Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.17

Awesome41.67%
Worth A Look: 38.89%
Just Average: 16.67%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 2.78%

1 review, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


American Tail, An
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"The streets are paved with cheese!"
4 stars

I don't really remember the first time I saw American Tail, but that is probably because I was two at the time of it's release. I do, however, remember my mom informing me that is was a metaphor for the struggles of the Russians during...some war I wasn't alive for. And all I saw were singing mice...

An American Tail is, undoubtedly on my part, the best animated feature to compete with Disney for that ever desirable audience of screaming toddlers. And I mean animated in the true sense of the word, not like Who Framed Roger Rabbit. You can't count that.
Russia is in turmoil, and so therefore, are it's inhabitants. Not just the two legged ones, either. Millions of Russian rodents are fleeing the country and bringing to America various mousie diseases. And the Mousekewitz's are no exception, wishing to bring for their children (Fievel and Tanya Mousekewitz) the very best life in a land where there are no cats and the streets are paved with cheese (ahh, America). This is a fallacy, as we the audience knows, and we want to make it real so that the inevitable won't happen. But it does, and Fievel is separated from his family upon reaching the shores of the new world.
I love this movie, and I always have. It breaks away from the standard Disney created, not following every single formulaic step in it's development. For a cartoon, one has to admit that the characters are strangely three dimensional, and you want them all to succeed so much. It being a children's movie, they do, and you aren't disappointed.

An American Tail is what a little kids movie should be. It's funny, heartwarming, and has a moral. And, it's one of the few musicals I can stand.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3297&reviewer=130
originally posted: 12/07/99 02:38:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/14/11 Quigley One of the most utterly depressing films ever made. Great animation, though. 3 stars
2/09/10 JM Synth Cute; an improvement over NIMH, but Bluth is still no master storyteller 3 stars
6/16/09 Jeff Wilder One of the few "family" movies that actually works just as well for the whole family, 4 stars
3/19/09 Bethany Cox A genuinely poignant film that is Don Bluth'd best before Anastasia 5 stars
10/13/08 Teo Great! 5 stars
9/11/08 PAUL SHORTT CUTE ANIMATION WITH A POSITIVE MESSAGE 4 stars
5/16/07 Dan Don't go away wit strangers kids, fievel may be cute but he should be spanked for being dum 4 stars
12/06/06 Stephen I just wanted to watch it because fievel is soo cute and i just want to hug him 5 stars
6/14/06 Lauren B. It's one of the best animated childrens' movies of all time. 5 stars
6/14/06 Billy stupid 1 stars
5/03/06 ES I like it 4 stars
12/21/05 cody a classic flim, with wonderfull done music and story, kid and adult love at heart 5 stars
4/27/05 Leanne I still love everything about this movie, the story, songs & score. I always cry at the end 5 stars
12/13/04 Yvette Johnson One of the best animated films about the Jewish experience, next to "American Pop." 5 stars
5/10/04 Sean Scanlan Close, but no Secret of NIMH 4 stars
9/04/03 Hanne Berkaak Fan If Hanne Berkaak made it, it would be much much better! 3 stars
11/29/02 YCH Loved it long time ago. Somehow the story seems weak to me now. Humor awkward sometimes 3 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Nice, but sugary 3 stars
2/20/02 Den A great animation during the 80s, still pretty good today 4 stars
12/05/01 hanne berkaak a wonderful experience 5 stars
12/03/01 Jon Great movie. Got better as I got older too. 5 stars
10/13/01 Andrew Carden The Cute Mouse Gets Too Stupid, but The Animation Is Cool. 3 stars
2/23/01 Stewart Ball If I was in this movie, I would want to help Fievel and soothe him and tell him it's okay. 5 stars
2/13/01 Bryan Hoskins Dude! This movie is fucking sweeet 5 stars
12/31/00 Brooke Fankhauser It was such a cute movie. 5 stars
12/16/00 Jed A good underrated animated film. 4 stars
8/26/00 Sarah I just want to reach out and hug Fievel and tell him it'll be all right!! 5 stars
8/19/00 Stewart Ball An American Tail is one of the few animated movies that made me cry with good reason. 5 stars
7/30/00 Jed I agree with Ophelia13's rating 4 stars
6/03/00 Stewart Ball An American Tail is my #1 favorite animated film of all time. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Nov-1986 (G)
  DVD: 20-Jan-2004

UK
  24-Jul-1987 (U)

Australia
  26-Dec-1986 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast