Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.2

Awesome31.88%
Worth A Look: 15.94%
Just Average: 20.29%
Pretty Crappy: 4.35%
Sucks: 27.54%

2 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Black Christmas (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Richard Jewell by Peter Sobczynski

Dachra by Jay Seaver

Little Joe (2019) by Jay Seaver

Knives and Skin by Jay Seaver

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shriek If You Know What I Did Last Friday the 13th
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Silly Movie"
3 stars

This straight to video parody of all the recent slasher films seems to have been a victim of bad timing, not bad film making.

The makers of "Scary Movie" went for the gross humor, while "Shriek" plumbs the same depths but not as revoltingly.

You know the drill (so to speak), a few high schoolers are murdered one by one by a madman at their school. The moxie crew identifies the killer.

There are scenes here that really had some funny moments. The opening murder here is funnier than the one in "Scary Movie." The chase around the kitchen island, the interrupting phone call, the killer lighting the cigarette, all funny. The school where this is set (Bulimia Falls High) is also funnier. The classroom doors have signs on them, and you hear very funny sounds coming from the rooms, i.e. "Sieg Heil!" from the German Club room. The background features the killer picking off whomever is standing there while in the foreground, our heroes worry that the victims are popular and white, like them. Funny cameos are also included from Shirley Jones and Mink Stole, and the final unmasking scene is a riot.

The only problem here is that the Zucker Brothers-type humor is wearing thin. It has been wearing thin for almost twenty years now. There are good ideas here, like how to survive a parody, and a pop-up video chase, but the bloom is off the comedic rose.

I recommend "Shriek...," but I give it the same recommendation that I gave "Scary Movie," with reservations.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4536&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/28/03 23:39:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/09 samuel cU3DoH odfBxZakGhH3v96M2Qsk 3 stars
10/04/08 blarginbadigalnohif i love this movie!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/08/07 art AWFUL 1 stars
9/03/07 Melissa these horror spoofs are good for laughs! 4 stars
1/03/06 cody a scary movie ripoff with few laughs, l saw yesterday in movie ben for $5.50 * 1 stars
8/03/05 ^podo vciy 5 stars
5/26/05 tony this movie should be burned. ITS SO POINTLESS AND SHIT 1 stars
1/30/05 Kusand This movie was awful! How could anyone rate it decently? 1 stars
12/08/04 Kristina Williams dumb 1 stars
8/11/04 Francy Really funny and not as predictable as other rip-off scary movies 5 stars
3/23/04 Cheapmoviehater This scary movie wannabe is absolute crap! 1 stars
10/07/03 Double G Pretty retarded, but funny. Was this straight to DVD or something? 3 stars
9/30/03 horror_blood Pretty retarded, but funny. Was this straight to DVD or something? 3 stars
9/22/03 Marie Laidler Brilliant, and classy in it's own comparison. 5 stars
9/16/03 Samuel Justus Funny! , yet a lil retarded... 3 stars
2/28/03 MOVIE LOVER THIS MOVIE SUCKS MORE DICK THEN YOUR MOM 1 stars
2/19/03 Dave Cheap rip off of the hilarious and underrated Scary Movie. 2 stars
1/26/03 Andres Bayona Excelent 100000000000000000000000 times better than scary movie!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum As funny as "Scary Movie," which ain't saying much 3 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well.....it's no scary movie, and wat's with boner.....but ok overall 3 stars
4/29/02 Monster W. Kung Not very funny at all. 2 stars
4/22/02 Kyle DIEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/30/02 Film Dude WHAT THE FUCK?! DID DRUG REHAB WRITE THIS OR SOMETHING?! 1 stars
3/10/02 Allan Bray Really funny movie, video version is rated R, but its not as gross as Scary Movie. 5 stars
3/09/02 Chowie there were a few laughs in this but scary movie pisses all over it 3 stars
3/03/02 ashley i think that the movie was awsome 5 stars
2/14/02 Eddie Gamez Really Funny 5 stars
1/16/02 Hagatha All i have to say is Chop Chop you fat red bastard 5 stars
1/14/02 Ai.SuK trully amazing masterpiece, nowhere near leslie nielson style comedy, but i nice try 5 stars
1/01/02 zimka The worst of the spoofs! 1 stars
12/31/01 Cookie Cutter Even worst than I predicted. 1 stars
12/31/01 Monster W. Kung Pathetic piece of crap that never brings any laugh. Looks low-budget but wasn't. 1 stars
11/20/01 Brian Jacobson one of the funniest movies I have ener seen in my life! 5 stars
9/29/01 MR AARDVARK The best thing was turning it off 1 stars
9/15/01 Mr. Hat Sometimes HILARIOUS, sometimes really stupid. 3 stars
9/10/01 RT AMAZINGLY FUNNY MOVIE 5 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone funny?you got to be kidding."Scary Movie" was enough! 1 stars
8/06/01 ted v. why does Tom Arnold star in some of the WORST films Hollywood has to offer? 2 stars
7/06/01 King Jackass Ugh! For once, I agree with Andrew. Stay away from this movie. 1 stars
7/04/01 donald almost as good as scary movie 4 stars
6/19/01 Dylan I loved the fact that it was clever through the whole thing. I give it 2 thumbs way up! 5 stars
5/19/01 kingjackass222 your all friggin crazy! this movie sucked! WORST MOVIE EVER!!!! 1 stars
4/29/01 Bloody Utter bollocks. 1 stars
4/14/01 Mark G it was a great and funny movie that made me laugh my ass off through the whole thing 5 stars
4/13/01 LiL Just as funny and cool as Scary Movie was 5 stars
4/01/01 randiiii I rented it thinking it would suck, but it was actually more cleaver than Scary Movie. 4 stars
3/02/01 Robert Altman Hits the target 1 stars
2/28/01 HARDING This movie is amazing. It was actually completed long before Scary Movie and much funnier. 5 stars
2/26/01 Willow I love this movie, it is so funny 5 stars
2/24/01 Ryan FUCKING IT 5 stars
12/24/00 BrandenMichael A great and very funny movie, if you like scary movie u will like this, i love it!!!!! :) 5 stars
12/21/00 Michelle Laughed all the way. 20 sec into the movie, I realized I should have been taping it! 5 stars
11/27/00 Andrew Kincaid "Shriek" kicks butt! It's not as funny as Scary Movie, but it really's funny. 5 stars
11/19/00 Mitchell Daniel Rector If Tiffany Thiessen gets naked then its cool but i heard she didnt so...... 1 stars
10/27/00 Clarance Fuckin hilarious...if u liked scary movie u'll love this! 4 stars
10/23/00 Evil Twin Just as crude + idiotic as Scary Movie, but a lighter, less depressing tone. Go Tom Arnold! 5 stars
10/19/00 TheRock It was actually pretty good for a TV movie...think Scary movie with no R rated stuff 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Oct-2000 (R)
  DVD: 27-Feb-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Blanchard

Written by
  Sue Bailey
  Joe Nelms

Cast
  Tiffani-Amber Thiessen
  Tom Arnold
  Shirley Jones
  Coolio
  Kim Griest
  Jimmie Walker



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast