Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.56

Awesome: 7.22%
Worth A Look: 20.62%
Just Average: 16.49%
Pretty Crappy31.96%
Sucks: 23.71%

9 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


15 Minutes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bishop

"Could Have Been A TRULY Great Film"
4 stars

15 minutes is ambitious, and "in your face" at the risk of being cliche. Think of it as a hybrid of Se7en and Natural Born Killers. It delves into a scathing indictment of the media's depiction of crime and law enforcement. This film with some tweaking, could have been a lot better, but is still pretty good in it's ambition and pull no punches, high velocity style.

Well, we have DeNiro (Eddie), he gives an uncharacteristically (just kidding) great performance as a famous NYC cop. Ed Burns is an arson investigator whose path tangles with Eddie's when he arrives on the scene of a fire that has been staged to cover up a double homicide. Burns and DeNiro soon begin working as a tandem, in attempt to catch two Eastern European serial killers who have grown accustom to videotaping their attrocities.
Burns again does an excellent job (see Saving Private Ryan) of holding his own with a big time talent, and he and DeNiro have real chemistry together. I myself am anxious to see more Ed Burns roles such as this one, where he is in the limelight, with another great talent or solo.
There is a huge twist in this film that should under no circumstances be revealed. The film keeps moving at a frenzied pace, although this doesn't necessarily hurt it. What does though is the quality of the villians. These two aren't the criminal masterminds that could seem to thrive as they do, although they do function well on many other levels as their M.O. of videotaping their kills in order to become famous becomes a central element of the movie. The film keeps churning, and going well, dwelling deeper into the realm of the media and the legal system as morally bankrupt systems. The film goes off on certain tangents, and cannot sustain its pace. A relationship between Burns and a witness just falls flat, and the nature of some the police work etc. is a bit suspect.
Although I'm ragging on this film, it is still very good. The possibilites of what it COULD HAVE BEEN are simply mind boggling and that is why I'm a little bitter. I'd love to have seen someone like David Fincher get ahold of this one.
Once again, the ambition of this film is simply staggering, it is ballsy and high speed. Burns and DeNiro are great, not to mention Kelsey Grammar as a sleaze bag tabloid TV show host. I was suprised this film garnered as many negative reviews as it did, the writing and directing could have used some fine tuning, but overall it is pretty damn good. I was apathetic about seeing this film, but after watching it I was very suprised and although it was not a total success in what it aspired to achieve, it really went for it and was not a complete failure and is very admirable on those levels.

This film is good overall, with good performances and non-stop action and developing situations. I suggest checking it out and realizing what it could have been if our director had been a little more level headed and fine tuned some things here and there. Still definitely "Worth a Look" however.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4343&reviewer=289
originally posted: 02/16/02 23:08:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell brutal & entertaing 4 stars
7/27/09 Dane Youssef While the themes aren't as radical as they once were, this is still one worth seeing. 4 stars
9/22/08 PAUL SHORTT A MEAN, UGLY EXPLOITATION FILM WITH SOPHOMORIC DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR 1 stars
4/05/07 brent gerald mejia sr. A good one-time-watch movie. 4 stars
3/05/07 Sambadi Atrociously stupid. An unbelievable piece of trash for conservative retards. 1 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan compelling and exciting--gusty guy film 2001,s best film 5 stars
8/30/05 ES This and city by the sea, not De Niro's best roles for sure 3 stars
2/20/05 Captain Craig For people who love sensless violence and weak storylines 3 stars
3/07/04 john bale Some slick action and two suitably nasty villains what more do you need ? 3 stars
3/07/04 Monster W. Kung "Energetic", "interesting". Yeah, right. Sommersby, you suck. 1 stars
6/12/03 Jim Looks like the usual buddy/chase movie, then goes in a different direction 5 stars
6/11/03 your worse goddamn nightmare this movie kicked ass! i loved those two european actors! 4 stars
5/29/03 Ben Critics and reviewers take things too seriously, you guys gotta relax. 4 stars
5/27/03 JoeSco eventful and Burns is good - Look out for Noelle Evans - Shue lookalike and how ! 3 stars
4/16/03 The Mule One of the worst movies I've seen in a long long time (and I've seen some real stinkers) 1 stars
3/21/03 Jack Sommersby Implausible but energetic, interesting stuff. DeNiro's best work since "Heat". 3 stars
3/11/03 Artist Freak Exactly, Chiendog. This movie stole twohours of my life and I want it back! 1 stars
1/22/03 Chiendog Hypocritical-Revels in the same senseless media violence it purports to condemn. 1 stars
1/17/03 Chiendog Uses violence as entertainment to condemn violence as entertainment. Give me a break! 1 stars
6/22/02 Dark Barøn Unfortunatly it represents very well today's tabloid media. 3 stars
6/18/02 7of9 Media will assimilate anything if it's bloody... 3 stars
6/05/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi kick butt!! 5 stars
5/16/02 Kent Between 2 & 3 stars - kept my attention, but nothing special. oh-hum. 3 stars
3/05/02 Monster W. Kung Awful! Must be DeNiro's worst to date. 1 stars
11/11/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) REALLY clever. Fuck all you people. 4 stars
9/03/01 seldom scene burns's character is unbelievable, good for a tv movie 3 stars
8/28/01 davd yeah, Vera was the highlite, the clear blue against all that blood 3 stars
8/22/01 TWODOGS Di Niro is back! 4 stars
8/20/01 Monday Morning Heavy handed but the media satire was way too unsubtle. 4 stars
7/05/01 SeStA it had flaws,but they made the film more interesting, you looked at it from diff angels 5 stars
6/11/01 Mina Oak This film makes to think about something beyond the camera, and the reason. 4 stars
6/06/01 Pierce Lanson Are Americans afreid to accept that this film might just tell it like it is? 5 stars
5/22/01 Archibld This is a great film if you don't like the media. 4 stars
5/20/01 dylan ugly, mean-spirited and totally vacuous as satire 1 stars
5/13/01 Vanessa Clunky, obvious, dated concept and a complete mess. 1 stars
4/07/01 Andrew Deikun Below Average, unoriginal 2 stars
4/03/01 Dave Great entertainment and something to dig the yanks about 5 stars
4/02/01 kohawk not too shabby. 4 stars
3/15/01 ike23 Our society is going to create more people with thismentality;it'ssomeone elsesfault I kill 4 stars
3/13/01 Ashley Morrison I liked this movie b/c of it's faults. It wasn't hard hitting, but it was fun. 4 stars
3/12/01 Megaflix This is one pathetic film, make sure you don't see this 1 stars
3/11/01 poetchuck Good entertainment some interesting surprises 4 stars
3/09/01 jon j Funny and clever with great performances by all 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Mar-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-May-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast