Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.59

Awesome: 6.14%
Worth A Look: 13.16%
Just Average37.72%
Pretty Crappy: 19.3%
Sucks: 23.68%

9 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mexican, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"'A' List Actors in a low-budget film?"
3 stars

It doesn't work. Trust me. Don't even question whether or not it's a good idea. The sheer star-quality of the two leads completely overshadowed any kind of charm that "The Mexican" might have had.

When you sign on Brad Pitt and Julia Roberts to a low-budget film, it somehow begins to lose it's 'low budget' status. "The Mexican", however, still had that 'Indy' feel to it, and Julia and Brad just didn't fit in.

From the opening scene, I began to get irritated with "The Mexican", and it didn't cease until the film stopped rolling. There were spots in the film, however, that made me laugh and made me forget my amassing annoyance.

It wasn't until I slept on it, did I realize what my issue was. It was that Julia and Brad don't suit low-grade characters,cheap lighting, and corny/indy direction. They suit big-budget fare, that's where they feel comfortable. Either that, or that's where we feel comfortable seeing them. In either case, it simply doesn't deliver.

Roberts plays an irritating, needy girlfriend. Try and picture that. Does it work in your mind? Well, it doesn't work in the film. In each scene that they are together, they seem like two idiots fumbling to try and find some sort of jive or chemistry. It's almost uncomfortable to watch.

Pitt plays an idiot. Can you picture that? Well, maybe if you are no fan of his, then it's no problem, but the kind of sweet no-mind that he plays in this film is not believable with his performance. At one point he fumbles with trying to ask for directions to a Mexican fellow. It's the same ol' thing that we've seen a million times before "Do you know-o, where I could find a gas station-o?" I felt embarrassed for him.

However, when the two actors are separated in the film, it actually flows in some spots. It's when the two are together in their ridiculous relationship that the film loses it's luster. There are a few particular scenes with Roberts and her abducter that are rather witty and cute.

If you feel like seeing something easy, go ahead and rent this on video, but steer clear of the theatre on this one. There are far better films to see right now, like 'Chocolat' and 'Crouching Tiger'. Put your money in the pockets of people who deserve it. Not in the pockets of some producer who didn't believe enough in his project to let it flourish as a well made indy film. It's criminal to wreck what could have been a charming indy production with big name froo-froo.

Julia and Brad should stick to their big-shot directors and production companies and leave the trendy indie flicks to those who know how to treat them well.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3895&reviewer=116
originally posted: 03/20/01 21:01:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/30/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT I LEFT HOPING THAT I NEVER SEE EITHER OF THEM AGAIN IN ANYTHING 1 stars
2/03/08 Pamela White not Brad's best work 3 stars
1/30/07 Matt What a fucking mess. Hire it if, and only if, there is absolutely FUCK-ALL on TV! 1 stars
9/21/06 Charles Tatum Surprisingly lucid crime drama, but drowns in its own ugliness 4 stars
8/28/05 Glen Duke Waste of time 2 stars
7/17/05 R.W. Welch Has some amusing bits but very uneven. 3 stars
5/08/04 Rebecca I have watched this film at least 20 times on video and each and every time I am engrossed 5 stars
4/19/04 Croweater Crappy flick, u will want to kill Julia as shes a real slag in this movie. 2 stars
2/21/04 Who shot JR? Has any movie's title character been shot more times than this one's? 1 stars
2/15/04 john bale Top cast can't do much with this muddling along thriller/comedy 2 stars
10/12/03 Carrie Kohl How far Julia Roberts has come since HOOK - from Tinkerbell to Tinkle Belle. 2 stars
10/07/03 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
10/07/03 Robyn Jamil-Walid Julia Roberts couldn't be more obnoxious if she took a dump in my face! 1 stars
7/21/03 Monster W. Kung Pitt needs to avoid these kind of movies, Roberts needs a punch in the face. 2 stars
4/10/03 Jack Bourbon Surpisingly horrid. Brad Pitt acted about as well as Kato Caelin in this shitbag. 1 stars
2/18/03 y2mckay Tony Soprano didn't want to rape the offspring of Mr. Ed? He must be GAY! 1 stars
11/24/02 tigger142066 I really liked this movie. It was good 5 stars
11/22/02 Croweater Crappy flick, u will want to kill Julia as shes a real slag in this movie. 2 stars
9/25/02 Who shot JR? Has any movie's title character been shot more times than this one's? 1 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Actually, Julia & Gando shared a moment that I enjoyed. Emphasis on 'a' moment, singular 3 stars
5/23/02 Carrie Kohl How far Julia Roberts has come since HOOK - from Tinkerbell to Tinkle Belle. 2 stars
5/14/02 Jeffrey Banks Heads up, Robyn! Tain't all that insufferable. Don't let Julia stool ya! 2 stars
5/14/02 Robyn Jamil-Walid Julia Roberts couldn't be more obnoxious if she took a dump in my face! 1 stars
3/20/02 Jim Gay hitman and Gene Hackman steal the movie from the "stars" 4 stars
3/18/02 Mae Mortaveto Horse mouthed women should keep to the stables 1 stars
3/03/02 Jenny Tullwartz Feelgood message-Insufferable harpy still loves outlaw beau after he kills her gay friend. 1 stars
10/17/01 Catherine Schneider I'm pretty sure this movie was aimed at middle aged women. 2 stars
8/13/01 Monday Morning Not bad at all...just 20-30 minutes too long. 4 stars
6/05/01 Muad'Dib Surpisingly, it works pretty well. It's worth renting, anyway. 3 stars
5/25/01 Edward Shandis JESUS CHRIST! WHO IS MAKING THESE FILMS 1 stars
5/22/01 Lohsandt Totally boring 1 stars
5/19/01 Roy Smith This movies feels about three hours long - three hours of commercials. 1 stars
5/04/01 Jon Jones Its Desperado minus the action, Snatch minus the wit, and a movie minus decent direction 1 stars
5/02/01 Pierce Lanson Awful,awful,awful,awful. 1 stars
4/25/01 Brian Somebody kill that vapid, horse-faced bitch Julia Roberts. And the rest sucked too. 1 stars
4/17/01 Lee F Burton. Radio Presenter. Formulaic but great performance from James Gandolfini. Best lines....the dog! 3 stars
4/09/01 muneer78 Not bad. It has an engaging story and the leads do a great job. 4 stars
4/01/01 Carolyn This movie made me cry! It was definitely worth going to see, and I loved Brad and Julia! 5 stars
3/27/01 Rampage Brad Pitt was great, the rest blew chunks 2 stars
3/27/01 Kirsten Worth the matinee price 3 stars
3/27/01 tnt a convoluted waste of time for the viewer....everything misfires! 2 stars
3/25/01 Sid 6.7 A wistful romantic vehicle for the glitzy and glamorous couple of Pitt and Roberts 4 stars
3/23/01 Rebekah Walker The movie itself wasn't that great, but Brad Pitt is gorgeous, so I'm not complaining!! 4 stars
3/23/01 ZuG It was quite funny at times, I liked it. 4 stars
3/22/01 pipeman Possibly the worst directed movie in history. 1 stars
3/22/01 Valerie its soooo funny 5 stars
3/20/01 amy brad is delicious. 5 stars
3/16/01 Gabe WOW did it SUCK 2 stars
3/16/01 Julia Roberts I want to tell all people on earth that I love myself more than the horsemouth I have. 1 stars
3/06/01 Natalie Start offs in debut, just goes further in. 1 stars
3/04/01 Deana Henderson Julia is nothing less than fabulous 4 stars
3/04/01 Jake I'll go one step further: Brad Pitt & Julia Roberts. 1 stars
3/03/01 John Lyons Julia Roberts is still in "white trash" mode. Sucked big time! 1 stars
3/02/01 Buzz What a waste of film. Not even interesting as an example of a bad film. 2 stars
3/02/01 Jen Brad Pitt 5 stars
3/02/01 Jaime MM, your review is pretty wretched 3 stars
3/01/01 Shayne Davies The review didn't read well - and it was full of grammatical errors 2 stars
2/28/01 TimmyToday Julila Roberts 5 stars
2/28/01 Nancy Barton Too long, does'nt live up to hype! Roberts is great. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Apr-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast