Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome59.7%
Worth A Look: 19.4%
Just Average: 8.96%
Pretty Crappy: 5.97%
Sucks: 5.97%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Transference: A Love Story by Erik Childress

Thunder Force by Peter Sobczynski

Voyagers by Peter Sobczynski

Flaming Brothers by Jay Seaver

French Exit by Lybarger

Perdita Durango by Jay Seaver

Godzilla vs. Kong by Peter Sobczynski

Charlatan by Jay Seaver

Nobody (2021) by Lybarger

Raya and the Last Dragon by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Rosemary's Baby
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by LitzaMo

"Eaaaaaagh!"
4 stars

Simple, creepy, and effective. God bless that insane, insane director man. And Mia Farrow's boniness serves her well, for once. Not for the faint of heart, but definitely for those who like horror movies (but hate goriness, like myself).

although I really could have done without the up close and personal boob shots. It is, after all, Mia Farrow, and I feared for the safety of the camera operator, who could easily have had is nose shaved off by a protruding shoulder blade. She was waaaaaay too bony and sharp-edged for her own good. This coming from a nice cushy chick, too. So. The movie.

A nice couple move into a nice apartment building in NYC. They meet some nice neighbors. The husband is a writer, struggling a bit. All of a sudden, his luck turns and his wife ends up pregnant. Problem is, she had a horrific nightmare the night she got pregnant that a monster raped her and left claw marks on her (skin and bones!) body. Lo and behold, the morning arrives and there are red scores all the way down her torso. Her husband begs it off as getting overenthusiastic. She shakes it off and keeps being pregnant, but with strange complications like excruciating pain. Her neighbors suggest a new OB-GYN for her, who, instead of doing normal medicine, gives her herbal elixirs and tonics. Weirder and weirder...until finally, near the end of the movie, this poor, terrified, undernourished, obscenely pregnant woman realizes a terrible secret. (No spoilers here!)

There's just enough going on to keep the viewer's interest, but the real action doesn't pick up until almost the very end of the movie. It's scary as hell, not gory at all (which I loved--I'm not big on guts splattered across kingdom come just for effect) and quite intelligent, especially for its time. Some of the camerawork is a bit dizzying at times, but it mostly adds to the eerie effect. Another one of those great psychological horror movies that I love so much. Too bad my ex-boyfriend hated it. Kid just didn't have a sense of humor, I guess, and he said it was too disturbing for his tender little mind. I guess I'm just more resilient than he is anyway, especially since I watched this move for the first time at about 3 AM in a really old, creaky house. It added to the effect. The ex got to watch it in broad daylight in his own basement. poor baby!

Great film. Decent acting. Damn.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2408&reviewer=222
originally posted: 12/17/00 01:20:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2008 Florida Film Festival For more in the 2008 Florida Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/25/18 Linda Bright Mia Farrow's nudity in her sex scenes and the dream-sequence rape scene was so sexy! 5 stars
2/20/17 morris campbell creepy but overrated the omens better imo 4 stars
3/25/15 stanley welles an intelligent, effective horror featuring an excellent cast 5 stars
7/14/13 Marty This movie crushes the Omen. Better script, better acting, better film. 5 stars
2/01/13 David Hollingsworth Much imitated, never equaled. 5 stars
1/23/11 art I"M eating my word's once again!,ROSEMARY"S BABY BURRIES the OMEN!!! 4 stars
11/02/10 PAUL SHORTT BRILLIANT GOTHIC MELODRAMA 5 stars
1/05/10 art I STAND CORRECTED! FOLK"S!,THE OMEN WAS MUCH MORE EXCITING than this BORE! 1 stars
11/11/09 art THE DEFINITIVE film about a devil child! 3 stars
3/07/08 Pamela White not scary but suspenseful 4 stars
5/25/07 Kimberly Dull Amazing and truly scary. Love this movie. 4 stars
3/23/07 MP Bartley More a slow burning paranoid drama than a horror, but the last 20 minutes is great. 4 stars
1/14/07 David Pollastrini didn't find it very scary. 3 stars
9/17/06 gebhard this is true horror: no special effects, no blood - but it scares the hell out of you 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Well below B-grade, Satan is too lazy&arrogant to f%*#k a wimpy mortal to spawn. 1 stars
7/25/05 malcolm the way suspense should be done. please never remake this! 5 stars
1/27/05 Monday Morning The feelgood movie of the '60s. The best. 5 stars
12/19/04 DM Brilliantly acted, superbly directed and just damn creepy. 5 stars
11/19/04 screb farrows great in it 5 stars
8/09/04 psycho dwarf Polanski's brainful of evil produces a wicked mindfvck. 5 stars
6/25/04 milehigh A wonderful psychological horror 4 stars
12/08/03 Samuel Either you like this movie or you don't! You who put just average should be slapped...HARD 5 stars
11/28/03 john brilliant and truly unsettling - a Polanski study in psychosis and horror 5 stars
10/13/03 Erik Van Sant Frightening and engaging. This is one of the greatest horror movies ever made. Hail Satan! 5 stars
10/12/03 Shaq Dudes, I haven't really ever heard of this movie BUT IT FUCKING OWNED! I SUCK COCKS! 5 stars
7/26/03 Nix Garthim Far to brilliant and psychological for todays gore addicted "horror" fans. Best REAL horror 5 stars
7/14/03 Momma Jo Hansonfoupherhanselgretle DUMBASS MOVIE!!!!!!! HAHAHA!!!! WHAT A FUCKING FAKE 'HORROR' MOVIE! HAHA! DIE! DIE ROSMARY! 1 stars
4/10/03 Icebar Rosenrath Freakay. Does take a while to build interest, but once it does it pays off in numerous ways 5 stars
3/27/03 Ionicera great tense thriller with unexpected darkly comic ending 5 stars
1/30/03 Christi Nash so out of date and steeped in ignorant mythology that it doesn't frighten modern viewers 3 stars
1/29/03 Shazad Less is more! Polanski is tha' bomb!! 5 stars
1/22/03 Amanda Brown I didn't like the movie because they should have shown you the baby 2 stars
11/15/02 cyco it's written by ira levin baby! 5 stars
10/20/02 Charles Tatum Very cool, very creepy 5 stars
9/25/02 Monster W. Kung Annoying. Interesting premise, but far too slow and doesn't deliver enough in the end. 3 stars
5/24/02 Butterbean I guess that back in 1960 B.C. this would be considered to be scary and suspenseful. 3 stars
4/26/02 R.W. Welch A professional piece of work, but too far-fetched to really get into. 3 stars
3/16/02 Lady Leviathan I simply adore Roman Castevet. He's wonderful. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Very dated, but some fun stuff in it. Ruth Gordon was a gem. 4 stars
12/08/01 canoecarrier Another of many masterpieces by Polanski. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz What the hell is supposed to be frightening about this movie? I musta blinked & missed it. 1 stars
10/18/01 Andrew Carden Way Too Over The Top, and Basically Total Confusing and Extremly Boreness Throughout. 2 stars
7/31/01 Matthew Bartley Oh it's so dull apart from...WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO HIS EYES?!?!?! 2 stars
4/08/01 Girl 9 Overrated! This film is VERY dated, more funny than scary..... 2 stars
3/15/01 GeorgE McCaul great direction by Polanski, and Farrow is incredible in the final scene. 5 stars
11/16/00 Sikamikaniko Simply Exquisit! Nothing happens, yet you´re sitting on needles all the way! 5 stars
10/31/00 Monday Morning This movie is uniformly excellent in every way. 5 stars
4/03/00 Robin Haines Gives you an old-fashioned case of the "willies" 5 stars
3/18/00 ciro scardina my favorite movie 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jun-1968 (R)
  DVD: 03-Oct-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast