Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 14.46%
Worth A Look: 25.3%
Just Average48.19%
Pretty Crappy: 4.82%
Sucks: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tammy and the T-Rex by Jay Seaver

Extra Ordinary by Jay Seaver

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Does this mean I'm going to hell?"
3 stars

Rob Schneider plays an accidental manwhore who realizes that all women are beautiful and love is a grand thing. And there are lots of dick n' fart jokes. All things considered, the best movie I've seen since "End of Days."

Schneider is the man. I was a bit worried about him getting his own movie, since he's from SNL and he singlehandedly killed "Men Behaving Badly," quite likely the best show ever. But he's actually quite awesome here. There were a few scenes where I stopped laughing and stared at the screen slackjawed, struck with the realization that he was honest-to-god ACTING. Cool.

Eddie Griffin is also cool. He plays the pimp who looks after Schneider's character after he starts selling himself, and there's this REALLY funny running gag where he's sitting in the hot tub, eating, and the food keeps falling in the tub, and then he picks it up out of the water and eats it... Alright, hold on, that ain't so funny, but there are good parts. His "manwhore food chain" demonstration with the fishes was a hoot and his numerous exclamations of "Goddam, whiteboy!" made me drop my popcorn on a consistent basis.

You're probably getting the idea now that I'm easily amused. In that you are correct. I liked "Happy Gilmore," I liked "A Night at the Roxbury," and I like this. It's not a great movie, or one whose existence I can justify, but parts of it are just so drop- dead, smack-yourself-on-the-back-of-the-head and spill-the- contents-of-your-bladder funny that you forget how shitty it all is.

I had some fun with the direction, not too shabby at all. A lot of the dialogue scenes were cut and paste but, really, what do you honestly expect from a movie that Rob Schneider stars in? The action scenes, though--they're a riot. And I give extra points for numerous close-ups of wet breasts (three, by my count).

The gags? Well, a lot of them come right the hell out of nowhere (like the scene in the men's room, where we meet Deuce's father--did anybody else think that might have used just a few more seconds of explanation?), and a lot of 'em proceed to die on arrival (the fed who keeps whipping out his dick--it wasn't all that funny the first time, and by the fifth time he exposed himself I was sunken so far down in my seat that I was staring at the ceiling). But there are good ones.

Like Rob Schneider in clingy briefs humping a table. Fuckin' genius.

Oh shit, I forgot about the plot. Deuce Bigalow is a fish-tank cleaner who gets caught up in the prostitution business after he accidentally ruins this rich gigolo's apartment... Oh, really, what's the point? You're not watching for plot twists. You're watching to see extreme close ups of wet breasts. There they are; now leave me alone.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3420&reviewer=123
originally posted: 12/11/99 00:26:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/15/07 David Pollastrini Aren't all gigolos male? 3 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Not as bad as I thought it was going to be 3 stars
2/06/06 tatum Some funny moments ruined by tastelessness 2 stars
8/24/05 tony it was very funny 4 stars
4/12/05 clatz Very funny, the character TJ was priceless 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff he made me pick it up "with my anus" halarious movie 5 stars
11/27/03 Samuel funny! 3 stars
11/08/03 Eddie Fan This film is so funny, and if u didn't laugh, u need to get a life! 5 stars
8/08/03 gibbons a far cry from the greatest comedy ever made, but has its moments 4 stars
7/21/03 Ghetto Smurf Excuse me, must make pee-pees 4 stars
6/01/03 KCobain The Deuce is loose! 4 stars
12/28/02 Miss P I was laughing the whole way through the film. Go Man Whore!! 5 stars
7/10/02 CVJ NWO Brilliant sounds corny but is truly a funny film 5 stars
4/27/02 Valerie Cameron A zany hoot with a few misfires but mostly good. A- 5 stars
3/29/02 Jojo this movie was great, only because of bree turner and her wet t-shirt... DAMN! 4 stars
3/21/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Funny as hell! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Moronic to the extreme. I couldn't stand it. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean a very cute flick! Would have been funnier if Rob fucked one of the girls. 4 stars
5/17/01 nowak Much better than I expected 4 stars
4/18/01 Tam Had some good laughs, but my cash would have been better spent on a pot of leg wax. 3 stars
3/21/01 Johnny B Ha, BJ is hilarious. Does he really have tourettes? 5 stars
1/29/01 Dean The girl with tourettes was the funniest. bjclips.com is all about tourettes if u want more 4 stars
1/23/01 Elvisfan As much fun as a papercut, while you have sunburn 1 stars
11/28/00 Matthew Bartley SuckeD 1 stars
10/04/00 lainey louise one of the best comedys in a while p.s. his butt ruled 5 stars
9/19/00 Bender Not great, but it had more laughs than I thought it would. 3 stars
7/27/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS EXTREMELY FUNNY! 4 stars
7/03/00 Monday Morning Same guys made "Big Daddy"? At least they're consistent...it sucked, too. 2 stars
6/22/00 fire-n-ice fuckin funny!!!!! 5 stars
3/26/00 JonnyAngel Me laugh. Ha ha. 3 stars
3/01/00 ghgkgkgk it was the best 1 stars
2/28/00 Rubber Hey lover Happy Gilmore too, but this is below average. 2 stars
2/16/00 hum dont tell anyone I was talked into seeing this rubbish 1 stars
1/25/00 pauline wasn't as funny as i thought it would be 2 stars
1/18/00 Stephanie Bond Lame but funny enough to leave you feeling good 3 stars
1/15/00 Joel Harwood COOL COOL 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Has its VERY funny parts - much better than I could have thought. Too much marketing. 4 stars
1/13/00 QuiGon 2003 This movie was so much funnier than expected. Great laughs. 4 stars
12/26/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Superstar (which totally sucked) 3 stars
12/24/99 Obi Wan Movie is funny, but seen most jokes coming due to bad marketing on commercials 3 stars
12/17/99 Ron McKenly Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/15/99 jake wonderful 5 stars
12/15/99 Chocodile I was hoping for more from Schneider, but it's better than most of the crap out there 4 stars
12/14/99 Siro THE BEST CINEMATIC ACHIEVEMENT EVER!!! 5 stars
12/12/99 Trip EXAMPLE SCENE: Someone calls his name, Deuce turns too fast and falls in pond. ENCORE!!! 1 stars
12/12/99 DD Bro Hilarious, Schneider can actually act 4 stars
12/12/99 Tom Not the best Holiday offering, but certainly not as bad as End of Days! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast