Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.98

Awesome: 5.77%
Worth A Look: 21.15%
Just Average50%
Pretty Crappy: 11.54%
Sucks: 11.54%

3 reviews, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Siege, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ophelia13

"When did predictability become a good thing?"
3 stars

There is so little in "The Siege" that I didn't see coming. It was all so organized, so meticulously potted that in their attempt for plausibility they lost the suspense that could have so benefited this movie.

It is obvious that subtlety is not applied in this movie...in fact, I doubt if it really understands the meaning of the word. However, you want to like it. You really, really do. And you kind of can, if you just let yourself. The acting is good enough to make you want to believe, and if the script wasn't so blatant perhaps the process would be easier.
It's an interesting story. An Arab militia group is terrorizing the city, and Denzel Washington, his partner Tony Shalhoub (who is one of the great character actors of the decade)and the enigmatic Annette Bening are brought in to help. Okay, so Annette Bening isn't brought in, she just kind of ingratiates herself into the operation, becoming a sort of fixture. Soon, it escalates out of their hands, and Bruce Willis (who'd have ever thought he could play a *tough* guy?) is a General on the scene to institute Martial Law. The nearest Football stadiums become gulags for 14-40 year old Arab males. Some torture, a little murder, and very little progress ensues before Denzel Washington tells the General that his actions are unconstitutional.
An interesting story doesn't necessarily make a good movie, though. It doesn't even seem to try to be more than it is, which would have possibly made it endearing. It just...is.

I didn't tell you anything here that you shouldn't be able to figure out, unless you force yourself to be gullible. In which case, can you tell me how to do that so I can really enjoy movies like this?

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=442&reviewer=130
originally posted: 11/15/99 01:50:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/14/13 Monday Morning You sanctimonious pricks. 3 stars
6/05/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE, WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
8/28/08 Shaun Wallner Intense Action!!! 5 stars
1/31/07 Matt Predictable but suddenly much more relevant since 9/11. Willis is, well, Willis. 3 stars
8/15/06 drydock54321 not worth renting 3 stars
10/22/05 Jack Unreal, stupid portrayal of the military 3 stars
5/04/05 Holibeve C. Suarez its good, very exciting 3 stars
3/31/04 john more timely than it is comfortable for most as reviews indicate - intelligent thriller 5 stars
10/24/03 Wendy Carpenter Probably Annette Bening's best performance; Bruce Willis is better at playing heroes. 4 stars
6/03/02 R.W. Welch Potentially interesting material muddled up; casting not the greatest, uncredible ending. 2 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Waste of time 2 stars
10/29/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) It was too serious. That's another rule of mine. Can't be too goddamn serious. 2 stars
9/13/01 Erik North Take a look at your television set, people!!!! 4 stars
8/18/01 Edwin Menguin Made me feel sick, truly fuckin' horrible 1 stars
5/21/01 Monster W. Kung Definitely not worth paying for it. 2 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Hmmm...possibly the most average film I've ever seen 3 stars
12/04/99 Eric S. For a movie that's trying to be a big film event, it feels more like a tv movie. 2 stars
3/10/99 Go Swans Why hire the actor who spoilt 5th Element, Armageddon, Death Becomes Her? It sucked. 2 stars
1/20/99 Captain Confederacy (Lucasst@hotmail.com) Okay, but it could have been LOADS better. Why EXACTLY was Bruce Willis in that movie? 3 stars
1/15/99 Scott Weber I didn't like this movie that much. It was slow and long. 3 stars
1/11/99 cynthia i never snored more !!!!! 1 stars
12/24/98 Binky Very disappointing. 1 stars
12/10/98 George Morgan Bruce Willis takes home another $15,000,000 paycheck. The rest of us just go home. 3 stars
12/06/98 cyanide rush this movie sucked, it dragged on like damn end already 1 stars
12/02/98 superkip starts good, ends very lame 3 stars
11/26/98 Scott Awesome movie, any political buff would love the implications 5 stars
11/24/98 Bridgette not bad for an action flick. much better than expected. bruce willis has got to go. 4 stars
11/23/98 Jumbles Solid thriller without a payoff to match its potential. Bening is very good. 3 stars
11/18/98 JustMe Pretty good, suspenseful in some spots but no real tension at the end 3 stars
11/09/98 Gamma Overall good movie... could have been better. Ending was kinda cheesy. 4 stars
11/07/98 Cage Impressive... Moving... I can't say enough... Denzel was awesome.. LOVED IT!!! 4 stars
11/06/98 Miss Stress bruce willis was in this movie a total of about 20 min. and it still sucked. geez bruce. 1 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons Overall, not a bad movie, but not the best either. 3 stars
8/27/98 Mister Whoopee Another terrible Bruce Willis film. Boring cack. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast