Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.46

Awesome53.85%
Worth A Look: 41.54%
Just Average: 3.08%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 1.54%

5 reviews, 35 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hard Core Logo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by nine

"This is definitely hard core."
4 stars

An Intense Mockumentary with Range. The cinematography is bold. This laughs are thorough. And the characters are real.

James McDonald takes some actors, a bus, a few desolate locations, and turns them into something to talk about. The realism is amazing. We really feel as if we are peeking into the lives of an aging punk band.
Joe Dick's character is despisable and addictive. He's the boy that never grew up. His fatal flaws are sadly apparent and make anyone put out sympathy for him.
Billy stays looking cool from beginning to end. He seems the most rational. The strange brotherhood between Billy and Joe led me into a sort of hypnotic interest watching their developing relationship become explosive.
The other two band members are both equally pathetic while providing adequate comic relief. The crew gets a great shot of Pipefitter popping his head out the top of the bus and enjoying the view. It is a sequence unlike anything else you will ever see.

The bizarre humanness of the characters builds and builds until the final jolt when you suddenly realize you've been glued to the screen.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=28&reviewer=35
originally posted: 11/16/98 17:32:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Sydney Film Festival For more in the 2005 Sydney Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/15/10 Issac Maez Best movie I've seen with one of the coolest chicks I ever knew 5 stars
6/20/09 cate for five years of my life, i don't think i went more then a week w/o seeing this movie 5 stars
4/26/07 Disco Jim I never wanted to see this movie and after I did I couldn't believe how good it was. 5 stars
3/05/07 suzy Brilliant, poignant study of a man's desperate attempt to regain the two loves of his life 5 stars
12/10/05 TNTO One of the finest movies I've ever seen, with and ending that simply floors you. 5 stars
7/22/05 Duggo* What spinal tap and SLC punk could only dream to bare as offspring 5 stars
12/14/04 toshia murray i loved this movie its one of my favorites! 5 stars
10/05/04 Jackie This was almost totally scripted? Bruce and the boys get it all terribly right. 5 stars
6/25/04 Scott HCL was (for what it is) the best film I've seen in a long while. 5 stars
6/09/04 Mr. X A bore 1 stars
1/24/03 Empress of Misrule Hugh Dillon and Callum Keith Rennie are gods. Nuff said! 5 stars
11/06/02 hindsight brilliantly raw, kickass epic! dillon is awesome. *check out headstones.com* kickass band! 5 stars
8/17/02 roby fabolous 5 stars
8/13/02 Ryan Damn good movie 5 stars
8/06/02 Michael Garrett This, the 2nd installment in Bruce McDonald's "Rock & Road Trilogy" is brilliant !! 5 stars
7/30/02 Shayheyred Relentless and brilliant. Waves of charisma from leads Dillon and Rennie 5 stars
7/26/02 Max Platinum Gripping from start to finish, no low spots 4 stars
4/27/02 Dickie Best ending I have seen. Great acting, dark humour! Trip scene great! 5 stars
4/13/02 The Bomb69 eh, I don't see what all the fuss is about, not real funny 3 stars
11/30/01 door **thud** own this film. you must own this film. this film will fuck you over. 5 stars
11/01/01 Mark Ziebinski Brilliant funny unfuckingbelievable!! 5 stars
6/16/01 Mongi Elegant 5 stars
6/02/01 yep yep 5 stars
5/06/01 Fionnuala Worth watching a few times, here be layers 5 stars
4/19/01 mohd fahmee ismail nothing,just ok! 3 stars
3/26/01 k cletheroe cool movie 5 stars
2/27/01 chrystal this movie is fucked up, if you havent seen it get up off your ass and see it u fuck!! 5 stars
1/04/01 Caitlin Shaw It's so raw it hurts -- especially if you don't know how it ends 5 stars
4/27/00 Jon Cleaver This film is simply brilliant! See at any cost 5 stars
12/06/99 Joe James Hard hitting, emotionally raw and beautiful. A classic! 5 stars
11/13/98 Rick Switzer A pretty accurate depiction of band life 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce If you can handle the music and get the comedy, this is a fucking great film. Hilarious. 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee The greatest rock'n'roll road movie since Easy Rider. Funny as hell. See this film!! 5 stars
8/12/98 Pete Amazing flick. Makes 'Spinal Tap' look like a pile of puke. 4 stars
8/12/98 {{OZ}} Great punk road movie. Sound sucks, but it's way cool. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1998 (R)
  DVD: 25-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-May-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast