Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome58.46%
Worth A Look: 38.46%
Just Average: 2.05%
Pretty Crappy: 0.51%
Sucks: 0.51%

18 reviews, 87 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Election (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Wendell Walker

"A nonstop cringefest"
4 stars

Teen comedies are a dime a dozen. Movies "with attitude" are a dime a dozen, as is anything dubbed "subversive". But movies in which the laughs are really more like a strangled cry of recognition are more rare. Enter "Election".

Do we really need another movie that lays bare the festering swamp that is adolescence and high school in America? Well, yeah, in fact we do, and the movie is "Election." The mechanics: Reese Witherspoon plays Tracy Flick, chirpy class superachiever who sets her relentless sights on the student body presidency of a high school where Matthew Broderick teaches. He becomes obsessed with her and her candidacy, not only because she helped bring down his best friend but because his own life is so flat.

I kept marvelling at how many facial muscles Reese Witherspoon finds to twitch. I realized all over again how nobody does incredulous like Matthew Broderick.

It's pretty brave to try and mine territory this familiar, but this movie brings such a gift for the unexpected, and such a sharp eye for observation that you give in out of sheer respect. I laughed just because the principal looks EXACTLY like a high school principal. I laughed when Tracy and her (adult) lover made goo-goo eyes sharing a can of Diet Mug Root Beer. I laughed because this movie is so sure-footed walking the always-hazardous path between twisted and true. Broderick's character is obsessed with Witherspoon's, but it doesn't come any closer to being acted out than a few tense encounters over other matters; but sure as hell, he's on a slippery slope to oblivion within minutes. This is one of those movies where the only decent response is to cringe, because we see someone we sort of like doing things that are going to destroy him, and especially because it's so easy to imagine ourselves doing the same godforesaken things.

Honest to God, it's the Anti-Summer Movie.

After Election, there's only one thing for it. Get Reese Witherspoon and Christina Ricci for a remake of The Women. Where do I go to stand in line for THAT one?

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=438&reviewer=82
originally posted: 06/01/99 17:20:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/17 morris campbell funny satire on high school 4 stars
3/30/17 Blake Patterson Alexander Payne wrote Election with furious hilarity and dark passion. 5 stars
4/26/16 Ken Pretty funny. Matthew Broderick was great in this film. 4 stars
5/21/15 David Hollingsworth A savagely funny satire that hits like darts 5 stars
11/21/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/03/07 Alan "Slap, then screw" -- is that how you relate to the female sex? 5 stars
10/02/06 Rob It should be said that the wardrobes and 'makeup' in this movie are subtly awesome. 4 stars
9/18/06 MP Bartley Genuinely brilliant. Witherspoon and Broderick are outstanding. 5 stars
2/25/06 Clubber Lang Watchable, but never really engaging. Too many characters, needed more focus. 3 stars
9/06/05 ALDO chris klein is perfect 4 stars
5/25/05 Jake Hilarious! 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold Surprisingly good, almost bizarrely good. 5 stars
12/07/03 Samuel A very funny film!! 4 stars
11/26/03 he a great film 5 stars
11/23/03 E. Best line "her pussy gets so wet" 5 stars
11/05/03 M. Suvajac an extraordinary film 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston Broderick clothes (those shirts & ties) are perfect for the fat ass dufess he plays. 5 stars
9/24/03 ILLEGALLY BLONDE The only time Reese Witherspoon ever shined; too bad it's in an overall groaner 3 stars
7/26/03 robert buizer great laugh 5 stars
4/03/03 Jack Sommersby Smart and hilariously human. Broderick and Witherspoon are outstanding. 4 stars
12/08/02 Kyle One of the greatest films I've ever seen. I don't say that lightly. 5 stars
11/02/02 Steve Kaczynski One of the last US films of the 20th century that I would call great.. 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum This sucks as bad as "Rushmore" 1 stars
8/24/02 movie guy great 5 stars
6/11/02 Millie Maelstrom Better, Kakararaniniginjia (though I was hoping for some groovy role for those enzymes!) 3 stars
5/14/02 Kakararaniniginjia Sinitraviwasanjofraz Fails urgent need of good support cast around brilliance of Reese Witherspoon's zany dliver 3 stars
3/07/02 Mo Anand A very funny movie...Matthew was better in "ferris bueller"...but still good 4 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx -The Raven-Haired Temptress ELECTION deserves more credit and attention than it has received. Too bad really, good film 4 stars
3/01/02 Unagiboy Pick Flick! Witherspoon was brilliant. I loved the tribal chant music in her mind. 5 stars
2/25/02 Obi Wan Great Movie...MTv should make more flicks like this!! Instead of their PC garbage!! 5 stars
2/02/02 Allison Lafferty Reese Witherspoon's best movie (not saying much). She must really be that silly. 2 stars
1/23/02 John Wilner Note that Tracy signs her name with a star over the i in Flick. Rich detail throughout! 5 stars
11/15/01 John This deserved at least one Oscar 5 stars
11/12/01 Jake Not too shabby. 4 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden This Movie Was So Funny and Reese Was The Greatest Thing Ever! 5 stars
10/29/01 Gary Witty, subtle, well written and Reese Witherspoon is a star in the making. 5 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Ferris Bueller's principal is avenged. Definantly an awesome flick! Reese rocked! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Insanely original. Broderick's best since Ferris Bueller. I loved it. 5 stars
7/23/01 bobbuttons This movie is so great. "Fuck me, Mr. M. Fuck me now" is the greatest line. 5 stars
6/10/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Great characters. Not too funny, but if this movie's trying to be evil, it succeeds 4 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Yes, yes, ya'll! Me rikee!! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary I saw it for the first time last night, and I loved it. Great flick! 5 stars
4/08/01 Will Y. it takes time to understand a lot of the underlying meaning about sexuality, but it's great 4 stars
2/06/01 Trashstar Witty, sharp, dark and very very funny. Reese shines as does Matthew. 5 stars
10/15/00 Dimmer Itch Reese proves she's better at any Sandras, Camerons or Heathers at comic acting. Fantastic. 4 stars
10/08/00 BirdBrain Very funny, if you pay attention to it. So if you're a dumbass Armageddon fan, stay away. 4 stars
7/12/00 Tom Wonderful dark comedy. Vote for Tracy Flick!!!!! 5 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Very different and funny.Reese is great 4 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Best comedy I've seen in a long time; reese and matthew are perfect! 5 stars
6/02/00 Add A very good movie with some outstanding performances but just not as funny as i'd of liked. 4 stars
5/07/00 Stan Mador BEST MOVIE IVE SEEN! 5 stars
4/28/00 The Bomb 69 to intelligent for most people and that's unfortunate, great movie!!! 5 stars
4/24/00 Brian Engen The special effects were awesome!! 5 stars
2/20/00 arnold extremely funny 5 stars
2/14/00 Germanicus Good acting, a few funny bits, nice story and snappy editing but infinitely overrated. 4 stars
2/05/00 Kyle Broflovski A teenage girl in pursuit of something besides Prom Prince Charming?? PINCH ME!!! :-) 5 stars
1/26/00 Joel Harwood WHAT A FILM 5 stars
1/18/00 bullit17 Clever. Funny. Thought-provoking. Sure to remind you of high school and some kids you knew 4 stars
1/16/00 Will not to be too wordy, but all I have to say is "cool". 4 stars
11/29/99 Mic Sharp and hilarious - shows Drop Dead Gorgeous how it should be done 5 stars
11/08/99 Mark Linkson Broderick finally acts his age, Witherspoon excellent as usual, a very clever satire 4 stars
10/18/99 Tfer One of the best this year! 5 stars
8/22/99 Michael Grimm too well written for most retards watching movies nowadays, anyone with a brain loves it 5 stars
8/01/99 Jeff Hilarious and intelligent. Great acting. A should-be Best Picture nominee 5 stars
7/27/99 David Gilmour Definitely the best film of the Year, SO Far;7/99 5 stars
7/09/99 bridgette awesome. 5 stars
7/08/99 Ann Great! It's about time someone exposed the truths behind a 'little miss perfect' 5 stars
6/29/99 PhilmPhreak A welcome break from weak-ass summer flicks. 5 stars
6/29/99 Dave Rad as 5 stars
6/23/99 Tim best movie i've seen this year 5 stars
6/18/99 Michael Lewis Best film I,ve seen this year. Intelegent, well written and funny! 5 stars
6/14/99 David Really funny, and probably like nothing you've seen before, not even Rushmore. 5 stars
6/04/99 Lisa Sick and wrong on so many levels--I loved it! 5 stars
6/03/99 Mel I haven't felt this guilty laughing at a movie in a long time.... 5 stars
6/03/99 The Graduate A hilarous movie, heavy on the cruelty. Sometimes those perfectionist have to pay. 5 stars
5/27/99 pipeman If you like your humor dark, you'll love this. Great flick! 5 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Got to be a little jaded. Type A students won't get it. Heathers is still better. 4 stars
5/25/99 Freyja Smart and FUNNY! 5 stars
5/22/99 bridgette loved it! i usually am not a reese fan, but she was great. 5 stars
5/20/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I won't say fuck Star Wars, but I'd rather see this a third time over that one... 5 stars
5/17/99 David K Fuck Star Wars 5 stars
5/10/99 Malbert It was great 5 stars
5/10/99 Katie Definately a great one, love the dark humor. 5 stars
5/07/99 BraveFan Richly satisfying - witty and engaging - saw it twice 5 stars
4/25/99 kam it'was ok 4 stars
4/25/99 Mr Showbiz A feralessly dark and funny adult comedy. 5 stars
4/11/99 the DUDE Matthew Brodrick is great-Fucking funny 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Apr-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Oct-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast