Stains. By the way Jacinda gets it! 1 stars
10/01/00 KAM Bad, very, very, bad 2 stars
9/29/00 Stuntman GO SEE SCARY MOViE 1 stars
9/26/00 tuna could this movie suck any more? 1 stars
9/25/00 siro why oh why did i waste 8bucks on this, when i could've been at home, masterbating?!? 1 stars
9/25/00 Jason O should've gone to the symphony... 1 stars
9/23/00 Ground Zero whoever came up with that armpit should be dragged out in the street and shot. Awful. 1 stars
9/22/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble If you want a good scare. Buy the Harry Potter books. Hollywood has lost all hope. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Sep-2000 (R)
  DVD: 19-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Sep-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast