Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.78

Awesome: 34.15%
Worth A Look39.02%
Just Average: 7.93%
Pretty Crappy: 8.54%
Sucks: 10.37%

8 reviews, 116 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

Two Tigers by Jay Seaver

Dare to Stop Us by Jay Seaver

White Snake by Jay Seaver

Knives Out by Peter Sobczynski

21 Bridges by Jay Seaver

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mallrats
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Food Courted"
4 stars

I have never been a big Kevin Smith fan. I thought "Clerks" was dull and "Chasing Amy" overpraised. When he apologized for this film, calling it his worst, I expected to be thoroughly trashing it right now. Actually, it's pretty funny...

Best friends Jason Lee and Jeremy London break up with their respective girlfriends in the same day. Lee is dumped by Shannen Doherty, who takes up with the mall men's store manager Ben Affleck. London is dumped by Claire Forlani, whose father Michael Rooker is hosting a game show that she must participate in.

Conveniently, the "Dating Game"-type show is being taped at the mall. Enter the cult heroes Jay and Silent Bob, who are recruited to sabotage the game show so that London can get back with Forlani. Lee has issues of his own, since Affleck is also looking to kill him. Most of the film takes place in the mall the two hang out at, as they recruit other mallrats into their plans, with the final game show providing the climax of the film.

There is a lot here that is very funny. Jason Lee is very likable in the role of a jerk slacker who really says what we all think. London is okay as his subdued friend. Priscilla Barnes will make you forget those late night "Three's Company" reruns as the topless psychic with three nipples...don't ask. The film moves at a quick, energetic pace. Even comic book guru Stan Lee is entertaining in a small role as himself.

The not so good? Doherty and Forlani are not given much more to do than look exasperated at their former boyfriends. They are easily interchangeable, and did not make much of an impression.

Also, Smith gives some of his actors mouthfuls of dialogue that has no reasonable comparison to actual speech, and his cast almost lose their breath trying to spit out sentences that make mine look like three word quotable quotes. Michael Rooker is all wrong as a TV game show host, he looks like a neo-nazi.

This movie is so goofy, and often foul mouthed, but considering the junk out there now like "Road Trip" and the "American Pie" series, it is also funny. Smith should not apologize, we should thank him for an entertaining ninety six minutes. I recommend "Mallrats."

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=501&reviewer=325
originally posted: 03/26/03 19:33:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth juvenile, tasteless but generationally funny 4 stars
5/14/11 PAUL SHORTT INSENTIENT, UNAVAILING AND UNFUNNY 1 stars
7/26/09 jroc most underrated movie ever. pure comic gold 5 stars
4/12/09 Evie I thought it had a few laughs. 3 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef A fun flick to watch with your bud over a round of beers. 'Specially if they're comic fans. 4 stars
12/13/08 Simon I'm suprised 'Average' is the lowest percentage. Couldn't think of a more appropriate word 3 stars
8/11/06 nicolecrom2678 Jason Lee is hilarious in this movie 5 stars
10/14/05 Hannity from Houston Affleck's in it? (I wish he wasn't) 1 stars
9/03/05 matt threw my back out humping your mom last night... nooch. 5 stars
6/28/05 Burt Ward kame unfunny badly acted shit. Overrated by morons. 1 stars
5/24/05 Jake A little tamed compared to Clerks but still worth a look 4 stars
11/19/04 Trailer trash in malls don't speak like uni' professer's in real life Trailer trash don't speak like uni' professer's. This movie is a toss. 1 stars
8/05/04 Anthony G stfu 5 stars
6/20/04 Rock Hound Kids, these days! In my day, youngsters behaved like angels, or we got beat to a pulp! 1 stars
4/13/04 shaun movies you should rent clerks,chasing amy,dogma,vulgar,J&bob strike back if u like mallrats 5 stars
4/03/04 Daveman Worth a look??? Trust these student film critics to be a bunch of Smith completists. 1 stars
3/23/04 Ken Stryker That kids on the fuckin esculator agian 5 stars
2/05/04 jimmy pee its friggin hilarious 4 stars
9/08/03 TheDude Jack Sommersby needs to be shot and hung by his balls. 5 stars
8/11/03 The Savage TS is a jackass but the rest of the movie is awesome but it has TS so it knocks it down 4 stars
7/13/03 Samuel Justus Great Movie!!!!Hey would anyone like a chocolate covered pretzel??? 5 stars
6/25/03 shannon this is the best movie EVER brodie is soooo FUNNY and jay and silent bob r the SHIT! 5 stars
5/12/03 joker-smoker-toker this movie is awesome. brodie & jay & silent bob were the best part of this movie 5 stars
3/31/03 Dr. Bitterpants This happens if John Hughes only cared about the Judd Nelson and A.M.Hall characters 2 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty forced. Worth seeing only for the sexy Barnes and her three-nippled breast. 2 stars
3/26/03 y2mckay As usual, Jay and Silent Bob are the best part. The rest is hit and miss. 3 stars
3/11/03 Apathy It's a teen movie. No depth or intelligence. Like the topless 3 nippled fotrune teller 3 stars
11/10/02 Joe This Movie Is Really Underratted It is GREAT! 5 stars
11/08/02 Stevo Because of the director, people try to find the best in this. Really it's unfunny shit. 1 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 Get rid of London and I'd call it the BEST MOVIE EVER, otherwise it's just the second ever. 5 stars
10/08/02 Neil This movie is fucking hilarious. It's not as great as Clerks was but it was still awesome. 5 stars
9/03/02 Joe Zappa Jay and Silent Bob are even funnier, and the acting is better than "Clerks." 4 stars
7/29/02 Mac perfect, smith captures stupid teen movies and makes his funny 5 stars
7/23/02 Roy Smith The heroes are basically selfish assholes. 2 stars
7/23/02 erick really funny, but its no clerks 4 stars
5/30/02 Phoenix Kevin Smith's dumbest movie, but still funny. 4 stars
5/26/02 Nicole No real plot, but loads of sick humor 4 stars
3/14/02 fjkdljskfds i used to find this hilarious, but now just see it as pretentious and contrived.rent clerks 2 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress A bit of charm that sparked a little interest, but pretty forgettable in the end. 3 stars
2/06/02 Frances Did anyone of u people who rated the movie badly actually watch it???????? 5 stars
2/03/02 Cameron Ovo Best movie in the world iv seen it about 100 times and it's still funny 5 stars
1/01/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Better than Clerks, Jay & Silent Bob are more funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/19/01 paul ben affleck in his prime... booya! 4 stars
11/08/01 Mark A truly quality movie. The plot appears rather dull, but really picks up. A must-see. 5 stars
10/30/01 Suzie I Love Jason Lee in this, he kicks so much fucking ass, I flat out love this whole movie 5 stars
10/14/01 Mr. Hat The story is shit but Jay and Silent Bob are the two hands-down best quality of the flick. 3 stars
10/07/01 Hogwash If only O'Halloran had played TS instead of London... 4 stars
10/04/01 Evil Bitchwoman fucking hilarious. 5 stars
8/27/01 ARCbird Brodieman noochie noochies.... 5 stars
8/12/01 Gary Jason Lee is fantastic in this. Don't take it seriously, just kick back and enjoy. 4 stars
7/31/01 Keyser Soze sucks the big one: watch clerks instead 2 stars
7/05/01 mjm103171 it was NOT up to par for Mr. Smith 2 stars
6/13/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe FLY FATASS FLY! 5 stars
6/06/01 King Jackass Would you like a chocalate covered pretzel? 5 stars
5/28/01 m. todl smiths best work 4 stars
5/19/01 kingjackass222 people underate this movie 2 much 4 stars
5/09/01 Stephen Woods Damn, man Jeremy sucks ass. 5 stars
3/05/01 Brad Groux This movie is fukking hilarious! Jason Lee is the man! 5 stars
10/22/00 P. Rodriguez 4 Fu@3s sake take for what it's worth. Funny toilet humor. London is shit though 4 stars
7/26/00 The Bomb 69 funny and often misunderstood movie, way underrated 5 stars
7/17/00 Bender Cheesy jokes and uninteresting conversations sink this one. 2 stars
6/24/00 Aaron White Kevin Smith doesn't know what do do with directors. All he can do is write slacker patter. 1 stars
6/14/00 Zippo XxX Funny and fun, but seemed to kind of sell out, AND WAS SHOT AT MY TOWN MALL!!! 5 stars
5/11/00 Girl9 This film IS "cult" status.Funny dialogue,funny characters. Either love it or hate it. 4 stars
4/14/00 Elvisfan of course this movie is great; Kevin is from New Jersey, the best state in the USA 5 stars
4/12/00 Rita It sucks that this movie got so much crap...it was great! 5 stars
3/29/00 malcolm kevin smith's funniest. ... threw my back out humping your mom last night. nootch! 4 stars
3/14/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs Kevin Smith is great 5 stars
1/20/00 James "Brew" McCauley This movie DOES get better ever time you watch it. 5 stars
11/30/99 Dr. Acula Funny Flick except Jay & Silent Bob Become Bill & Ted and lose their edge. 4 stars
10/22/99 Patrick Belongia One of the funniest teen movies made! 5 stars
10/11/99 Jared He wanted to screw me some place very uncomfortable, what like the back of a volkswaggon 5 stars
9/03/99 Myra Worth a look for Shannen. 3 stars
8/18/99 Matthew Bartley Snootchie-bootchie!! Damn funny 4 stars
7/25/99 The Bomb 69 "call me Donny, please don't go girl" This is one wacky gameshow 5 stars
7/06/99 Dax Watch it several times to catch all of the jokes in the background (store names, etc.) 4 stars
6/14/99 Sally Give that Kevin Smith a KISS (like Ben Affleck!) 4 stars
6/06/99 kmk I laughed my ass off. 4 stars
5/23/99 PurityJustBegs While not Smith's best, it serves its purpose quite well, a damn funny farce. 4 stars
4/11/99 Randall can't get enough, being a former mallrat, i loved it 5 stars
4/07/99 Dave It was really bad. No plot, no point , no service 1 stars
4/05/99 Michael Grimm The only movie better is Clerks. Fucking hilarious 5 stars
4/03/99 Albert The ONLY good Kevin Smith movie so far. 5 stars
3/28/99 john mall crap - shannon was fineeee 1 stars
3/28/99 Ebert's twin This was a big pile of movie shit 1 stars
3/27/99 TJwills Makes me miss the mall. Affleck begins to stretch his acting wings. 5 stars
3/26/99 Rob Mckechnie Not as good as Clerks, but Lee's "he likes like a fucking date rapist!" makes up for it 5 stars
3/17/99 Max Bernstein One of the best films of the 90's. Anyone who disagrees is a fucking savage. 5 stars
3/05/99 BB An excellent way to spend an evening...or two. 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Three words: Snootchie Bootchie Noochies! 5 stars
2/28/99 Ken Jason Lee, Kevin smith, and Jason Mewes ARE THE MOVIE! Snootchy Bootchies!!! 5 stars
2/18/99 Nibby7 "Bickety Bam, the motherfucker's rubble" & "Fly fat ass, fly" What more could you want? 5 stars
1/24/99 YellerDog Love this movie. Operation: Dark Knight! 5 stars
1/24/99 Melissa See it for Brodie, Jay and Bob. 4 stars
1/11/99 Shane Brandon Good movie but unfortunately because of the head honchos Kevin couldnt do exactly what he w 4 stars
1/01/99 randy F it was not horrible it was was good it was great 4 stars
12/31/98 JDC really, really funny, much funnier than Clerks. Great film, big laughs 5 stars
12/21/98 Blotman Funny fucking film... but not much else besides the humor. 4 stars
12/19/98 Mike F WOW! I saw this too much. it rocks! 5 stars
11/25/98 Jack Aster all it took was a fat chronic blunt 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty Silent Jay and Bob are the juices that kept this movie flowing!!! The rest was average. 4 stars
10/23/98 Timmy C Excellent if you don't compare it to Clerks. 4 stars
10/16/98 Finley Not his best, but deinitely a very funny movie 5 stars
10/15/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! pure KEVIN SMITH............could have been better though,hilarious no doubt ! 4 stars
10/02/98 wind it's cool how the sopomore release was as good as the first 4 stars
9/20/98 Ky This shits on clerks bigtime!! Totally Sweet!!! Gotta love it!!! 5 stars
9/17/98 Mike Not good by any means, but not bad either. Jason Lee is great 4 stars
9/16/98 Ben Affleck Unbelievably cool movie.. Jason Lee kicks.. Kevin Smith is a genious.. Hilarious!! 5 stars
9/15/98 Chuck-D It was awesome. Like a Kevins Smith film could be any less? 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein I can't slam this. It was awful, but I saw it twice. 4 stars
9/08/98 MikeF I saw this 21 times. I love it. 5 stars
9/05/98 Helle Marie It`s fuckin` brilliant! Screw the critics- this is great, and everybody should see it! 5 stars
9/03/98 Scott Taylor Almost worked. Didn't. 2 stars
8/24/98 clark just like Empire, the second in the trilogy is best. 5 stars
8/22/98 Mister Whoopee Good enough, if not overtly good 4 stars
8/22/98 Superfly Not Kevin's best, but all of Kevin's stuff is fucking awesome. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Oct-1995 (R)
  DVD: 20-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast