Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 14.46%
Worth A Look: 25.3%
Just Average48.19%
Pretty Crappy: 4.82%
Sucks: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Psycho Goreman by Jay Seaver

Coming 2 America by Peter Sobczynski

Raya and the Last Dragon by Peter Sobczynski

Jumbo by Jay Seaver

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by BeTheBuddha

"It's pretty damn funny!"
3 stars

Take a big pot and mix the following ingredients: Rob Schneider, the producers of Big Daddy, an unlikely situation, bathroom humor, Power 106's Big Boy, and Marlo Thomas in a bustier and garters. Stir well and leave no group unoffended and you should have this year's sleeper hit on your hands.

That's what Touchstone Pictures hope it has with its latest comedic release, <i>Deuce Bigalow Male Gigolo</i>, written by Rob Schneider and Harris Goldberg, directed by Mike Mitchell.

While I am not one for the gross-out bathroom humor that suggests only males had a hand in writing this script along with a case of brewskies, <i>Deuce</i>, produced by Sid Ganis and Barry Bernardi, works it to its advantage and the laughs just roll.

When Deuce Bigalow (Rob Schneider), mild-mannered fish tank cleaner cleans the Koi pond at a luxury Malibu apartment complex, he crosses paths with Antoine Laconte (Oded Fehr), who is having a problem with one of his fish. Deuce diagnoses the fish with a potentially fatal gill disorder where the "next 48 hours are crucial." Antoine asks Deuce to stay and look over his fish while he is away on "business" and the yuks begin.

As Deuce enjoys his short respite in the lap of luxury, he also finds himself in a quandary when he accidentally destroys Antoine's $6000 aquarium. In his frenzy to save the fish and subsequent torment on how and where he's going to come up with the money to replace the aquarium, Deuce answers Antoine's phone and thus begins his life as a gigolo.

Since Deuce is not your run-of-the-mill gigolo, T. J. Hicks (Eddie Griffin) steps in as Deuce's pimp and sets Deuce off his next man-whore escapade with his not-so-normal clientele. With a Pretty Woman-esque romance, Deuce subsequently falls in love with one of his "janes," all while being pursued by the sexually dysfunctional Detective Fowler (William Forsythe), who is hell bent on busting Antoine and will use whatever connection Deuce has with Antoine to do it.

The clean-shaven and now athletically trim Forsythe is virtually unrecognizable as the hilariously funny Detective Fowler. Audiences are used to Forsythe about 30 pounds heavier with a burly mustache as seen in ,i>Blue Streak</i>, <i>Gotti</i>, or <i>The Rock</i>.

Big Boy, a local radio personality on Los Angeles' Power 106, has a fun time as "The Jabba Lady," a grotesquely overweight and oversexed client of Deuce's.

Coupled with parodies of <i>The Matrix</i>, <i>Deuce Bigalow Male Gigolo</i> is the surefire sleeper hit of this drama-laden Oscar contending winter season.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3420&reviewer=195
originally posted: 12/14/99 17:42:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/15/07 David Pollastrini Aren't all gigolos male? 3 stars
11/30/06 David Cohen Not as bad as I thought it was going to be 3 stars
2/06/06 tatum Some funny moments ruined by tastelessness 2 stars
8/24/05 tony it was very funny 4 stars
4/12/05 clatz Very funny, the character TJ was priceless 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff he made me pick it up "with my anus" halarious movie 5 stars
11/27/03 Samuel funny! 3 stars
11/08/03 Eddie Fan This film is so funny, and if u didn't laugh, u need to get a life! 5 stars
8/08/03 gibbons a far cry from the greatest comedy ever made, but has its moments 4 stars
7/21/03 Ghetto Smurf Excuse me, must make pee-pees 4 stars
6/01/03 KCobain The Deuce is loose! 4 stars
12/28/02 Miss P I was laughing the whole way through the film. Go Man Whore!! 5 stars
7/10/02 CVJ NWO Brilliant sounds corny but is truly a funny film 5 stars
4/27/02 Valerie Cameron A zany hoot with a few misfires but mostly good. A- 5 stars
3/29/02 Jojo this movie was great, only because of bree turner and her wet t-shirt... DAMN! 4 stars
3/21/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Funny as hell! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Moronic to the extreme. I couldn't stand it. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean a very cute flick! Would have been funnier if Rob fucked one of the girls. 4 stars
5/17/01 nowak Much better than I expected 4 stars
4/18/01 Tam Had some good laughs, but my cash would have been better spent on a pot of leg wax. 3 stars
3/21/01 Johnny B Ha, BJ is hilarious. Does he really have tourettes? 5 stars
1/29/01 Dean The girl with tourettes was the funniest. bjclips.com is all about tourettes if u want more 4 stars
1/23/01 Elvisfan As much fun as a papercut, while you have sunburn 1 stars
11/28/00 Matthew Bartley SuckeD 1 stars
10/04/00 lainey louise one of the best comedys in a while p.s. his butt ruled 5 stars
9/19/00 Bender Not great, but it had more laughs than I thought it would. 3 stars
7/27/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS EXTREMELY FUNNY! 4 stars
7/03/00 Monday Morning Same guys made "Big Daddy"? At least they're consistent...it sucked, too. 2 stars
6/22/00 fire-n-ice fuckin funny!!!!! 5 stars
3/26/00 JonnyAngel Me laugh. Ha ha. 3 stars
3/01/00 ghgkgkgk it was the best 1 stars
2/28/00 Rubber Hey lover Happy Gilmore too, but this is below average. 2 stars
2/16/00 hum dont tell anyone I was talked into seeing this rubbish 1 stars
1/25/00 pauline wasn't as funny as i thought it would be 2 stars
1/18/00 Stephanie Bond Lame but funny enough to leave you feeling good 3 stars
1/15/00 Joel Harwood COOL COOL 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Has its VERY funny parts - much better than I could have thought. Too much marketing. 4 stars
1/13/00 QuiGon 2003 This movie was so much funnier than expected. Great laughs. 4 stars
12/26/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Superstar (which totally sucked) 3 stars
12/24/99 Obi Wan Movie is funny, but seen most jokes coming due to bad marketing on commercials 3 stars
12/17/99 Ron McKenly Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/15/99 jake wonderful 5 stars
12/15/99 Chocodile I was hoping for more from Schneider, but it's better than most of the crap out there 4 stars
12/14/99 Siro THE BEST CINEMATIC ACHIEVEMENT EVER!!! 5 stars
12/12/99 Trip EXAMPLE SCENE: Someone calls his name, Deuce turns too fast and falls in pond. ENCORE!!! 1 stars
12/12/99 DD Bro Hilarious, Schneider can actually act 4 stars
12/12/99 Tom Not the best Holiday offering, but certainly not as bad as End of Days! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast