Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.6

Awesome76.19%
Worth A Look: 14.29%
Just Average: 4.76%
Pretty Crappy: 2.38%
Sucks: 2.38%

1 review, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

To the Ends of the Earth by Jay Seaver

Wood Job! by Jay Seaver

News of the World by Rob Gonsalves

Promising Young Woman by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Woman 1984 by Rob Gonsalves

Godfather, Coda: The Death of Michael Corleone by Rob Gonsalves

Mank by Rob Gonsalves

Wander Darkly by Rob Gonsalves

Stand In, The by Rob Gonsalves

MLK/FBI by alejandroariera

subscribe to this feed


Batman: Mask of the Phantasm
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bob, Lord of Evil

"The best Batman film. Period."
5 stars

There are problems with Mask of the Phantasm. Yep, yep, yep, there sure are. But I'll tell you what, the problems with this are so much more minimal than any of the other Batman movies it's laughable. This is how it's supposed to be done. This is Batman at his best. Now lets see if we can get a good actor on the job...

Here's the dilly, yo. Another masked man is in town whacking old mobsters. People think it's Batman, the district attorney uses this to start cracking down on the Bat. Of course, Batman sees a pattern emerging, a pattern which ties into his past, right around when he was deciding who he was going to be.

What follows is a series of awesome animated sequences, acting, and artwork. This movie provides more insight into the mind of Bruce Wayne than any of the other Batman movies have. There seems to be a trend that women are his weakness within all the films. This is the most noticeable one. With Vicki Vale (Batman; 1989), we got the idea that while he really did love her, he'd never be with her. In Batman Returns, we saw Selina Kyle/Catwoman claw herself behind the mask. Finally, in this film, we get a better understanding about the cape and the cowl.

What this movie implied was that Bruce Wayne felt he deserved to fight crime, a sort of punishment for letting his parents die. When he finds Andrea Beaumont, this need for self punsihment slowly fades. This is before he put on the mask. Without giving to much away, her departure from his life sent him back into a self mutilating vigilante mode. This movie almost begs to ask " Would you give it all up for her?" Unlike the other two, this one doesn't give you an easy answer.

The problems with this movie are more little animae things, that wouldn't bother me if I could suspend disbelief just a bit more. Suffice to say, one moment of particular bugging involves a work bench and the cape and cowl. Another thing that bugs me is it never explains just how the Phantasm disapears in smoke.

But it's forgiveable. Because this movie had hands down the best version of Batman, the coolest action sequence from any of the films, and the Joker. the sweet, sweet, Joker.

GOD I LOVED THE JOKER IN THIS MOVIE!!! HE RULED!!!

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3642&reviewer=150
originally posted: 12/25/99 22:40:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

4/13/15 dibbhansen what the fuck??? 1 stars
3/15/12 Sean This is the best animated Batman movie ever made. It was cool I got to see it in theaters. 5 stars
12/25/11 Dane Youssef The series was so damned fine, it had to be placed on the big silver screen. 5 stars
7/15/09 the dork knight Dana Delaney, rrowr! The music score is awesome, too. 5 stars
4/16/09 Dane Youssef The first truly well-made Batman film. Made by people who truly know Gotham and the Bat. 5 stars
8/25/07 Rustybutt Subzero and Mystery of the Batwoman are good but this is just brilliant 5 stars
3/27/06 Brian Meyer The Pinnacle of BATMAN cinema. GO WATCH IT NOW! 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams simply awesome. I saw it years ago and still love the damn thing. 5 stars
11/14/04 DM Why can't the live-action "Batman"s be this good? 5 stars
3/29/04 phatasm andi and bruce are just meant to be! 5 stars
3/22/04 tatum Good animated effort 4 stars
11/20/03 Gray well done 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A classic piece of animation. Better than any of the Batman films. 5 stars
9/08/02 Jonah Falcon Yes, he would have given it all up for her. 5 stars
8/14/02 Tim Great movie. Even better than attack of the clones. 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 These story writers should've consulted with Schumacher, 'cos his version sucks dong! 5 stars
1/12/02 J. The animation was a bit lacking in the quality department, but the plot compinsated it. 4 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has a relation to the movies so, yeah its worth watching!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11 5 stars
8/06/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) I was a big fan of "Batman: The Animated Series," so I guess I pretty much liked this movie 4 stars
7/19/01 the scarecrow Batman, the way he was meant to be. 5 stars
3/31/01 Andrew Carden A fairly well-done piece of animation, but didn't hold my interest. 3 stars
3/27/01 Deckard Not as good as the Burton movies, but sooo much better than Shumacher. 4 stars
12/25/00 Turtle A DC movie that is actually worth watching over and over (that's a surprise!). 5 stars
10/20/00 Smithington An amazing piece of animation, the best Batman has ever been on film! 4 stars
9/08/00 Jed The heck with you hamill this is the batman movie ever! 5 stars
8/28/00 M Hamill It's all right; good animation, okay story, Joker is fun, but other than that, whatever 2 stars
5/28/00 Jed Sorry about my last rating here is the rating the film deserved. 5 stars
4/29/00 master.node C'mon. It's a Batman movie. It's just not important. 3 stars
4/29/00 Matt AHH...SOME REALLY GOOD SHITE! 5 stars
4/21/00 JDC Well I'll be! Batman as a DETECTIVE, for once! Great musical score, too. 5 stars
4/13/00 Fishsticks No more live action Batman movies, stick to animation! Cool movie. 5 stars
4/05/00 Jed IWell I do agree that this is the best batman film,L.A or animated. 4 stars
3/16/00 Lame-Oh totally brilliant, dude! 5 stars
1/12/00 Jedi15 THIS should've been the third Batman movie, not that crappy popcorn garbage "Forever". 5 stars
1/02/00 unstrung ity was good, quite an amazing plot for a kid-show-spin-off-movie 5 stars
12/27/99 The Bomb 69 sweet 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1993 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-1994




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast