Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.79

Awesome36.45%
Worth A Look: 28.04%
Just Average: 18.69%
Pretty Crappy: 12.15%
Sucks: 4.67%

3 reviews, 89 user ratings


Latest Reviews

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


From Dusk Till Dawn
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Satisfyingly badass entertainment"
3 stars

"From Dusk Till Dawn" is how it should be done--big budget, some relatively large stars, and an absolutely brilliant script. If all "blockbusters" were constructed like this, I might not have to put apostrophes around the word blockbusters anymore.

First of all, this is the kind of movie George Clooney should keep on making. None of this "One Fine Day" shit. He can be sparkly and romantic and charming, yeah, but he's the most fun to watch when in a film like this: he forgets what a "star" he's supposed to be and digs whole heartedly into this bad motherfucker of a role.

He's matched by a game but unsatisfying Quentin Tarantino. Turn Mr. Brown into a rapist slash murderer, add even more funnyass hand gestures, and you've got Tarantino's character right here. I kept waiting for him to break into a long speech, but it never happened and I guess it's a good thing.

I still think it would've been funny, though.

Clooney and Tarantino hijack an RV owned by a newly faithless preacher (the inimitable Harvey Keitel), and proceed to take his family to a skanky strip bar in Mexico (how grimy is it? It's called the Titty Twister).

Keitel and his two teenaged kids need only to make it through the night and Clooney will let them go--easier said than done, though, when it becomes apparent that this particular strip bar is inhabited by a group of badass vampires.

The set up is cheesy, and so is the execution, but it's all pulled together by Tarantino's script and Robert Rodriguez's direction. Once upon a time I was scared to admit it, but I have no trouble saying it now: I like Robert Rodriguez. I liked "El Mariachi," I liked "Desperado," I liked "The Faculty," and I like this movie. All you high minded critics can kiss my ass--I honestly don't give a shit about his mind boggling editing techniques cause his movies look fuckin' cool.

"From Dusk Till Dawn" really never amounts to anything other than an over the top "coolfest," but that's okay because it's really, really fun to watch. The movie has balls, attitude, and direction, as Nicolas Cage might say, and I loved every goddam second of it.

It's not scary, it's not all that smart, and it looks pretty damn dank, but that's just fine by me. As far as brainless entertainment goes, this delivers everything that a movie about vampiric strippers could promise.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2175&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/10/99 15:29:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/19/19 Matthew Dalldorf Gore-soaked, tongue-in-cheek vampire madness! 5 stars
1/27/15 PAUL SHORTT GORY, UNEVEN AND TRASHY 2 stars
6/19/12 Ionicera probably a movie not meant to be watched sober 3 stars
3/05/11 Bob the builder What a complete load of rubbish . . . . Avoid at all costs. Colony is still a star but why? 1 stars
5/31/10 User Name Distastful and insipid, and it only gets worse when the vampires come into play. 1 stars
2/14/10 Joe Smaltz Pretty shitty, can't believe all these big names in a crap film. 1 stars
10/03/09 Jeff Wilder Tarantino and Rodriguez on an off day. Loads of fun. 4 stars
6/22/09 Quigley Vile, offensive, and a huge black hell-hole in the careers of all involved 1 stars
6/18/09 brian Classic Tarantino flick 4 stars
12/20/08 gc The most original/unique horror movie ever made.Clooney rules in this.Avoid the sequels! 5 stars
5/24/08 Karrie Millheim Oh this movie rocks, vampires galore, nasty ones too 5 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Tired of Tarantino's foot fetish. Nice watching Clooney trying to butch it up, though. 2 stars
8/12/07 J Brilliantly different, has comedy moments, gore, sex, and is a bit warped. Great. 5 stars
7/21/07 fools♫gold Scary "exaggeration" of all the evil cheating that happens over here. 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini great action, great gore 5 stars
12/04/06 Shaggy Sex, humor, and mindless blood and gore. What more could you want? 4 stars
10/04/06 Booksworm Saw it on a movie channel; John Carpenter does better vampires, though. 4 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Two movies for one: both are great. 4 stars
1/07/06 Clubber lang The first half is a pretty solid crime thriller, the second half is messy, so-so gorefest. 3 stars
8/05/05 Zack Great film from two masters! 5 stars
7/06/05 Isaac Baranoff Great! 5 stars
6/21/05 Manu Ginobli good for a stare & drool movie. Entertaining, but retarded. 3 stars
6/16/05 Janeywaney I liked it so much, I bought the video! 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands Indrid Cold is right. It's good and riveting until Salma Hayek turns to a fucking vampire! 4 stars
5/04/05 Indrid Cold First half is surprisingly good, even for a Tarantino-hater like me. The rest is terrible. 3 stars
3/29/05 Lyn bloody excellent 5 stars
2/05/05 Tom Benton The film's biggest problem is that it tries to be two movies at once ... 3 stars
10/12/04 ahmed zidan nice 3 stars
8/27/04 KingNeutron Clooney 0wn3d this film. And Salma was awesome. 4 stars
8/12/04 McGraw Corny and bizarre, but a fun ride if you turn your brain off. 4 stars
8/10/04 howdinski FANTASTIC one of my favorite films ever. what more do u need tarantino , clooney , keitel. 5 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the better vampire movies in the last ten years. 4 stars
7/24/04 axe sex machine wields the ballsiest weapon of all time 4 stars
6/21/04 Stab Wounds It's got blood. :) 4 stars
5/26/04 Kyle Neuer Everything I was ever looking for in a drive-in movie as a 17 year old. Loved it!!! 5 stars
4/17/04 valerie hart great action with bloody horror and alot of gory scenes 4 stars
3/18/04 john rather tasteless drive in type movie with no real spark - good cast though! 2 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Hot 5 stars
1/16/04 J Clooney and Quarentino are great as criminals! *** 1/2 5 stars
12/09/03 Tommy good character development, but the vampires are a little silly... 3 stars
12/02/03 Agent Sands Really fun, except for the numbing overflow of sometimes cheesy gore. 4 stars
11/24/03 homer J. Simpson look at those breasts on selma hayek, she could fucking bite me any day 5 stars
10/30/03 Sophistos It's 2 movies, with a surprising switch (Salma becoming a monster). 3 stars
10/29/03 Moparman Amazing flick! Cheech Marin's speech is too funny. Tons of violence. Awesome!!!! 5 stars
10/05/03 Jack Sommersby A rollicking good time. Bogs down near the end, though. 4 stars
9/09/03 Jim Clooney holds the film together 4 stars
8/27/03 Mr. Hat Some of the BEST talent in the world, but near the end, it starts to get a bit ridiculous. 4 stars
8/17/03 Nicole Not my kind of movie 2 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Clooney and Tarantion are the men!!!Awesome movie very entertaining!! 5 stars
6/30/03 AD fuckin mint 5 stars
6/24/03 candy Violence, Violation & Vampires - VaVaVoom 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Two words - Salma Hayek. I love those legs baby, gimme some! 4 stars
10/01/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa fuckin awful! Tarrentino and Clooney=mean/unsympethetic second half is okay in b-movie way 1 stars
9/25/02 Morally Sound Robert Rodriguez and Tarantino are the shit! 5 stars
8/02/02 Kino this was the first R rated movie I had ever seen (at est 5 years ago). first titties too. 5 stars
7/26/02 murat great second half but gore goes a bit much and why did they kill that chinese boy? 4 stars
7/26/02 sdjfsdkjf loved it as much as pulp fiction. Clooney's got that whole asshole thing down pat. Great. 5 stars
7/19/02 Film Guy the first half wasnt to good and the second half it got better but not much 3 stars
4/25/02 bront first half was awesome, butwent downhill from there 3 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Vampires, tons of blood and gore and Salma Hayek dancing in a bikini.What more do you need? 5 stars
2/08/02 Jay Fox Quentin Tarantino's dialogue and action scenes are brilliant. "Everybody be cool." 5 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden Dumb and Stupid Horror Movie. Only For Those Who Like Cheese. 2 stars
12/05/01 north they forgot gorey PUSSY 5 stars
10/15/01 Mr. Hat Quentin Tarantino has, does, and always will kick ass!!!!!!!! 4 stars
10/04/01 Mark Conway This is the greatest movie i have ever seen, the twists and thrills are exceptional. 5 stars
10/03/01 Mark Conway this is the greateast vampire movie ever made, the plot twists are simply, pure genious. 5 stars
9/27/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This movie is very voilent while it's gory effects really suit it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/19/01 Ranzom It gives you what it offers. Don't expect more. Kick back and enjoy. I did. 5 stars
5/05/01 Vincent Vega Clooney's best film ever! 5 stars
5/03/01 roby lafon one of robert rodriguez's best 5 stars
3/26/01 Jesse L GREAT FILM!! This flick ROCKS!! 5 stars
3/07/01 Sanja it's so stupid, but I love it! Fantastic crap! 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl The first 15 minutes is good but the rest is a joke, pure schlock. 2 stars
11/19/00 Finity this movie is funny, stupid and has some great action. i love it 4 stars
10/06/00 Johnny Figaro Relentless energy. Smarter than you might think; Keitel underappreciated 5 stars
8/05/00 Alce Savini's gun is really great! 3 stars
4/25/00 Leo a really cool movie 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold really fucking awesome movie 5 stars
2/15/00 Jedi the movie rocks but, why didn't tarantino direct it? 4 stars
2/13/00 stan Entertaining, but too violent in some parts 4 stars
2/08/00 Ed Wood did not like it 2 stars
1/26/00 john too bloody 3 stars
1/25/00 Jericho I would love to eat juliette lewis' pussy 4 stars
12/22/99 PervertedPixie Sleek thriller and gross out, ham-horror flick in one! Rodriguez + Tarantino kicks ASS! 5 stars
10/28/99 Adam Hutton I think Kate should have gone with Seth Gekko in the end. 4 stars
8/19/99 PhilmPhreak IT'S THE SHIT - WHAT ELSE IS THERE TO SAY? 5 stars
8/16/99 Tracette Tarantino doing a parody of a Tarantino movie. I thought it was hillarious! 3 stars
8/02/99 Physh "It is no Pulp Fiction, but Dusk is a kickass attempt for Tarantino to try horror." 5 stars
7/31/99 Obi Wan The movie was coming along fine...then vampires pop out?!?!?! Salma Hayek Rocked!!! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jan-1996 (R)
  DVD: 19-Apr-2011

UK
  31-May-1996 (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1996 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast