Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.51

Awesome: 15.84%
Worth A Look39.6%
Just Average: 28.71%
Pretty Crappy: 11.88%
Sucks: 3.96%

10 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hurricane, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"I've never felt so...emotionally numbed by a movie..."
3 stars

I absolutely hate to critisize Norman Jewison, I adore his work and him as a person, but this film leaves me no choice! The Hurricane has an odd feel to it, almost like an MOW, and the story is too small when it should be expanded and too long, when it should have been shortened.

You know that you are in trouble, when you are half-way through a movie and you realize that you don't really like the character. That probably is not the character's fault. In the case of "The Hurricane", the reason is that Rubin Carter is kept at arm's length from the audience. We don't get to go inside, feel him, or ideally, be him, for the duration of the film. He is kept a stranger to us throughout the whole movie and I felt myself dislike him when I walked out.

I almost didn't care when they won the trial. How I wanted to care and cry and feel joyous! But, I didn't. I grabbed a smoke and started dissing the shit out of the movie. There just seemed to be so many holes in the screenplay. For example, usually in films such as this, where the protagonist is fighting against all forces virtuously, you have an incredible big build-up of how he/she (and his/her cohorts) find all the evidence to prove themselves "right". We did not get enough of that here. It was small, almost trite, and all of a sudden we are in Federal Court and the audience is wondering how in the hell we got there. Where was the evidence? Was that it? THAT was enough to get him off? Shit, even I wasn't convinced. How could I be made to believe that a judge was convinced?

The courtroom scene, where the viewer expects to find out some of this evidence is maybe 2 minutes long with benign speeches from the attorneys and ridiculous attempts at humour from the judge. There was a subtle hint of something great, but it never delivered. It just left you feeling like you wanted to rent a good film in this genre, like say..."Philadelphia".

Regardless of these complaints, Denzel Washington did a fine job, as did the rest of the cast. The bits of Canadian humour were very enjoyable and as a Canadian, I was pleasantly surprised to see this in a major Hollywood picture. Of course, Norman Jewison is Canadian, and I am always quite proud of him. Which is why, I suppose, my disappointment was more acute.

"The Hurricane" is not a contender, I don't think, for any Academy Awards this year. This is no where near Best Picture standards, and I don't believe that the acting, and definately not the script, were Oscar material.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3427&reviewer=116
originally posted: 02/02/00 21:03:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/08/11 PAUL SHORTT SUPERB BIOPIC WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
3/20/09 brian Amazing that so many cling to falsified "evidence" to find Carter guilty with no motive. 5 stars
1/08/09 Shaun Wallner Kept me on the edge of the seat! 4 stars
8/22/06 jhvuy its good 5 stars
12/12/05 Phil M. Aficionado After researching, the movie is VERY bogus; fantasy; Denzel great but film distorts/omits. 1 stars
11/21/05 Treva best every and anyone who says he is guilty should be kild 5 stars
10/18/04 jordon not bad, not bad at all 4 stars
8/09/04 lee the best 5 stars
4/21/04 Laura It made me think. It made me cry. Best film I have seen. 5 stars
2/07/04 lee Thomas Was a insight into real courage 5 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon He's guilty as sin and you all know it. 1 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones Not all that remarkable - watchable 4 stars
3/28/02 Denzel Washingotn fan in mourning Denzel should have won best actor for this & not robbed Sean or Russel w/lurid Training Day 5 stars
3/25/02 Natalie Stonecipher Denzel should've won best actor for this instead of playing a fucked up psycho cop! 5 stars
10/15/01 Kelly Very inspirational and emotional great watch great ending! The best! 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat THE BEST DRAMA I'VE EVER SEEN. 5 stars
5/01/01 J Wanna know what I thnk? Read D.F.E's review. 4 stars
3/23/01 steven it sucks, if you ask me 1 stars
3/07/01 Ed Lewandowski Loved the soundtrack - well just Bob Dylan Actually! 4 stars
1/27/01 Mitja Podgajski good story, really good scenes, atention.. I love it! 5 stars
9/29/00 Matthew Bartley Denzel amazes but the film doesn't quite match him 4 stars
8/14/00 Monday Morning Den-zel! Den-zel! Den-zel! He's terrific but film too long to sustain quality & interest. 4 stars
7/29/00 Trina M. Barnard slow start, but picks up and turns out to be a great movie 5 stars
7/19/00 The Bomb 69 Denzel was awesome, deserved an oscar, story was average 3 stars
4/17/00 Add An interesting and provoking story that was ruined by a typical Hollywood telling 3 stars
4/14/00 k.sydenham wonderful,one of the best i've seen 5 stars
4/06/00 SID Not bad, but overrated. It's bitter throughout don't expect the feel good movie of the year 3 stars
3/24/00 malcolm Denzel - incredible as usual. predictable story. too damn long! 4 stars
3/17/00 Mic Washington and Steiger are great, but script lacking in places. 4 stars
3/15/00 Justine Briggs Enjoyed this tremendously, especially Denzel 4 stars
3/07/00 Joel Harwood DENZEL WASHINGSTON should get BEST ACTOR oscar 5 stars
3/05/00 cynthia it was alittle boring in parts but pretty good 3 stars
2/27/00 Bueller ...and the Oscar goes to...Denzel Washington! 4 stars
2/26/00 JimBob cried several times, this movie is a tribute to all thats good in human beings 5 stars
2/12/00 Mr Glute A little too much artistic license with the facts, but Denzel takes centre stage well. 4 stars
2/07/00 Obi Wan Great Movie...Denzel @ his best again. Why doesn't he get more roles like this?? 4 stars
1/18/00 jenn "Blu Smrf" this movie was very well done, the acting was incredible 4 stars
1/16/00 Malbert Denzel&'Lesra'(Vicellous Reon Shannon)were great...movie was not wonderful, but very good 4 stars
1/13/00 Joe Shapira Denzel is amazing as always 5 stars
12/30/99 Damian Lackey I walked in with high expectations, but the movie was absoluely horrid! 1 stars
12/30/99 Mike Lancaster Overlong & plays 2 loose with the facts. Despite film's shortcomings, DW willbe nominated 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  29-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Mar-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast