Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.65

Awesome79.71%
Worth A Look: 14.49%
Just Average: 1.45%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 4.35%

6 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


All About My Mother
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Vibeseeker

"An arcane masterpiece of European cinema."
5 stars

Pedro Almodovar is a magician of kitsch, colourful cinematic delight, and a master of hot and spicy carnal copulation (Tie Me Up Tie Me Down, High Heels). The sentiments of All About My Mother though, stem from the more refined and mature approach exercised in his recent works, The Flower My Of Secret and Live Flesh. It's not a matter of growing up and toning down, it's simply that his latest attempt has a bigger heart.

It centres around Manuela (Roth) and her journey to connect past to present, in the event of a tragic night that steals away her motherhood. Travelling from Barcelona to Madrid to find the unknowing father of her son, whom she escaped from eighteen years ago, her search leads to encounters with various forgotten characters from her past. The story shows a mother's anguish, bleeding slowly through the screen like an open wound, and finally healed through the resolution of her forgiving and generous spirit.

Dispensing with his trademark lust and sin, Almodovar serves up a stirring story of tenderness that grabs your heart and squeezes it in a perverse fashion. His flamboyant colours are diffused in tone, very much in tune with the more soulful nature of events. But this doesn't impede on what is a very vivid canvas. Almodovar samples and homages the classic's All About Eve and A Street Car Named Desire to provide an additional texture to his storytelling. It's packed with oddball characters (a father called Lola, crack loving lesbians, philosophical drag queens and a nun with AIDS, played by Penelope Cruz, the most beautiful nun since Audrey Hepburn in The Nun's Story), all of whom are lifted by fabulous performances, portrayed sympathetically and never chastised as outlandish caricatures.

Tragedy becomes an intrinsic theme to events, which Pedro uses to explore and celebrate the spirit, tribulations and astuteness of womanhood.

A dazzling film, this is essential Almodovar - artful, entertaining and heart-rending. An arcane masterpiece of European cinema. ---David Michael

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3448&reviewer=251
originally posted: 02/28/00 19:28:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
3/16/14 PAUL SHORTT ENGROSSING, MOVING DRAMA OF LOVE AND DEATH, WITH GREAT PERFORMANCES 4 stars
11/27/06 William Goss Well-acted, and picks up as it proceeds, but still mildly overrated melodrama. 4 stars
8/16/06 Ellen Veden Great Directing and Acting...Awesome 5 stars
4/12/06 anthonyuk superb, another masterpiece from pedro 5 stars
3/24/05 Toes And what about my Daddy.... 1 stars
11/23/04 Sydney Ulmer Almodovar is truely an inspiring director - truely awesome 5 stars
2/07/04 CC Yeah whats the Fuss 1 stars
1/09/02 Tam Fascinating & unusual, with top acting & great characters, but could have ended better. 4 stars
12/16/01 Andrew Carden Too Bizzarre and Confusing To Be Good...OK Plot, but Bad Acting. 3 stars
12/08/01 dfhydf hdfh 4 stars
12/02/01 Hum something very special 5 stars
10/22/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Be patient for the first 15 minutes, you'll be rewarded by a powerful, crazy movie! 5 stars
7/07/01 Reini Urban Almodovar is again getting better. Others became worse going sentimetal. Fine to see. 5 stars
5/26/01 Basil I'll admit I cried. 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Len just doesn't know a good movie when he sees it, this was touching and fucking awesome! 5 stars
2/24/01 teresa harvey the best film i've seen in years, roth & paredes are magnificent 5 stars
2/22/01 trashstar Delightful, Cecilia Roth shines as do all the cast. Much less manipulative than his others. 5 stars
2/20/01 Rocket Boy Almodovar's best since "Women...", and the best of 1999. 5 stars
2/06/01 Trashstar Amazing, one of those movies where you sit and watch until the credits are finished dazed. 5 stars
12/23/00 Bev Clark Sublime. It moved me to tears (and that has never happened before!) 5 stars
11/11/00 Steve probably the best and most enjoyable film of 1999 5 stars
10/15/00 The Bomb 69 strong writing and acting, interesting to watch the main character come full circle 5 stars
10/04/00 Spetters Almodovar´s best!! 5 stars
9/08/00 neilb great films are great films, no matter the language 5 stars
8/08/00 Mic Pacing a bit rushed at times but a marvellous film nonetheless. 5 stars
6/13/00 ferma lekesizalin I loved the way almodovar incorporated the subtext of A Streetcar Named Desire to his movie 5 stars
4/25/00 Pix Love this new Almodovar 5 stars
3/29/00 TIGGER It was absolutely beautiful. Cecilia Roth made me ball my eyes out! Just great! 5 stars
3/21/00 Matthew Smith a magnificent film, beautifully acted by the women 5 stars
2/15/00 Tatiana Cepero Masterpiece by Almodovar,very dramatic and realistic 5 stars
1/05/00 Heather Almodovar releases another masterpiece 5 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz For Almodovar, a more mature work, and the most heartfelt tribute to women he's ever made. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Nov-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast