Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.34

Awesome: 41.86%
Worth A Look52.33%
Just Average: 4.65%
Pretty Crappy: 0%
Sucks: 1.16%

5 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


13 Days
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Nuwanda

"It keeps you on your toes..."
4 stars

It's not the 'feel good movie of the year'. More so, it's the 'thinkers' or 'historians' movie of the year. Assuming that you are both, or one of these, you will enjoy this flick. It's got an even, solid pace and it is jam packed with information to absorb. The performances are solid, to say the least, and the story is, however accurate it may or may not be, exciting and engaging.

Right from the opening scenes, you have to be alert, pay attention and can't let your mind wander. At one point in the film, just when we were in the thick of the story I started thinking "Wow, Costner's not doing a half-bad job at the Boston accent". When I tuned back in to the dialoge on-screen, I was hooped. I was derailed, I couldn't figure out for the life of me what the hell was going on with the narrative.

I learned my lesson, and tried really hard to stay focused and to not get caught up in the more 'romantic' elements of the film. Normal things that I take mental notes of during movies had to take a back seat in my sub-conscious so that my focus was on the dialogue and the narrative only.

However, the strong features of the film etched themselves into my brain. For example Canadian (right on eh?) Bruce Greenwood's portrayal of John Kennedy is superb, nailing even the most subtle mannerisms of the former, dynamic president.

Kevin Costner's performance as "Special Advisor" Ken O'Donnell is noteworthy as well. Costner's reputation for having the acting depth of a piece of paper, and choosing 2-dimensional roles, is refuted here in this picture. He is not his normal, playful, cute, ball-playing self. He tackles the accent satisfactorily, not perfectly however, yet there were moments when I simply looked at him like he was Kenny, not goofy ol' Kevin.

I think that it's unavoidable that this film will be compared to Oliver Stone's "JFK". Both star Kevin Costner, and both deal with John Kennedy, and have a highly historical and complicated story line. The only weak comparison that I can come up with is that director Roger Donaldson tries to pull off a change from color to black and white film stock. This simply does not work. It's more intrusive than it is effective. There does not appear to be a consistent co-relation to the changes in color, so it appears to be a weak attempt at avant-guarde film making.

The film, which is largely devoid of any emotional elements (with the exception of fear), comes to a very poignant end with the reading of a plaque from Kennedy's desk. The enormity of the situation came to a head and I shed some tears, I'll admit it.

Even though I knew how the story ended, I found myself feeling quite nervous and scared at moments. That's the talent of a good director. My recommendation would be to see it in the theatre, if you are apt to grasp political jargon and complicated dialogue easily. If not, if you are like me, then save it for video so that you have the opportunity to rewind and ask questions.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=4779&reviewer=116
originally posted: 01/22/01 19:35:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/15 PAUL SHORTT INTELLIGENTLY RE-ENACTED DRAMATISATION OF A PIVOTAL MOMENT IN WORLD HISTORY 4 stars
3/18/08 Abhishek Chakraborty This movie rules 5 stars
1/02/08 ariel Im doin a report on this movie and i thought it was easy to compare to the actual event. 4 stars
1/29/07 Matt Edge-of-seat stuff even though we know the outcome. Greenwood is a great JFK. 5 stars
10/19/06 MP Bartley Ramps up the tension masterfully, with a great sense of period. Cast is wonderful. 5 stars
6/14/05 Courtney Colbow Sourceful 4 stars
2/25/05 Carl Great Movie 5 stars
5/27/04 Jose great movie, but for a history class only 4 stars
5/06/04 Desperado Where have you gone Jack and Bobby? oh what we could have accomplished, incredible movie 5 stars
12/02/03 nicole rob great! 5 stars
3/23/03 Jack Sommersby A masterpiece of high-tension drama and richly observed dramatics. A monumental achievement 5 stars
8/22/02 Sully when the fuck did JFK become a pussy? And those accents were terrible. OK flick. 3 stars
6/23/02 Baal Great movie! Awesome DVD! Very enjoyable. 5 stars
6/01/02 Chris The West Wing movie with JFK. I happen to love The West Wing, alot. 5 stars
5/20/02 Shrike I generally appreciate Costner's work and this is one of his best 4 stars
5/09/02 paul corbett It Was a good movie 5 stars
3/16/02 FlaFan One of Costner's best. He can be proud of his role in getting this to the screen. 5 stars
3/10/02 R.W. Welch Compelling account of the Missle Crisis, astutely done with a minimum of Hollywood hokum. 5 stars
2/21/02 Jeff all around excellent movie 5 stars
1/14/02 Sparky Polastri Fantastic flick to see once; w/all thats going on now, its even more interesting 5 stars
10/05/01 Obi Wan Great!!! Loved it!! I've watched this few times already and I just got the DVD! 5 stars
9/11/01 The Bomb 69 the Infinifilm DVD made this story so much more enjoyable, Costner's accent sux!!! 4 stars
9/04/01 phil m. afficiando Boring? Hmm..I'm 20, draft eligible, the world nearly got nuked. Needed what? Kung fu, sex? 5 stars
8/31/01 Bueller History buffs will love this. Costner shouldn't try to do a Boston accent. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
8/29/01 BRIAN HUDSON BORING 3 stars
8/27/01 Monday Morning Fascinating diplomatic, political and military "inside stories". 5 stars
8/19/01 Dimitris Spiropoulos See it again! 5 stars
8/13/01 G. Smith Very interesting. Very good for a Hollywood film. Better than "Pearl Harbor." 4 stars
8/06/01 J Personally I find it overrated and its accurancy is questionable. But its not bad. 3 stars
7/28/01 Steve A political thriller... never saw that one coming. Surprisingly good movie! 4 stars
7/24/01 The Castle Bookroom politics / personality / history drama of the highest order 5 stars
7/13/01 2DOGS Best suspense/drama I have seen in a while 4 stars
5/08/01 viking Better than Oliver Stone's JFK extravaganza. 4 stars
5/07/01 Belinda Did not understand what the hell was going on. Totally lost.! 1 stars
5/03/01 matthew smith an engrossing film 5 stars
4/30/01 Vanessa Balanced and truthful view of events focussing on the issue not the JFK /Jackie legend etc 4 stars
4/09/01 Gary I am a sucker for history movies and this one was another good one although boring a little 4 stars
2/24/01 Sophia Though I lived through it, I was still on the edge of my seat 5 stars
2/22/01 eugene Great movie, well-acted, historically accurate. Dump Costner though... 4 stars
2/15/01 The Evil Penguin "I was gonna eat that". 4 stars
2/11/01 Alyssa The reason Costner needs to stick with historicals. 5 stars
2/08/01 glo interesting movie. 4 stars
2/07/01 ObiWan Absolutely intense thriller. Steven Culp was great as Bobby Kennedy. 5 stars
2/05/01 Obi Wan Loved it. Great flick, a sleeper in my eyes. Will be overlooked due to highly marketed BS 5 stars
2/03/01 Benjamin Lesbian Fucking Awesome 5 stars
1/31/01 R Kramer If you love history you'll enjoy this film. 4 stars
1/24/01 Lord Raymos Bad accent, random b&w, but exciting and suspensful. 4 stars
1/23/01 Shawna It was very exciting! I'm not into history, but I really enjoyed this movie. 5 stars
1/22/01 Gail Incredible performances from everyone, especially Steven Culp; powerful and gripping. 5 stars
1/17/01 Jes Very Historically accurate... 5 stars
1/14/01 ThEoNe3510 Great performances across the board (especially Greenwood), solid direction, taut script... 5 stars
1/14/01 Alyssa Costner needs to stick with historicals. Edge of your seat good. Acting hit the mark. 5 stars
1/13/01 frankko even though costner is in it, it's still a fine film. 4 stars
1/13/01 Will that was pretty harrowing and interesting. 4 stars
1/11/01 Gariess Points for reminding us that there are always high ranking whackos in the Pentagon. 3 stars
1/04/01 Harlan Pepper Accurate? I dunno. Worth Seeing? Absolutely. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jan-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-May-2001 (M)


Directed by
  Roger Donaldson

Written by
  David Self

Cast
  Kevin Costner
  Bruce Greenwood
  Steven Culp
  Dylan Baker
  Lucinda Jenney
  Peter White



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast