Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.72

Awesome: 27.78%
Worth A Look43.83%
Just Average: 6.79%
Pretty Crappy: 15.43%
Sucks: 6.17%

10 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Aeronauts, The by Jay Seaver

Jessica Forever by Jay Seaver

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blade II
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Yuk! Ouch! Cool! Yuk! Ouch! Cool!"
4 stars

Wesley Snipes returns in this really gross and really exciting sequel to the original hit.

Blade (Wesley Snipes) is still out killing vampires, this time armed with better special effects. He is tracking down his mentor Whistler (Kris Kristofferson, the most grizzled man on the planet), who was taken by the vampires and held hostage. In the meantime, Blade has picked up a new weapons master, Scud (Norman Reedus, who looks a lot like Henry Thomas). Whistler is rescued, and he and Scud immediately do not get along.

The vampires Blade is always trying to kill want a truce. It seems there is a new race of vampires, called Reapers, led by the very ugly Nomak (Luke Goss). The Reapers are killing ordinary vampires, and once that supply is gone, they will turn to humanity for their prey. Blade is saddled with a group of mercenaries called the Blood Pact, who were originally trained to kill him. It features angry Reinhardt (the always excellent Ron Perlman) and the sexy Nyssa (Leonor Varela), daughter of the vampire leader Damaskinos (Thomas Kretschmann).

The plot really becomes secondary as Blade and the group infiltrate an underground hangout for vampires, and do bloody battle with the Reapers. This leads to a very long battle in the sewers where the Reapers congregate, and finally to the vampire headquarters, where double crosses and switched allegiances are ultimately uncovered.

This sequel can be described in one word: gross. I have not seen this much bodily fluid on display since my lactose intolerant toddler feasted on an ice cream cone. I am not talking a lot of fake blood, I am talking a lot of fake everything shown in graphic detail. The film is wall to wall violent, an almost two hour action sequence broken up into three or four main components.

Do you know what? The whole thing works. The special effects are strong, save for a couple of obvious computer animated fight sequences. The gore is excellent, from the Reapers' frightening mouths to the gallons of gore to the grossest autopsy of the last ten years. The film makers wisely just do not remake the first film, they expand on it. All the actors are good, making an impression despite the plethora of eye candy going on around them. Even the actors who are completely unrecognizable under the makeup (Goss, Kretschmann) still score some good scenes.

Del Toro is the perfect director for the sequel, he shoots it like he has been practicing for this for years. The film certainly never bores, moving faster than anything George Lucas has been able to come up with since "Return of the Jedi."

The couple of weak computer effects hurt. So does yet another villain who confesses everything before being killed in a very creative way. I won't give away any of the double crosses, but you do see them coming from a mile away.

All in all, "Blade II" is really neat. The action is nonstop, a forced romance is merely hinted at, and Snipes can kick ass with the best of them. If a third movie is in the making, I'm ready. This is the film that give sequels a good name.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=3922&reviewer=325
originally posted: 05/25/03 18:55:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

10/29/16 morris campbell way better than the original bloody good sequel 5 stars
8/17/09 PD On the 8th day, God Made Blade 2. This is the Greatest Movie Ever Made! 5 stars
9/02/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/22/08 JM Synth Boring, incoherent and unpleasent 2 stars
6/21/08 David V Step down from the first. 2 stars
6/16/07 al smith far better than the oringinal.great action sequences 5 stars
4/11/07 rimrhino As much as I liked the first, this one was MUCH better. 5 stars
1/20/07 del Infinitely better than that festering turd of an original. 4 stars
11/29/06 Stanley Thai Probably the best flick in the franchise. 4 stars
9/02/06 Dragon The Artist Enough with the nerdy video game concepts, Like I said,shoulda been in a more "vampiric"era 2 stars
8/01/06 dan just as good as the first film 5 stars
4/02/06 Onions! Onions! Geekiest film ever made 1 stars
3/29/06 Josh Standlee Honestly, this is one of my top 10 favorite movies of all time!!!! 5 stars
2/11/06 dresdan same old boring crap, but fairly well made 2 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw INFINITELY better than the straight-to-video quality original. 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Even better than the original= kick ass 5 stars
8/10/05 AmandaGhost Yes, it outdid the original, but...so does just about any shitty movie... 5 stars
8/10/05 celia At least Snipes doesn't do anymore of that "Home Alone"-esque "Yesssss" crap here... 5 stars
8/09/05 Krull Guillermo del Toro can do no wrong...well...except maybe MIMIC... 5 stars
8/08/05 Dredd Definitely severed heads and shoulder above the toilet bowl original... 5 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield Blade 1 = Feces. Blade 2 = Surprisingly, a blast. Trinity, uh, haven't seen yet... 5 stars
8/07/05 Usagi Yojimbo People LIKED the original piece of dross and HATED this?!?!?! What a world we live in... 5 stars
8/07/05 Jasper Makes the original look like...well...the turd that it is...del Toro RULES!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/22/05 Martin A sympathetic enough "villian" and outstanding choreagraphy. 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A sequel that although not as good as the first, is still a good sequel 4 stars
12/13/04 Alf Awesome film! 5 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul WAY too much CGI.It would have been very good if it didn't look so cartoonish. But it does. 2 stars
12/04/04 Gray real vamps vs fag goth + Wesley Snipes? me like! 5 stars
5/09/04 Daveman Major improvement over the tedious original. More action less pretentiousness and plotholes 3 stars
1/16/04 Dean great effects 4 stars
1/12/04 American Slasher Goddess A little better then the original, it has more gore, too,but still far from being good. 2 stars
9/23/03 jack when i saw this movie, i went home and bit my dog on the neck! awesome flick! 5 stars
9/21/03 Rick Howells #1 fan!!!!!!! best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/03 I Would Better than original with a better plot, better pacing and better effects. 2 and 1/2 stars 2 stars
7/27/03 Rona Dissatisfying sequel to a fantastic original. Formulaic. Lacked intensity. 2 stars
6/10/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
6/08/03 Ripper Who cares about the story, Blade is the ultimate badazz 4 stars
6/07/03 Pete Pure crap 1 stars
6/04/03 Charles Tatum Cool 4 stars
5/19/03 Mr Yellow GRREEAAT 5 stars
4/13/03 Doopy Nomak wasn't as good a villain as Frost was but it's still a decent superhero flick. 4 stars
4/07/03 B. McNeal This film kick major arse! 5 stars
3/05/03 Dina Smith This was an alright movie. Better than ''Vampires'' anyway 3 stars
2/12/03 Loyd This movie is good but the thing is that its the same thing as the first.Blade needs blood. 4 stars
2/06/03 123 like the zombies, characters in this movie are lifeless 3 stars
1/20/03 Andy Bronson if you enjoyed the action in this movie search the net for Donnie Yen films 4 stars
11/29/02 Susan Great film, adored the action sequences 5 stars
11/03/02 Rob Entertaining but dumb! 4 stars
10/23/02 Interrog8 Lacked what made the first one great. But it was still fun. 4 stars
10/07/02 Tweeter I enjoyed the special effects and gada love the hottie vampire played by Leonor Varela 4 stars
9/30/02 some dude the soundtrack was bad i didnt like it the house of pain techno music wasnt on it 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound A sequel that stays true to the original and doesn't loose it like most others. 5 stars
9/26/02 Tim A sequel that was even better than attack of the craps this summer. 5 stars
9/20/02 palaboy101 Blade is the coolest vampire movie to date... This sequel further establishes that! 5 stars
9/18/02 Danielle Ophelia Gloppy gore, dark & dirty atmosphere, and kung-fu battles set to techno music...I'm happy. 4 stars
9/12/02 John McNew Hey, Phoenix. The top critics seem to like it, Roger Ebert gave it 3.5/4 stars 4 stars
9/08/02 othree actually a solid movie, one ? thou when did vampires become ninjas 4 stars
9/01/02 Doc Shock Great mindless action entertainment, if you're in the mood for that sort of thing. 4 stars
8/21/02 jade It was like one hell of a rollercoaster ride!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/18/02 Shams Huque Fine entertainment! 5 stars
7/15/02 JS With fight scenes like that, it should've been called Blade II: Smackdown 4 stars
7/14/02 ! Awesome special effects, blade 1 was better, third would be the same AGAIN... 4 stars
6/26/02 Jonathan Davis good movie, no bell curve, more like an up down straight up movie 4 stars
6/25/02 Natalie Stonecipher An endurance test. Worse than wiping my butt with sandpaper! 1 stars
6/20/02 Jenny Tullwartz Filmed in Prague but not worth Czeching out. Interminable & monotonous. 1 stars
5/17/02 Phoenix Even better than the first, which was great. What the fuck is those movie critics problem. 5 stars
5/16/02 big t awsome 5 stars
4/25/02 Shane Robert Myers This WAY!!!!!! better than the 1st one & alot more action & thrills!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/21/02 Bruce WOW! I was impressed! tons of action and thrills 5 stars
4/08/02 Eloise lotsa fighting - not much else. B1 was much better 3 stars
4/08/02 Jim Lots of action, but kinda disgusting even by my standards! 4 stars
4/07/02 Koitus The first one was MUCH better. This one is OK, as long as you go with the right mindset! 3 stars
4/07/02 Brian Movie kicked ass, possibly the best horror/action i've ever seen! 5 stars
4/04/02 Daniel Fuck you if you don' t like it 5 stars
4/04/02 Obi Wan I loved all the action sequences, no matrix ripoffs, good fight scenes! NEXT!!! 4 stars
4/02/02 Titus Poor plot, poor dialogue, unsatisfying action sequences, idiot characters. Frustrating. 2 stars
4/01/02 M. Lloyd More mindlees violence than you can shake a stick at. Get a big tub of popcorn for this one 4 stars
3/31/02 KMG If I wanted low-budget action garbage I would've watched a Stalloner 1 stars
3/28/02 DAN WRIGHT HELLO PLOT WHERE ARE YOU, OH THERE YOU ARE BUT YOUR ALL FULL OF HOLES 1 stars
3/28/02 Janine Lay I love Wesley Snipes, What can I say? I agree, plot sucks but great gore and fights 4 stars
3/27/02 Spyguy2 A nut-filled turd. 2 stars
3/27/02 melissa Blade II was the best movie I've seen in years, it really does the vampires justice 5 stars
3/27/02 malcolm super-violent, choppy story,not as good as the first 2 stars
3/27/02 wintermute I am still cleaning gizz of my movie seat 5 stars
3/25/02 Daedalus Why do my comments get deleted? I want people to know Blade 2 sucks. 2 stars
3/25/02 the Knave Well, other than being a CGI-enhanced repeat of the first movie's plot, it was fun. 4 stars
3/25/02 Roy Smith Violent. Gory. Bring the kids! Why is Whistler alive though? 4 stars
3/25/02 ntwrage It was shit, a big steaming pil of shit. 1 stars
3/24/02 Mike Miller Bad Ass Fucking Sequal to a Bad Ass fucking Movie! 5 stars
3/24/02 Rockitman007 pretty good sequal 4 stars
3/24/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Well, I'm a sucker for vampires, blood, gore and other gross crap. Thoroughly enjoyable. 4 stars
3/24/02 UnkleFukka Peter/Claude...go suck a Canadian dick 5 stars
3/24/02 Peter Very bad! Absolutely ridiculous!!! Another american trash movie! For low I.Q. 1 stars
3/24/02 Claude A piece of shit! 1 stars
3/24/02 Brilanna This was much better than the first one. It was packed with non stop action. 5 stars
3/23/02 john WHO CAN STOP BLADE?!... 5 stars
3/23/02 Mikey Levy I am fat 5 stars
3/23/02 Daedalus Too many tired old plot devices. Action made it only slightly enjoyable at best. 2 stars
3/23/02 The Bomb 69 nice storyline with the mutated vamps, blood and gore is good 4 stars
3/22/02 E unreal movie, just plain fun 5 stars
3/22/02 WorkingClassDog If you are not looking for action stay home. 5 stars
3/22/02 Butterbean The action scenes weren't as impressive, but the storyline is much better! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Mar-2002 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Jul-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast