Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.73

Awesome: 22.39%
Worth A Look: 8.96%
Just Average: 20.9%
Pretty Crappy: 14.93%
Sucks32.84%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Practical Magic
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"Strange and fantastic, and not always in a good way"
3 stars

I enjoy Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman. They both amuse me greatly. And I wasn't expecting much from this flick. Maybe that's why I liked it. It definitely wasn't any huge surprise, but I didn't find myself wanting to throw things at the screen, either.

"Practical Magic" is, simply put, a flick. It has no substance, no weight, like the cotton candy that you buy at a carnival against your better judgement. It's not even necessarily something you like, but you find yourself drawn to it, nonetheless.
Two sisters, both witches, grow up in a small town, learning their craft. One, Sandra Bullock, has very strong powers, but doesn't like to use them. The other, Nicole Kidman, is rather weak, but she has something else on her side- sex appeal. The second runs away to the west coast, and the first falls in love.
That's enough plot to get one started, because it's not too complicated to figure out.
The acting is what you would expect from a flick like this, and the script and direction make it a thoroughly enjoyable piece of cotton candy.

If you watch it, you'll probably like it, just don't rot your teeth because it's not worth that much.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=427&reviewer=130
originally posted: 11/15/99 02:26:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/19/11 pwhite98270 Cute movie Sandra was the star in this one 4 stars
1/18/11 PAUL SHORTT UNSATISFYING ADAPTATION DESPITE LIKEABLE STARS 1 stars
5/24/09 Anonymous Didn't like this movie but wanted to point out that HE TOOK THE KEYS when we went to pee. 1 stars
5/13/08 Sherrie If you have an imagination, hope in love, and love to believe, then you'll love this movie! 5 stars
12/31/06 del You all like to eat your own poop, don't you? 1 stars
10/31/05 jen gray amazing 5 stars
10/31/05 con sauer this has Sandy in it so it/s good 5 stars
1/30/05 Bonnie James I really liked thus film. 5 stars
1/17/05 Paul The actors, story, and music were superb. I've seen it 3-times and would watch it again! 5 stars
11/26/04 Jim Okay witch hijinx. Probably the last time Bullock would get billing over Kidman. 3 stars
7/06/04 Kate Movie was very interesting, would watch again. 5 stars
7/06/04 Ray Watched it a couple of times, great movie 5 stars
7/06/04 Ashley I liked the movie so much, I bought the DVD! 5 stars
7/06/04 Liz The movie was great!!! I think they need a 2nd movie. 5 stars
6/17/04 rebecca loved it 4 stars
2/21/04 LimeLight I actually really love this movie despite the comments made by most of the other reviewers. 4 stars
7/06/02 hilarydsur total crap 1 stars
5/24/02 aadd asadad 5 stars
4/03/02 cat I love this movie, me and my sister watch in all the time together. It's sweet! 5 stars
2/09/02 Shelley Howard Never before thought I could like Nicole Kidman even less than Sandra Bullock! 1 stars
11/11/01 Gracy Lionheart Boring and long...I am glad I wasn't the one who rented it. 1 stars
11/03/01 Hunter SANDRA-BEAUTIFUL Nicole-NO TALENT, TRIES TO HARD! GET A LIFE. 1 stars
10/22/01 Andrew Carden I Couldn't Really Figure Out The Point To This Trash. 1 stars
7/16/01 Josh Tybur Girls not even that hot 2 stars
6/22/01 Justin Cheung Not bad, Sandra and Nicole work pretty well together, good flick 5 stars
6/13/01 Gary Bleurgh... well, Stockard Channing was funny. Kinda. 1 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright This irredeemable piece of faectal matter deserves 2 total craps.. EVERYONE JOIN IN!! 1 stars
2/06/01 CATHERINE JAVIER VERY NICE AND CUTE STORY 5 stars
3/27/00 Richard Wright The worst film I have ever seen. It makes me feel physically sick just thinking about it. 1 stars
3/24/00 Lesley yeh right! 3 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski Are critics just completely eat up with the dumbass??? THIS IS KILLER!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/00 Nice Guy Eddie Bad acting, bad direction... and this is coming from a Bullock and Kidman fan! 1 stars
10/30/99 Lindsey This was kinda a good movie, but certainly not the greatest. 3 stars
9/24/99 JED Not a bad movie confusing but a rather bit charming film. 3 stars
8/16/99 Marshy Mixes too many styles. Kidman annoys, and Bullock sleepwalks thru. If fan of either, see it 2 stars
4/15/99 bizzy eeeewwww. barely like the book. 2 stars
4/09/99 Michael Grimm kidman and Bullock go at it!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/26/99 Rob Mckechnie If it wasn't for horny nicole, i would have fallen asleep in the first 5 minutes. 2 stars
2/20/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! SANDRA BULLOCKS MOVIE,wrong director,Channing/Weist are a waste but worth it,kidman's lost. 4 stars
12/02/98 Kirgo Pointless, confused...but I really liked it, perhaps I have a brain tumor! 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred Does Bullock pick scripts by saying eenie-meenie-miny-moe? Even my date hated this one. 1 stars
11/19/98 evil buffy k, anyone who's read even part of this book would know how hard this movie sucks. 1 stars
11/12/98 Bad Kosh Totally screwed. End of story. 3 stars
10/26/98 Ashley SO Fucking awesome. After that movie I wanted to cast spells too. 5 stars
10/22/98 Jon Dye A fucking chick flick if ever there was one. 1 stars
10/21/98 Negative Creep A movie whereKidman doesnt make me puke Gotta be worth somethin Bullock stilloutclasses her 3 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz This movie was cursed with a confused script and the wrong director. 3 stars
9/28/98 Marty in St.Louis Every witch movie sucks ass 1 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Ugh. Bullock. At least she shows some emotion in this film. Too many subplots. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Oct-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast