Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 8.46%
Worth A Look: 10.77%
Just Average36.15%
Pretty Crappy: 30.77%
Sucks: 13.85%

12 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Bedazzled (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Clint Morris

"Sometime's it's best not to take second stabs"
2 stars

Sure, "Bedazzled" is light-weight and appealing enough, but it's hardly something I would want to hand over much of the green stuff for. Having said that maybe I'm not assessing this film for what it is, a no-brainer, goofy comedy. It definetly delivers in those stakes, and it's quite funny, but most of the funny scenes you will already have seen in the trailer.

For what it's worth, the movie keeps you watching though, if
only for wonderful, dumbfounded talent of comedy wiz, Brendan
Fraser. Fraser can play it dumb sensationally, take "Blast
from the Past", "Encino Man" and the hit, "George of the
Jungle".
This time, Fraser headlines a remake of an old Dudley Moore
and Peter Cook comedy. He is the young boring computer geek
of the flick, whose dream of getting the woman of his dreams,
Alison (Aussie, Frances O'Connor) may be only a soul or two
away. That's right, the devil turns up (Hurley) and offers
the young hopeless romantic a deal. She gets his soul in
exchange for 7 wishes, all of which, predictably, turn awry.
I assume that you too have already guessed the whole moral
of the story, and that probably means we have seen this too
many times before.
Directing is Harold Ramis, the guy who is responsible for
many hit-and-misses, including "Caddyshack" and "Groundhog
Day".
Brendan Fraser fans should get a real kick out of this movie,
because he is, as always, really funny in it. Those who
can't stand the voice of Liz Hurley, look elsewhere. On
the whole, pretty run of the mill.

Didn't 'Dazzle' me much

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4351&reviewer=238
originally posted: 12/13/00 01:52:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/03/10 brian Dreadful. Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Fraser needs direction; Ramis can't deliver. 1 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt there were some funny parts, Brendan Fraser is always great! 3 stars
6/06/08 PAUL SHORTT A CUTE AND CLEVER, GOOD VS EVIL PARABLE 3 stars
6/23/07 DonnyM Brendon does a great job of proving he is a good actor. 3 stars
1/29/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
3/15/05 Jeff Anderson Some funny parts, but I enjoyed the original Dudley Moore/Peter Cook version much better! 3 stars
12/01/04 Katarina Pretty Good, But Some Parts dont really fit 3 stars
8/16/04 Herolder A lot of fun 4 stars
6/18/04 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
5/06/04 greater good a well balenced movie 5 stars
4/10/04 alpine liz hurley is the most gorgeous sexy woman ever born and how or bad the film is does not ma 5 stars
4/06/04 archangeljen It was just alright, I laughed at a few things. 3 stars
2/10/04 jessica it was anazing. 5 stars
12/08/03 Amanda Locker Harold Ramis is amazing! Don't ever insult him! He is great! 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston You missed it, should of had a hit of so,e fine Humboldt organic. 3 stars
2/17/03 Mitsaso For Harley's sake... 4 stars
11/25/02 bree awesome and funny 5 stars
8/26/02 Dickles McSquick It's...bonertime! 5 stars
8/11/02 Grayyy It's cute watching Liz try her best, but the whole thing still blows 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well...ill go with my rating...pretty bad 2 stars
5/13/02 Danielle Ophelia Elizabeth Hurley's contract with Satan stated she had to play him at least once, I think. 1 stars
4/04/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Elizabeth Hurley always seems to get rotten roles. So why not the devil herself? ~Works. 4 stars
3/02/02 Chowie I'll have to see it again before I can make an educated decision, but from what i remember- 2 stars
1/15/02 David A. Not very exciting--I can't remember anything funny about it. 3 stars
1/13/02 Flick Chick ho-hum zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
1/07/02 Andrew Carden OK Comedy. Unfunny, but Amusing. Kills Time. 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean HurleAn average comedy with a great message at the end to all religious zealots 4 stars
8/09/01 chouck all those skimpy outfits and this still sucked 2 stars
7/24/01 Suzanne It was funny at times but overall pretty stooopid 2 stars
7/15/01 Nazi dad Great comedy! Brendan Fraser's a riot! 5 stars
6/08/01 Turtle A bit stupid at times, but Harold Ramis can make any movie great. 4 stars
4/09/01 arnold schwaznaggar uuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrggggggggggggghhh! ugh! plz only watch my movies!!! 1 stars
3/30/01 Jesse L If Hurley got naked it would be worth a look.. 1 stars
3/08/01 The Evil Penguin sensitve, athletic, smart, or creative? YIKES!!!! 4 stars
2/18/01 Avenger Girl Liz makes a great devil, wearing many sexy outfits that would tempt any hotblooded male 3 stars
2/02/01 Pierce Lanson Saw it in full theatre,young audience, five laughs.Pathetic. 2 stars
1/29/01 jasmin its very nice movie 3 stars
1/28/01 hum eh, no big deal, just a mildly amusing easy film. doesnt help that hurley cant act 3 stars
1/24/01 Paul "I am a Columbian drug lord! Ha! Ha! Ha! I can't stop laughing! 5 stars
1/05/01 Emily i though brendan showed good comic acting, but the movie stunk. 3 stars
12/18/00 Joe Cool Yes, It does blow, but the chick looks Good!! 5 stars
12/18/00 Paulsj If you want dum fun, check it out but don`t expect too much 3 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate You should be watching porn films,you must have a permanent boner on. 3 stars
11/06/00 TruckGirl Pretty FLAT. 2 stars
10/30/00 Philm Phreak Brendan's good, Hurley's a babe, movie's WEAK! 3 stars
10/28/00 YOUR Movie Expert It's Analyze This meets Beetlejuice.....Very funny, but no Caddyshack, Vacation, etc. 5 stars
10/27/00 extar-bags It's not the original, but its not bad. Don't be so hard on it. 3 stars
10/27/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Rent the original, its funnier and way classier. Hurley crosses SAG picket lines, FUCK HER 1 stars
10/25/00 bart Lame with a few laughs. Elizabeth Hurley acting lessons from Joan Collins. 3 stars
10/23/00 Frode! Many funny moments, has an uneven ending 4 stars
10/22/00 fishie so so, the acting makes the movie far better. 3 stars
10/22/00 Daedalus Story and acting were weak, but overall better than most of the crap out there. 3 stars
10/22/00 Ground Zero Like Great Scott! said, suprisingly lazy, predictable and uninteresting 2 stars
10/22/00 Ken Kopin If you like "Deal with the Devil" movies, this one is great. Too short, tho. 4 stars
10/22/00 Dan Forget Affleck, Fraser is the new king of Hollywood. 5 stars
10/20/00 Pandora Mildly entertaining; the lesson in trite morality at the end was unnecessary 3 stars
10/20/00 Stuntman Hurley is great. The 2000 remake of the classic movie is badly done and terribly directed. 2 stars
10/19/00 Dan Fraser is devoid of charisma, but Hurley is surprisingly likeable. The movie is hollow tho. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast