Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.14

Awesome: 18.75%
Worth A Look: 14.06%
Just Average: 31.25%
Pretty Crappy34.38%
Sucks: 1.56%

5 reviews, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Men of Honor
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Clint Morris

"'You Splashing me? I said you splashing me?"
3 stars

Like the recent, Legend of Bagger Vance, "Men of Honor" is a highly ambitious movie, but unfortunately, probably gets knocked down a spot or two into that 'good movie' territory. It just has it's minor probs, plot holes etc - and that's probably what keeps it from being something great.

"Men of Honor" is a damn fine watch,
especially when compared to some of the other military dramas
of late, notably the hokey Rules of Engagement.
Known as 'Navy Diver' throughout production, this film is
exactly about that, a 'Navy Diver'. Cuba Gooding Jr plays
real-life character, Carl Brashear, who becomes the first
ever black Navy Diver. The film concentrate's on Brashear's
determination to become the best, and his run-ins with his
fellow divers, seniors who don't want to pass him and tough
as nails, cheif Billy Sunday (De Niro).
Predictably, against all odds, Carl shows them all - but it
comes at a price, but this is when an old foe, Sunday, steps
in to make up for his predjudice and jealousy.
Not a bad movie at all actually. Might have just needed a
splash of editing or gloss somewhere in there though.
It's definetly a performance movie. De Niro is a knockout,
as always, as Sunday. A real character.
Cuba is also quite good as Brashear, with Charlize Theron in
a very small, but pivotal role, as Sunday's wife.
Among the other players is David Conrad, as nasty as can be.
You may recall him as Agent Pierce in episodes of "Roswell", and
Joshua Leonard, best remembered as Josh from "The Blair
Witch Project".

De Niro is the jewel of the film, and had this film been handled a little more effectively, it could have been something to watch out for come Oscar Time.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4573&reviewer=238
originally posted: 12/13/00 01:42:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/18/19 Dan This is the worst review I have ever read. Maybe you should go chat with some real ND's 4 stars
12/21/14 brian pardoe Ridicuolous review you've given. Inspired by a true story - it doesn't need novelty 5 stars
11/11/09 cuba gooding jr my fav movie of all time 5 stars
11/01/09 tinr29 nice but its too melodramatic 2 stars
10/12/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
9/30/06 Tamara D. Leonard Awesome movie. One of my favorites. I can watch it over and over, never tiring of it. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES boring, uninspired blah, two hours I want back 2 stars
8/03/05 rosalyn its was so nice movie 4 stars
5/21/05 Elizabeth should Talk about hate 3 stars
4/05/05 Ronin A good movie indeed 4 stars
10/13/04 sidhant petwal its a movie which inspires to be the best, to give the best in you and never give up 4 stars
8/24/04 Collins Shiri It is worth watching over and over again. The viewer gets emotionally involved to a large e 5 stars
4/20/04 Kayla Walkom This was an awesome movie. The first time that I watched it it blew me away. 5 stars
4/19/04 raquel i thought this movie was a great movie and shows that if u work hard u can acheive anything 5 stars
10/12/03 John Bale Predictable well worn territory not saved by hard working actors. 3 stars
8/08/03 Sylvanna It wa a great film. 5 stars
8/04/03 Andrew Minor Minor Flaws, Brillant film 5 stars
7/03/03 R.W. Welch Obviously hyped for dramatic effect but a basically a strong story. A bit strung strong out 3 stars
6/09/03 Jack Bourbon I couldn't believe I was renting it. I was shocked to actually enjoy it. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Unexpectedly winning and touching. The two stars really shine here. 4 stars
2/17/03 Joesco Forget the cynics - Brashear is a hero and De Niro & Gooding are brilliant 5 stars
12/20/02 palaboy101 triumph in the face of adversity 5 stars
12/16/02 Panu Peiponen pretty awesome 5 stars
1/07/02 Andrew Carden Tries To Be As Serious As Meant To Be, but Fails. 2 stars
11/26/01 malcolm a bit melodramatic but very good. an emotional film. 4 stars
11/14/01 phil m. afficiando Comic book version of what was a compelling story in real life; too much baloney. 3 stars
4/20/01 Monday Morning If it wasn't a true story I'd think it was too hokey...but hell, let's be nice for once. 4 stars
2/10/01 JUNE PRETTY GOOD BUT NOT BEST 3 stars
12/13/00 Jules Predictable, but moderately entertaining. 3 stars
12/09/00 vessejoigt Good flick 4 stars
11/20/00 Tdis72 Not as bad as I thought it was gonna be, but not great either! 3 stars
11/12/00 poetchuck No cliches left for any other film to use this season 2 stars
11/12/00 Jojo The Idiot Circus Boy I've seen one legged porn with more plot then this. 1 stars
11/11/00 kohawk ending of movie was a wanna-be Scent of a Woman.Pretty crappy? pretty corny. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Nov-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Feb-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast