Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 22.92%
Worth A Look: 6.25%
Just Average: 8.33%
Pretty Crappy: 20.83%
Sucks41.67%

2 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

Competition, The by Jack Sommersby

Hollywood Harry by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Good Burger
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmink Magazine (owes us money)

"If only they threw in some T & A."
2 stars

Thereís something to be said about teenage comedies. In the good olí days (well, ten years ago) you had Meatballs and Losiní It.

Universal themes such as T & A and getting laid were the order of the day. Nowadays, you get Good Burger, a slapstick attempt to appeal to young teenagers which will only be funny to African American teens.

Dexter (Thompson) is an overweight spoilt black kid who is watering at the mouth when the school bell sounds to announce summer vacation. He hops into his parentís car and before you can say ĎIíll have fries with thatí, smashes into his teacherís (Sinbad sporting a mean afro) prized automobile and working a summer job to repair the damage.

At Good Burger, a burger joint with the filthiest, most inept employees, he works as a delivery driver (!?) and meets Ed (Mitchell), a rollerblading idiot with a heart of gold. Throw in the villains at Mondo Burger, a glitzy upstart fast food joint run by a Fascist white guy, and youíve got a cliched story.

Produced by kiddie TV channel Nickelodeon, the movie is carried by the charm of its two leads, who also happen to have their own TV show. This is basically their vehicle, and was a big hit in the States, where they are well known.

With cameos from Shaquille OíNeal, George Clinton and Carmen Electra, it might have some relevance, if only they threw in some T & A. ---Jimmie R

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=380&reviewer=14
originally posted: 08/25/98 23:27:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/03/09 the dork knight Well, it's not THAT horrible, but it's not funny either. Kids may like it. 3 stars
4/09/09 Preston Seriously, most of you people have no sense of humor whatsoever. 5 stars
11/01/07 Total Crap All this movie does is make you hungry.. but if you're already eating. Destroy this. 1 stars
7/03/07 Jeff Anderson Like fast food itself, nourishing but not entirely satisfying. Mitchell is likable, though. 3 stars
1/09/07 johnnyfog Why torture terrorists? Just make 'em watch this 2 stars
1/25/05 Malisha I loved this movie 5 stars
11/30/04 mercedez good for moral values 4 stars
5/11/04 Austin Really funny 5 stars
12/19/03 Risa So dumb, it's funny. We all need to watch an immature move like this every now and then. 5 stars
8/04/03 knows da movies soo stupid..i luved it..had me cracking up! gayest movie ever!ihow could ne 1 think of it? 5 stars
6/26/03 cochese crap-crap crapcrapcrap crapcrapcrapcrap ca crap 1 stars
6/01/03 Jon Lyrik *vomits burger* 1 stars
12/03/02 martymoose george clinton is too funky for you and i'm gonna put you in the grinder!! 5 stars
11/28/02 jack daniels NO ES BUENO! 1 stars
11/19/02 Alex Flynn Screw You Oz! Burger King Cheese Burgers are Awesome! This movie does suck though. 1 stars
10/26/02 Nina I LOVE THIS MOVIE - IT IS SO STUPID IT MAKES ME LAUGH 5 stars
5/15/02 The Velcro Warlock An exercise in making farce just too farcy. 2 stars
4/02/02 Norma Lehigh Keeks of overrill. Even secial spauce san't cave it! 2 stars
3/30/02 Jeremy crazy 5 stars
3/11/02 Lin Rainey I've seen it and I think it's sweet. Good movie for kids. 3 stars
2/20/02 Nevz It made me laugh some 4 stars
12/15/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Funny Movie With Unique Acting and Funny Plot. 5 stars
7/26/01 Fish Eye The kind of movie you watch for no reason, and then want to end your life over. 1 stars
9/21/00 Turtle This is a funny movie, and probably Nickelodeon's best movie. 5 stars
7/22/00 Bender Harmless movie. Its also a gulity pleasure. 4 stars
2/15/99 Uncle Roy Good Bruger is worse fast food than Hardee's 1 stars
2/06/99 roxy i'm a dude, he's a dude, she's a dude.... ha ha ha! will the fun ever stop? 5 stars
1/26/99 Kooky Sal Worthless in every respect. And what was with blurring Sinbad's face on the TV ad? 1 stars
1/24/99 Chloe Marie Eregeskenoph Boy oh boy...unbelievabley bad... 1 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Total shit. Sucks All Ass is a gross understatement. 1 stars
12/16/98 Scion of Graveheart Yeah, whatever. 1 stars
9/28/98 katherine it was funny the 1st time, but now it just sucks. i grew out of it B4 it came out. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Poor Abe. I wanted to make chuck-up burger. 1 stars
8/23/98 Mike F I was laughing a lot. 3 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Depressing. But made me hungry. Kill Sinbad. 1 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Watching Abe Vigoda dragged down to this level was sad as hell. Depressing. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jul-1997 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-1998 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast