Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.91

Awesome: 24.34%
Worth A Look: 17.11%
Just Average: 15.13%
Pretty Crappy: 12.5%
Sucks30.92%

10 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Patch Adams
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by nine

"Caution this movie may cause 'excessive happiness'"
5 stars

The story of a person's life that literally makes you laugh and cry and hope and dream . . . this picture makes known a true hero that is still only beginning to make good.

I had heard before I went to catch this flick that the movie, despite Robin Williams as it's leading role and some golden globe nominations, had gotten poor reviews. I had some hope for this movie, though, and wasn't ready to let it be crushed. The irony of it is, that I still sat watching and waiting for it to get bad -- it didn't. I know it's cliche to say it makes you laugh and cry, but i did both. I laughed a lot, and with true happiness. I suppose some of those other reviewers might have found the crying part to be an unsettling jolt to a "funny" movie, but it was all the more touching to see both the ups and the downs of Patch's life, so we can truly appreciate his work.
Robin Williams is brilliant as usual. The fact that he is representing an extraordinary real-life person in an extraordinary way just makes it all the more brilliant.
This movie gives viewers more than mere entertainment. It is a tool that lets us know about a story we might not otherwise hear. It is a story of hope and of true human goodness.

Yes, human goodness still exists according to this wonderful film-- PATCH ADAMS.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=556&reviewer=35
originally posted: 12/29/98 01:02:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/13/20 Dane Youssef This is such a sappy film. Pure syrup. Williams should've quit doing these. Total cornball. 1 stars
7/31/19 Luisa I'll never get tired of watching this film. Wonderful Robin. We miss you! 5 stars
8/28/17 Ken Bad, bad movie! Robin Williams has been in way, way better movies than this one. 1 stars
1/05/15 Chosen One Absolutely hilarious!!! Loved it 5 stars
2/02/11 ZZ I've seen worse movies. I think it's the sugar that makes this one so difficult to digest 3 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Not all that funny. 1 stars
1/18/08 Pamela White not William's best role but it is a true story and makes you rethink medicine 4 stars
7/03/07 fools♫gold Almost makes sense. 4 stars
5/22/07 arcangel016 Butterbean's retarted, Robin was funny, and the movie was great! 5 stars
3/17/07 Quigley Wow, you people totally missed the message. The story is inspiring and touching. 5 stars
8/05/06 Sugarfoot This movie for me, is THE worst movie ever made. 1 stars
1/01/06 cody a good story movie with lot of heart and feel and great perf. by williams 4 stars
6/21/05 R.W. Welch Gets a little too preachy. Needed one more rewrite. 3 stars
3/14/05 Fenris IQ scale: Weinberg>Me>Joe Average>Dolphin>Amoeba>Pamela Anderson>Ed Green 1 stars
1/30/05 Ed Green weinberg's review is more pitifully unimaginative than the movie. sarcasm=unintelligent 3 stars
1/21/05 DM Robin Williams, what have you done? 1 stars
10/28/04 JJ lovable 5 stars
9/13/04 John Lapissiani Sometimes outrageaous but entertaining. 4 stars
9/07/04 emmy it was funny beanie was funny 5 stars
7/18/04 Monster W. Kung Insultingly, incredibly bad. The fakest, most manipulative movie ever made? Possibly. 1 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj How to exploit dying children for fun & profit 1 stars
6/09/04 Nobody sad and funny. Loved the invisible squirrels! 5 stars
5/14/04 skye a masterpiece ; ) 1 stars
4/01/04 - it sucked! 1 stars
3/22/04 Dirk D I liked it..... 4 stars
3/18/04 da hood my doctor acted like this, and he slipped with his knife during surgery and clipped my lung 4 stars
1/09/04 Dr. Forrestor This was awful! The doc was too obnoxious but aside from that, this was just badly done. 2 stars
11/07/03 Alan The best Williams' movies are those where he doesn't seem quite this stuck on himself. 3 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston $120 million? Explains why the moron Bush is president! 1 stars
9/21/03 DM Pretty corny, but has some good moments 3 stars
7/21/03 Monster W. Kung It makes my worst 20 movies list, and I watch a lot of crap. 1 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Weird stuff 4 stars
3/14/03 Chris A real tear jerker. What's wrong with you Weinberg???? 5 stars
12/06/02 Justin The only movie I fell asleep during in the movie night three months ago. 1 stars
10/22/02 palaboy101 Touching and funny 4 stars
7/31/02 George Does it exactly what it tried to do - be a feel good, light movie. 5 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 It wasnt that bad 3 stars
2/19/02 Movie Freek Please. Just kill me. 1 stars
12/24/01 Andrew Carden Crappy and Unfunny. 1 stars
12/10/01 dominik Duprelle 2 Words. The 2nd one is OFF. 1 stars
11/24/01 travis i hate this movie. 1 stars
11/22/01 Will Diamond poop 5 stars
11/21/01 osopup worst movie ever. I couldn't stand it until the end. 1 stars
9/17/01 Butterbean Robin Williams trying to win another Oscar here. JUST BE FUNNY DAMMIT! 2 stars
9/03/01 olivia vaquero mercado is beautifull 5 stars
8/16/01 hilary WORTH A LOOK 4 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Honestly, it's not without its flaws...but I personally prefer a little heart with my humor 4 stars
2/16/01 Wafer This is a much needed to see flick 5 stars
12/25/00 Turtle Sad and funny at once. What Robin Williams is best at! 5 stars
9/24/00 skye chapman have a nice day jed 1 stars
9/19/00 Jed A pure "underrated" classic one of '98's best! 5 stars
7/31/00 Jed May all the Robin Willams-haters & haters of this film smash their genitals with a hammer. 5 stars
5/13/00 Daria Please somebody stop Robin Williams 1 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers GOD! This movie did not make sense! But for some reason I'd see it again. 2 stars
12/02/99 perpetual loser it isn't great. but it isn't titanic. thank god it's not titanic. 4 stars
11/11/99 V. Uber-predictable. 1 stars
4/29/99 Sentaia E I loved it. Extremely thought-provoking... 5 stars
4/05/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne A hospital in the mountains?? Can you say "infection"?? 1 stars
4/04/99 Cool Thing Over-emotional crap. Uses cancer kids to press your buttons. Absolute toilet. 1 stars
3/19/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Williams was casted perfectly,a very sad but true story,could've been a bit better though. 4 stars
3/05/99 beakymcgee wonderful tear jerker 4 stars
3/03/99 Steve Kelley Could've been so much better, but the script hammers us with the "big doctor bad" message. 3 stars
3/02/99 Jerry-93 Best Movie I've ever Seen!!! I can't wait to Blow my Brains out!!! 1 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Some funny parts/some sad parts, good family movie, typical R.Williams humor,needs new matl 4 stars
2/20/99 Shanandler Bong It was good. No GWH, but it was worth my three bucks 4 stars
2/04/99 calgary47 I thought it was crap, same as everything else Robin williams has done. 1 stars
2/03/99 grunter I liked it better when it was called "Awakenings" 1 stars
2/02/99 Mark Reilly Overall, I thought this was a GREAT movie... a little overly sentimental at times, but ... 5 stars
1/26/99 jojo58 loved it,it was happy,sad,funny,more dr',should rememberpt's are people 5 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons dissapointed? no. 4 stars
1/18/99 Allison Big, strong men can't possibly admit that they like a movie that makes them weepy.<sniffle> 4 stars
1/14/99 Em Williams has been type cast, and I love it. 5 stars
1/11/99 Mr Showbiz tiresomely moralizing and blandly cheery saga of a free spirit daring to challenge the man. 2 stars
1/08/99 Moriah One of Robin's best! I find it hard to believe that some of these reveiwers saw the movie. 5 stars
1/05/99 Gamma Some cheesy moments (the butterfly). Story is kinda weak but overall it was "ok" 3 stars
1/04/99 Bill Hartman Funny and Sad in one bundle. Who cares if Robin has done this movie before? It works. 5 stars
1/02/99 Leon Russell Not hip. Not very funny. Too predictable to be dramatic. Rerunnish! 1 stars
1/02/99 Critic Deluxe Robin Williams is not directable. He performs like a broken record. Adlibs are still good 2 stars
1/02/99 Brad Goldman Predictable, but enjoyable 4 stars
1/01/99 redneckjew I was pleasantly surprised, I *read* it sucked, but it didn't. Bring Kleenex 4 stars
1/01/99 John Same actor, different part, same performance. Williams has less impact the seventh time. 1 stars
1/01/99 Oscar Goldman Robin Williams (I used to like him) has gone to the same well one time too many. 2 stars
12/29/98 Sandy Average, I would have rather rented the video 3 stars
12/29/98 discerningViewer sappy, boring, the same old tear-jerker, I wanted to die of embarrassment 2 stars
12/29/98 FRED groovy movie baby!!! 5 stars
12/29/98 Patch Awesome! Tremendous Movie! 5 stars
12/29/98 Hndbllkng Is there a cliche not used in this shitty movie? 1 stars
12/29/98 thEnd This movie was kickass, anybody recognize the poem he read in it? 5 stars
12/28/98 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Funny with splashes of drama. Very entertaining. Bedpans really can be funny... 4 stars
12/25/98 The Dude Very Fucking funny-but at times very drama shit--Buuutt still fucking funny 5 stars
12/08/98 Kirgo entertaining moments but Ultra sappy!!!! 3 stars
11/11/98 Tina Not a very memorable film. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Mar-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast