Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.32

Awesome: 10.58%
Worth A Look44.23%
Just Average: 19.23%
Pretty Crappy: 18.27%
Sucks: 7.69%

7 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Can't Hardly Wait
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by nine

"Good brainless fun"
4 stars

What does this have that other cliche teen party movies don't? A kleptomaniac of course.

But besides that . . . and besides the fact that any movie including Seth Green doing a sex scene deserves repeated viewings . . . even besides the fact that Jennifer Love Hewitt as an actress is taken about as seriously as Dan Quayle as a politician. . . besides all of that . . . this movie is damn fun to watch.
Call it the 90s edition of the high school party movie. They have all the regulars and they added the wannabe hip hoppers sportin their goggles and unnatural ebonics in among the regular nerds, jocks, cheerleaders, and foreign exchange student. (A necessary edition for the times.)
There's the cute romance between the new girl and the boy next door of course, but the boy next door's got funky clothes and bleached hair. Very cute. And awww the hip hopper hooks up with his old cynical middle school buddy. Yes I know it's hard to admit we are still amused by these stupid high school formula movies, but you know you knew a guy like him and a girl like her and a party like this . . . and it's got a great soundtrack . . .

and besides besides besides, I just love happy endings, don't you?

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=27&reviewer=35
originally posted: 07/07/99 14:58:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell typical teen crap 1 stars
10/15/14 Jeff WIlder Cliched script. Ambrose is entertaining. 2 stars
5/14/11 PAUL SHORTT NOISY LOWBROW COMEDY 1 stars
9/26/10 Jennifer kimberly all teens must watch! 4 stars
12/21/08 CTT Disarmingly funny flick, with loads of big stars starting out then 5 stars
7/01/07 johnnyfog Weird mix of truth and stereotype. Seth and Ambrose the only thing worth seeing. 2 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson LAUREN AMBROSE IS THE ONLY ONE WITH ANY REAL PERSONALITY IN THIS SHALLOW, INSULTING DRIVEL! 1 stars
7/11/04 DM A few interesting moments, but generally corny and predictable 2 stars
10/19/03 Samuel Justus I sorta liked this movie, it was sorta lame in alot of places, but it had a decent story... 4 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Unexpectedly entertaining. Charming cast. 3 stars
9/05/02 Chancey Thunderpants JLH is a terrible actress... this whole movie blows chunks. 1 stars
6/26/02 Thunderfuck The most fun of all these recent teen movies, esp. thanks to Seth Green. He is HILARIOUS 5 stars
5/26/02 Nicole Pretty damn funny if you have lived through high school 4 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee I'm surprised JLH tits didn't receive seperate billing. 2 stars
2/15/02 Shelly Howard JLH forgettable this time, but who's this Lauren Ambrose and where can I see more of her?! 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina Not today folks 2 stars
11/11/01 Jon C. Ericson Another stereotypical teen flick. 3 Stars for J. Hewitt's beauty. 3 stars
6/15/01 MARK to hell with hewitt... id chase ethan for 4 years though... 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary JLH cannot act very well, but it's a good movie and it's funny. 4 stars
4/02/01 Ryan Peithman The Best fucking movie in the world!! 5 stars
2/25/01 Big P. Only teen movie worth seeing. Isn't entirely realistic, but real teen life sucks. 5 stars
1/31/01 BASSee welcome to the 90s, were everything in the movies is even more phony than ever! 1 stars
1/01/01 Emily it wasn't supposed to be amazing. it was just a cool little movie that had some great lines 4 stars
9/02/00 Bender Plays like a 80's greatest teen movie hits. A gulity pleasure. The soundtrack is awesome. 4 stars
5/04/00 TIGGER One of the best movies of the 90's . JLH was good for once. 5 stars
2/11/00 steve layne I liked it better in the theatre, but still in the top 10 of the best teen movies ofthe 90s 4 stars
2/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Too much party...not enough..."whatever whatever"... 3 stars
10/29/99 Bozo only reason its not 'crap' is ethan embry rises above the material occasionally 2 stars
9/22/99 alaina this movie rocks 5 stars
7/30/99 Dr. Worm The best teen cast ever! The best teen movie ever! My 3rd favorite movie of all time 5 stars
7/08/99 jvt yo yo yo this movie was trash yo 1 stars
7/07/99 Freyja I loved it. Seth Green is the best new teen actor by so far it's not funny. 5 stars
5/02/99 Mindy Seth Green is the highlight, the script the lowlight - but what can we really expect? 3 stars
4/10/99 Tristynn another stunning performance by miss boobs herself.Where's your brain Jennifer.between them 3 stars
2/06/99 roxy seth green is cute and reminds me of jeff olive. i hate teenagers. 2 stars
1/03/99 geisele Please do not start the Pretty in Pink cliches all over again!!!!!! 3 stars
12/28/98 Cage Very funny... Hewitt is just gorgeous.... 4 stars
11/09/98 Bluntman Wrong, Vanessa! Seth Green was on WB's BUFFY before this piece of shit! 2 stars
10/07/98 Daddy Rich I enjoyed it thoroughly. A great party movie. Also very funny. 5 stars
9/26/98 katherine it was alright. not much of a ployt though, and not too funny. 3 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan If you're looking for a teen party movie, this is a great one. Class of '98!! 4 stars
9/24/98 MR HOLLYWOOD alcohol,drugs,sex,nerds etc etc, its all be seen before,funny at parts ! 3 stars
9/17/98 Christian I think Seth Green kicked ass, and Hewitt is such a hottie! Very funny movie! 5 stars
9/13/98 Como Erectus I wanted to hate it, but I actually enjoyed myself. Love Hewitt does nothing at all. Boobys 4 stars
9/05/98 J Lyons Funny as hell. Reminded me of my HS graduation. 5 stars
9/03/98 Badass Seth Green has a great scene all by himself. Other than that, the movie sucked. 2 stars
9/01/98 pooky the bald a great reportory movie. matinee, yay. 3 stars
8/30/98 Drasord poor dialgue, cheesy script, average actors 2 stars
8/29/98 J-Guy (The MFC) fuckin' trendy teen crap. fuck this shit. 1 stars
8/24/98 Puppy78 (You know who I am) why do i need to watch high school kids drink, i drink by myself enough thank you 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Charlie Korsmo doing Axel. High point. Ethan Embry doing anything. Low point. 3 stars
8/22/98 Dutch Take me down to a paradise city, where the guys talk crap and the girls show titty. 4 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Love's breasts defy gravity. 3 stars
8/20/98 Miss Stress none of the parties i went to in high school were like that 2 stars
8/17/98 spork-girl ethan embry is hot, and seth green is cute. not quality filmmaking, though 4 stars
8/15/98 Clam Chowder Y'know, this blew. 1 stars
8/15/98 rotten f. milk God bless Seth Green 4 stars
8/14/98 Schmeekins As an epic drama, it blew chunks 3 stars
8/14/98 VioLenT BoB I Didn't Want My Money Back....as for Halloween I want my LIFE BACK!@ 4 stars
8/13/98 Pythomas It's better than you'd think. My fave: the "Paradise City" performance 4 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} It didn't hurt my brain... so it's better than most things I've seen 2 stars
8/12/98 clark decent flick. brings back high school party memories. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Jun-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-May-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Sep-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast