Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome: 31.25%
Worth A Look38.75%
Just Average: 21.25%
Pretty Crappy: 7.5%
Sucks: 1.25%

13 reviews, 82 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Blow
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by LitzaMo

"Man, it must suck to be Jung's daughter!"
3 stars

Not the psychologist, you putz. George Jung was a for-real pot and coke dealer in the late 60s and through the 70s. He got pretty screwed over in the deal, though, and though the movie is predictable it's not anyone's fault except the people who lived it in the first place.

So my favorite part of the movie came in two parts. First, when George starts heavily dealing cocaine and there's BOXES of cash lying around. As in, they don't have room for it anymore in a largish office. I was duly impressed, but far more so by the unbelievable amounts of pot scattered through the first 45 minutes of the movie. I went to see Blow with a friend who's a pretty considerable smoker and he about lost it on the first large bag that Tuna (what an awesome name!) tosses across the screen. The Mexican scenes got him even worse. There was also, at one point, a quick shot of a Shelby at the big house that George eventually moves into. (If you know, you know. If not, don't worry.)

I went into Blow expecting another Traffic, but Blow's single storyline ended that expectation quickly. The main difference was, for me, the almost farcical tone. Blow felt like a cartoon for the DARE program: "This is what happens to bad boys who deal drugs instead of getting a REAL job. You might start out with a pretty wife, a big house, and $30 million in the bank, but watch out for the Panamanian government nationalizing the banks and those pesky old contacts that screw you over the first chance they get!" I really did feel sorry for George by the end of the movie. The only decent woman that was ever a part of his life died at an absurdly young age. His mother busted him to the cops and his wife was a raving lunatic, leading his daughter to totally lose faith in him. Ray Liotta as the father did a really fine job. I was impressed. It almost made up for getting his brain stir-fried in Hannibal. Almost.

I liked Blow, but it fled from my mind very quickly. Unlike Traffic, which stuck around in my brain for a week or so, I had to really think about what movie I saw last Friday to review. It's hard for me to put a finger on it, but I assume that too much else went on that we never know about as moviegoers for us to get deep into characters. Blow skims over the top of a very deep story.

I liked Blow, but it's not necessarily a big-screen movie. As in, don't bother spending the $7.50 to get into the theater. Wait till video.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4720&reviewer=222
originally posted: 04/25/01 12:18:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell gritty but nothing special 3 stars
9/03/14 Celeste Garcia This movie was beyond the best. 5 stars
4/05/14 PAUL SHORTT UNINVOLVING BIOPIC DESPITE A GREAT STAR PERFORMANCE 2 stars
7/11/13 Jeff Wilder Derivative sure. But well-directed and fantastic performances from Depp and Liotta. 4 stars
11/11/10 Lundon johnny depp is amazing no matter what movie he does and blow makes you feel like your there 4 stars
4/02/08 Tiffanie I loved this movie! Its prolly one of the best by far 5 stars
1/04/08 Pamela White drug dealing and the paranoic life they lead 3 stars
12/09/07 SamanthaP johnny depp is good in anything! 4 stars
11/12/07 Ashley i love this movie very sad 5 stars
10/07/07 KNurse I have watched this movie several times.....awesome fucking movie 5 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman I loved this movie! i watched it 10 times 5 stars
12/18/05 Bree Outstanding all around. 5 stars
11/30/05 john smith it is ok 3 stars
11/21/05 Emily I can watch this movie over and over 5 stars
11/20/05 ad excellent 5 stars
10/30/05 Stephanie This is my favorite movie! 5 stars
9/14/05 shawn great fucking movie 5 stars
8/03/05 D.K. great cast, good grasp of the facts 5 stars
4/20/05 Evka cool movie 5 stars
8/17/04 Violeta perfect! 5 stars
7/23/04 Sandy Turynowicz too much info. I didn't need 2 stars
7/07/04 Denise Duspiva May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face and may the winds of destiny 5 stars
6/22/04 Jack Sommersby Obvious, uninsightful and blandy directed. Depp is wasted; Liotta only bright spot. 1 stars
6/07/04 Darryl Stavena The most romantic way to see the life of a drug-dealer 5 stars
3/09/04 Ash Everything about this movie makes you a die-hard depp fan! 5 stars
2/22/04 8=====D COKE RULES!!!! 5 stars
1/26/04 R.W. Welch Familiar tale of rise/fall of drug lord, professional work tho. 3 stars
1/14/04 josh mentzer great movie 4 stars
1/07/04 Kim it was great and johnny depp was so sexy i loved it! 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel Great film, based on a true story and that makes it that much better! 5 stars
8/27/03 Mr. Hat One great film. Great acting, great directing, one powerful ending. 5 stars
7/31/03 Samantha Macias I thoght this movie was interesting, and very sad!! 5 stars
5/03/03 sleepy this film made me feel pity for a drug dealer! 5 stars
4/27/03 tyler reiter greatest fucking movie of all time 5 stars
4/17/03 George Jung One of the best biopics of recent memory. 5 stars
2/06/03 123 a shorter, less violent, inferior version of goodfellas 3 stars
1/07/03 val Fucking Awesome 5 stars
12/30/02 Tam Interesting depiction of a life ruined by drugs. 4 stars
12/30/02 Jack Sommersby Blow me! 1 stars
7/26/02 karen goldstein extremely entertaining - johnny depp deserved an oscar for best actor!!!! 5 stars
7/14/02 sdjfsdkjf Depp, great but once Barb died boring. Penelope needs fucking English lessons, "hypocrite"? 3 stars
5/13/02 bubba ray dudley must see 5 stars
4/29/02 Andy (Big A) dis was one of the best movies ever big ups to my boy jung and soon you will be free 2015. 5 stars
4/09/02 Butterbean A wonderful movie! Far superior to that overrated Requiem for a Dream 5 stars
4/06/02 Cardo Elins Outstanding 5 stars
3/29/02 Victor Villalba Good with some assumptions 4 stars
2/20/02 luda hoe it was fun. i want to do coke now, but still, it was fun 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance Jonny Depp - Great job - Depicted the harsh reality of how fucked up life can be 5 stars
1/29/02 Phil M. Afficianado Erik the Movieman states my views. Depp is terrific and ages realistically in the film. 4 stars
1/01/02 calvin cellars best based on a true story movie ever made 5 stars
12/27/01 Evil Bitchwoman pretty cool movie i guess so u should go see it. Cruz is a mental Slut though 4 stars
9/24/01 Monday Morning Great characters bring this story to life. It's not great but it shore is fun. 4 stars
9/04/01 Alan The Spanish bitch sleeps with everybody and I despise her. 3 stars
8/17/01 Obi Wan Wow! 1 of the best flicks I've seen in this movie tix inflation era! 5 stars
6/02/01 Richard Wright Does nothing to lift it out of a tired genre, overlong and dramatically shallow to boot. 3 stars
5/27/01 Connor Dueck a slightly different look at the drug game 5 stars
5/23/01 Christine It is the best movie ive ever seen!! 5 stars
5/19/01 A Williams I went in there expecting crap, but it was a really excellent movie, i recommend it 4 stars
5/15/01 Misa The movie was actually pretty great, definately not boring like I thought it would be. 4 stars
4/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) An aquired taste...and I suggest everyone acquire it... 4 stars
4/25/01 Todd Very cool, but if he hasn't seen his daughter while in prison, why did she act in the movie 4 stars
4/25/01 Brian After Pacino in "Scarface", all these other drug-lord movies pale by comparison 3 stars
4/23/01 Pete Sweet movie. Go see it. Johnny Depp is the best character actor in America right now. 5 stars
4/23/01 Girl 9 The Depp track record for making decent films sucks, but this one is worth seeing. 4 stars
4/18/01 Joe Awesome! Another movie Depp will be overlooked 5 stars
4/16/01 ChiefAlDog I wanted more explanation of how he avoided his parole officer time and again. 4 stars
4/14/01 Bill B Best I've seen in a long time. PeeWee was great. Tear jerker for any man with a daughter. 5 stars
4/14/01 Clarance A Cross between Trainspotting and Traffic...but BETTER! Fantastic and Powerful!! 5 stars
4/11/01 gabi Says it all--the good and bad of life; Depp incredible; very awsome film 5 stars
4/11/01 Nick A little on the depressing side, but a good film with an interesting comment on life. 4 stars
4/10/01 alanis I think you are very unfair with johnny, he makes an excellent performance, as usual 4 stars
4/10/01 scott awesome 5 stars
4/09/01 The Bomb 69 some cliches but overall an interesting look at a flawed and tragic character 4 stars
4/08/01 poetchuck Engaging story 4 stars
4/07/01 grunter If "Scarface" were a T.V. movie, it'd still have more substance and grit than "Blow" 2 stars
4/07/01 malcolm realest, most sympathetic drug dealer character in a while, maybe ever 5 stars
4/07/01 frankko nothing we haven't seen before. (and not enough paul reubens.) 2 stars
4/07/01 rue the whirl fairly dull and tiresome 3 stars
4/07/01 fishfry Last hour excruciatingly boring. Major disappointment 2 stars
4/06/01 brent young not given away in the previews, this movie was very good. worth a definate look. 5 stars
4/06/01 Megan Uninspired direction, a badly written script, and a horrible performance by Penelope Cruz 2 stars
4/02/01 Marcy Skenderian Per the WGA, it should read "Written by David McKenna and Nick Cassavetes" 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Apr-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  23-Aug-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast