Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome59.57%
Worth A Look: 12.77%
Just Average: 6.38%
Pretty Crappy: 4.26%
Sucks: 17.02%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

Riot Girls by Rob Gonsalves

Crawl by Rob Gonsalves

Wallflower by Rob Gonsalves

Parts You Lose, The by Jay Seaver

Dilili in Paris by Jay Seaver

First Love by Jay Seaver

Dolemite Is My Name by Peter Sobczynski

Monos by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Easy Rider
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The King of the Bros

"Make sure you smoke plenty of Angeldust."
5 stars

Now, don't get me wrong. This is a great flick. You've got drugs and chicks and motorcycles. These are, as everybody with half a brain knows, essential ingredients to any classic. But in my opinion, the generation that embraced this film as a definitive sign of their times had consumed far too many substances, thus producing many a birth defect on their children (present generation) and therefore causing a total inability for them to enjoy this film as fully as it should.

Of course, that doesn't really matter. This is what I call a dated classic. It's a fantastic piece of work, and it always will be. But the times they are a changing. Or some shit.

Y'see, to me, kids today would more likely be the two hicks at the end of the film, rather than say Peter, or Dennis or Jack. This is unfortunately sad, as Peter, Dennis and Jack are about the coolest guys ever put on screen.

Okay, now onto the plot....they drive motorcycles, and do drugs, and sometimes they stop somewhere and hang out....and do drugs.

Ummm, oh yeah, and then they hang out with Karen Black and Toni Basil....and I think they....ummm, they do some drugs.

Then they ride their motorcycles.

Okay, I know it sounds boring, and sometimes it is, but it's still great. I'm sure there's a lot of themes and what not that this movie touches upon. I'm sure there's a bunch of people who could write a book about how influential and mind blowing this movie is.....wait, somebody did write a book about that. A couple of books actually.

Well, let's see...I will tell you that this film is a bona fide classic, I watch it once a year or so, just to remind myself that there really is a purpose to taking lots and lots of drugs.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=2662&reviewer=176
originally posted: 06/26/00 20:15:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

1/16/17 rffageq USA 5 stars
2/28/15 stanley welles a narcissistic hodgepodge of travelogue and passion play 2 stars
12/02/14 Anne yet the 2main players dealt in cocaine!copped to the establishment also! 5 stars
4/21/13 Granny Shagger Seen as a music video about a road trip. 5 stars
8/24/12 roscoe dated and dull. the 3 characters are good, but they do nothing 1 stars
2/13/12 Matthew Thompson Dalldorf Sweet! 5 stars
8/01/09 Jeff Wilder Dated? Sure. But still worth watching and holds up better than some others from that period 4 stars
8/01/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess alright all you MTV watchin' mama's boys; watch this agian and this time pay attention. 4 stars
2/10/09 PAUL SHORTT ODDBALL DRAMA, ITS A BUNCH OF BADLY EDITED SHOT OF DRUGGIES DRIVING ACROSS COUNTRY ON BIKES 1 stars
7/19/08 Man out 6 bucks ER is about real freedom, and by Nicholson's premonition fear turns you sellouts dangerous 4 stars
2/12/08 jerome one of the worst movies I have ever seen. to say it is good means you are retarded 1 stars
12/02/07 Screwball Made me wanna buy a motorcycle and hit the road. Maybe one day I will. 5 stars
8/18/07 mb A very empty movie about nothing. 2 stars
7/24/07 Pastafarian Dull, sleep inducing. Amazingly naive. 1 stars
5/04/07 Quigley Jack Nicholson was the best thing about this movie. Still worth a look for fans of classics 4 stars
4/08/07 chris. fuck "period piece," this is a great movie. and i wasn't alive then. 5 stars
7/10/06 David Cohen Laughably dated mess about three losers who do...nothing 1 stars
6/17/06 Jame Movie left me scratching my head and squinting my eyes many times 1 stars
12/04/05 dged watching Peter Fonda smoking dope is as interesting as watching paint dry 1 stars
9/03/05 Naka Dull but deeply personal and intelligent. 4 stars
7/24/05 Jake Great film, sad ending 5 stars
6/07/05 Agent Sands Nicholson is undoubtedly the highlight. 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A spiritual & joyous celebration of an era long gone! DENNIS HOPPER'S FINEST FILM!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/23/04 Monster W. Kung Sloooow and overrated. Not bad, but just not as good as its popularity would suggest. 3 stars
9/03/04 T.B. I they show more Jack 3 stars
7/20/04 pq outstanding film...in the top 5 of all time! 5 stars
12/04/03 john more of a western than I remembered - brilliant and involving 5 stars
5/19/03 Ryan F. On my Top Ten List. An important, angering, funny, cool film experience. 5 stars
2/04/03 Will Possibly the best film I've ever seen 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Drugged up cast in a drugged up flick 4 stars
8/24/02 wintermute I guess I missed out. I loved the end tho. 3 stars
6/02/02 lee it was an awesome film 5 stars
4/05/02 Scooter GrEat!!! 5 stars
1/22/02 Andrew Carden You Can't Get Much Better Then This. 5 stars
7/30/01 Ron Belda EXCELLENT 5 stars
7/24/01 Koscher Well crafted film(great score!)with social commentary that's still relevant today 5 stars
5/23/01 JME Johnson this movie kicked ass 5 stars
2/05/01 harleypig69 hopper is a homo 1 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog What a great movie, Nicholson's performance is priceless!! 5 stars
2/02/01 viking A great period piece 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip fascinating 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jun-1969 (R)
  DVD: 14-Dec-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast