Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.95

Awesome: 14.42%
Worth A Look: 27.88%
Just Average: 10.58%
Pretty Crappy32.69%
Sucks: 14.42%

7 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Where the Heart Is (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Vibeseeker

"Portman is a joy to behold."
3 stars

Natalie Portman Ė due to spring twins as Queen Amidala in the next Star Wars film Ė gets a practice run in the motherhood game as she plays a teenage white-trash mum, Novalee Nation, in this chick flick tearjerker.

Based on Billie Lettís book, Novalee heavily pregnant and just seventeen, gets dumped by her hick boyfriend in a Wal-Mart supermarket car park in Sequoia, Oklahoma. Homeless and broke, she secretly camps out in the supermarket until she conceives her baby Americus. After Novalee and her daughter are taken under the wing of a good-hearted local couple she begins a Wizard of Oz like journey, in which she picks up a few friends on the path to finding happiness.

With a far fetched story at itís heart, the film oozes contrivance and coincidence; with its dramatic tornadoes, kidnap capers and the inevitable rematch with Americusí father. But itís not a film to take too seriously; a case in point being Natalie and Ashley Juddís (Novaleesí new best friend, the prolific child bearer Lexie Cooper) hair and make up, which is always immaculate despite her humble circumstances.

Itís big on love and sentimentality, with Portman a joy to behold with her instinctive emotional performance shining through. Ultimately, itís a good old-fashioned Hollywood story, rich in warm humanity.

Just let it wash over you, or grab yourself a bucket. - David Michael

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3867&reviewer=251
originally posted: 06/22/01 13:37:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/01/16 Suzanne five great female performances; scratch the ex-boyfriend 4 stars
10/19/11 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE, BANAL MELODRAMATIC SOAP OPERA 1 stars
10/08/07 Deirdre As manipulatively awful as it is extremely bizarre. 1 stars
12/15/06 Treecie Novalie rise above attitude & Forney's firm love kept me thinking after the end of the movi 4 stars
5/06/06 Erica Clarkson What about Tennessee residents, Tiffany? It's set in Oklahoma! 2 stars
12/19/05 cody a very good movie with good story and good actors, sexy natalie portman 4 stars
7/13/05 emily I LOVED this movie...definitely in my top 5. 5 stars
3/27/05 Emma A lovely film. One of my favourites. 5 stars
3/17/05 Tiffany Anderson great movie, although it depects tennessee residents as white trash 4 stars
7/23/04 Toni Any young mother trying to find her way can relate to this movie 5 stars
7/14/04 Jenna Furr Usually abominable A. Judd good here. Natalie P. wasted. Movie on whole is harpy feces. 1 stars
6/04/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A. Judd plays more likeable char. than Sally Field or Joan Cusack. Armageddon must be near! 2 stars
6/04/04 Audrey Ruiz Ashley Judd's best movie since AMAZON WOMAN FROM URANUS. 1 stars
5/18/04 Richard This film was very educating for children over 12 but not for 2nd graders 1 stars
4/10/04 Teresa I think it is a great movie, explaning how anything could happen. 4 stars
3/25/04 Stephanie I really like the movie i eally enjoyed it! 5 stars
3/04/04 Absolute feel good? Poppycock!! Only someone bout as bad as Osama bin Ladin makes me feel good to see his legs get cut off! 2 stars
2/04/04 Aroha It is a lovely movie! An absolute feel good!!! 5 stars
10/06/03 Marie Persson I just love this movie. 5 stars
7/17/03 Chris O.K. so this isn't oscar material but by itself it's entertaing. Corny but heart-warming. 4 stars
5/30/03 Jenna Furr Usually abominable A. Judd good here. Natalie P. wasted. Movie on whole is harpy feces. 1 stars
2/03/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A. Judd plays more likeable char. than Sally Field or Joan Cusack. Armageddon must be near! 2 stars
1/11/03 Iris Dementia Praecox Yeah Sure, Andrew. If I don't listen to the rednecks, so much for playing this movie! 1 stars
12/09/02 Audrey Ruiz Ashely Judd's best movie since AMAZON WOMAN FROM URANUS. 1 stars
12/02/02 jksfsdkl UG! Natalie Portman is the most overrated actress of the past few years. CRAP! 1 stars
11/27/02 Kelli Strange, but funny 4 stars
10/14/02 amy i liked it 4 stars
10/02/02 Andrew Don't listen to the to the red necks, let yourself be taken on a beautiful ride. 5 stars
9/03/02 The Chronic Mastubator Sappy and dumb. 2 stars
6/26/02 Bada Bing Crosby Ceaselessly stupid and improbable, but Joan Cusack is great in small role 2 stars
6/04/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A. Judd plays more likeable char. than Sally Field or Joan Cusack. Armageddon must be near! 2 stars
3/30/02 Kacy I loved this movie. It is absolutely one of my favorites...ever! 5 stars
3/25/02 the_newindividual Great movie! 5 stars
3/15/02 Jenny Tullwartz (Joan Cusack fan in mourning) I'd rather eat my sh____(oe??) than watch what Jonn Cusack's reduced to in this. 1 stars
1/26/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst "Ballbuster" plays all sweetness and light. Is there acatch? You bet there is! 2 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick this is one chick flick the flick chick actually liked - a bit long though. 4 stars
1/03/02 Chelsy Kenyon I liked the movie, I had to do a long paper over it. 4 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Total chick flick ... Portman was great 5 stars
11/11/01 Jon C. Ericson Natalie only thing making this worth a look. 4 stars
9/29/01 Mohammad J. worst movie out there next to 2001 and A.I. 1 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean Glamorous trailer trash and 2hr references to Walmart can be overlooked in this good flick 4 stars
8/24/01 eka saputra i'm only like natalie 4 stars
8/02/01 brian ferrell I really wanted my own web site 5 stars
6/23/01 Mr. X I enjoyed i thoroughly. I almost cried 4 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid Cute..Natelie is good & Stockard Channing & Joan Cusack are great supporting charcters 4 stars
4/16/01 LiL This was fantatic! One of the best movies I've ever seen with great actors 5 stars
4/11/01 Troy A decent moment or two do not a movie make; Cusack was much appreciated, however briefly 3 stars
2/28/01 Robert no 1 stars
2/14/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Read the book!!! Read the book!!! Read the book!!! Read the book!!! 3 stars
2/01/01 Bob Barker How many talented actors does this movie have? And it's still stupid!!!! 1 stars
8/20/00 movie chick not much interesting here 3 stars
7/30/00 Ang I thought it was a great movie 5 stars
5/27/00 Jaime N. Christley The book is available at your local Wal-Mart. Avoid it, too. 1 stars
5/18/00 jim boyd good film well acted enjoyable 5 stars
5/12/00 Americus Ashley Judd is my reason for being. & Natalie Portman scores her first good performance 5 stars
5/10/00 Kyle Broflovski "Life's a bitch & then you give birth in Wal-Mart." Whoopy. 3 stars
5/07/00 Mary Ann Surprised the boom mike didn't get star billing and it's own trailer 2 stars
5/04/00 Jessica I've read the book, and i've seen the movie. Both were great! But read the book first. 4 stars
5/01/00 MrShowbiz Portman gives birth in a Wal-Mart... and this 4 alarm hankiefest is all downhil from there. 1 stars
4/30/00 Rose Reuben It's like American Beauty, shows that everyone fucks up. It's about being optimistic. Nice. 4 stars
4/30/00 "Persnickety" this one got real old real quick,,,totally predictable! 2 stars
4/29/00 Malbert Acting was good...story was kind of dumb 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Apr-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast