Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.53

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 16.25%
Just Average32.5%
Pretty Crappy: 13.75%
Sucks: 31.25%

7 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Big Momma's House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Vibeseeker

"You just wanna tell Lawrence 'Yo, step off, G.'"
1 stars

Martin Lawrence is the new Eddie Murphy. Follwoing his sidekick performance to Murphy in Life, he's followed the Murphy path all the way. The black cop rountine in Blue Streak matched Beverley Hills Cop, and now it's comic fat bastard time, with Big Momma's House, a virtual homage to Murphy's Nutty Professor.

Like Murphy, Lawerence seems to get unfunnier with every film he does. In Big Momma's House, Lawerence plays FBI agent Malcolm Turner, master of disguise. To catch a brutal bankrobber, they stake out the pad of Big Momma, as the crim's former girlfriend Sherry (Long) is expected there. The plan is threatened when Big Momma leaves town, thus forcing Turner to disguise himself as the town's favourite three-ton granny.

Surprise, surprise, Turner falls in love with Sherry, so he begins a double life which brings back too many bad Mrs Doubtfire memories. In fact, that's what this is. A black Mrs Doubtfire.

Although Lawrence looks the part in his latex fat-suit, the humour is all fat jokes and not particularly funny ones. On paper it should serve up big time frolics, but ultimately the gags are so lame you just wanna tell Lawrence "Yo, step off, G."

Waste your money and your time on this one and you have no grounds for complaint afterwards. You've been warned. - David Michael

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4349&reviewer=251
originally posted: 06/22/01 14:05:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/21/17 morris campbell cute & harmless 3 stars
9/21/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
1/24/08 LA Top film! So funny! 5 stars
4/13/07 emy the movie got a great bang, hilarious worth spending spare time on 4 stars
12/26/06 Charles Tatum Truly a heartbreaking horrible film watching experience 1 stars
8/04/06 Stanley Thai A good sweet funny harmless film. 3 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman It was alright, I could watch it whenever im bored 4 stars
7/21/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! But it was still funny 2 stars
8/19/04 SHARON GABRIEL I WATCH IT WEEKLY 4 stars
8/28/03 Double G a bit lower than average 2 stars
6/30/03 Monster W. Kung Beyond pathetic. If Martin Lawrence's not one of the worst comedians, don't know who is. 1 stars
6/24/03 Big Momma's Underwear This movie kicks arse! But man, Big Momma's arse is some freaky shit! 5 stars
1/01/03 dtdhhhd fhfjjfkjkdsko 3 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Everything about this film blows chunks, Martin Lawrence is god awful. Die Martin Die! 1 stars
7/03/02 Film Dude One of the worst movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/27/02 hilary worth a look- kinda discusting but worth a look 4 stars
5/22/02 Kyle What fucking "Happy Days" part are you talking about?Andrew if I ever meet you, u will die. 1 stars
10/31/01 Andrew Carden The "Happy Days" Scene Was So Funny That I Wet My Pants!!! 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean More corny than funny. I would only rent it to watch Terrence H. looking hot. 3 stars
8/06/01 Joe Zappa Martin Lawrence is a spoiled cry-baby. Read the article in Entertainment Weekly for details 2 stars
3/08/01 Jake And the trailer looked so good..LOL 1 stars
2/05/01 Classicdog Some funny parts, but not enough. 3 stars
2/01/01 Bob Barker Martin Lawrence is an idiot in pantyhose, but a funny idiot 1 stars
10/15/00 Dan Martin Lawrence is on my Hollywood Hate List now. Fucking terrible. I cried with pain. 1 stars
9/29/00 Viking Come back Mrs. Doubtfire. All is forgiven !!! 3 stars
9/13/00 Jenna koch THIS MOVIE IS TOATAL CRAP!!! 1 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Martin Lawrence is the new Step N Fetchit. 1 stars
8/11/00 Klute. Did they even try? 1 stars
8/02/00 k.j.tomko total, tasteless crap 1 stars
6/30/00 Anon E. Muss OK 3 stars
6/19/00 kim boyd I laugh out loud many times. More non-blacks than blacks in the movie. Everyone laughing. 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte see big momma nekkid 3 stars
6/13/00 PJ save for some funny moments, the movie was a piece of shit! uninspired, and moronic 2 stars
6/11/00 FilmStar This was retarded 2 stars
6/08/00 Clarance If you are looking to lighten up your day!! dang this is the movie for you!!! HILARIOUS!! 4 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez Blak guys are verry funny ( I`m not racist) pretty good 4 stars
6/04/00 Mhack Whack Diggity Dog So horribly excruciating. Just as awful as Nutty Professor & Mrs. Doubtfire 1 stars
6/02/00 toneely This movie is Silly. I did laugh a lot.It was really fun to watch 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Sep-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast