Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.54

Awesome: 8.33%
Worth A Look53.13%
Just Average: 25%
Pretty Crappy: 11.46%
Sucks: 2.08%

6 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Changing Lanes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bishop

"Affleck and Jackson's Souped Up Prank War...With a Message"
3 stars

Changing Lanes is a commentary on just how busy, impersonable and rude our society has become, and how we should remedy such malady.

A young attorney (Gavin Banning) played by Ben Affleck is scheduled to appear in court to deliver some important files for a case his firm is handling. When he side-swipes a recovering alcoholic and father of two, Doyle Gibson (played brilliantly by Samuel L. Jackson), the trouble begins.

The two start off cordially enough, with Gavin offering to give Doyle a blank check to cover the damages to his car. Doyle, however, wants to do things right, suiting his new lifestyle. Gavin is so busy however, he refuses to give Doyle a lift (Doyle is also headed to court himslef), saying, "Better luck next time." As a result, Doyle misses his court appointment and is denied joint custody of his two sons.

In the ensuing tussle following the accident, Gavin accidentally drops one of his important files, which is recovered by Doyle who almost throws it away. When Gavin asks him about it, Doyle recovers it to keep as a measure of leverage and revenge. He wants to know if Affleck can give him back the time he missed out on. Affleck then becomes very apprehensive, and takes less than legal measures to get the file back from Doyle.

What ensues is a back-n-forth war of actions between Doyle and Gavin, each deed more anger fueled than the next. Each man doubts the actions, but they can't let the other one up them. Gavin begins to learn the suspect nature of what he was doing in court that day, and questions his involvement in the legal system altogether. Things also begin to unravel for Doyle as a result of Gavin's actions, his wife becomes set on moving herself and the kids away to Oregon, which Doyle doesn't want to accept. He is also struggling with his alcoholism and angry personality.

This is about all I can tell you without spoiling the eventual resolution. I will say that it restores the idea that we need to respect other people and their individual situations and circumstances. When Gavin didn't give Doyle a lift, it all went downhill for the both of them. Their actions after the fact just made things worse on them both. In the end, both characters learn something about themselves, and the nature of humanity and today's society.

The lessons extended in Changing Lanes are good ones. The movie itself is decent, and a little above average. I cannot however give it 4 Stars. The performance by Sam Jackson is a very good one, though, and the movie is worth seeing, especially to remind us to slow down a little and behave better towards our fellow man. 3 (and 1/2) Stars.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=5859&reviewer=289
originally posted: 04/25/02 16:34:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell effective thriller 4 stars
12/04/10 fmc Jackson is more believable than Affleck. Pollack overwhelms. 4 stars
8/26/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 4 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT BLEAK AND COMPLEX THRILLER 3 stars
1/14/07 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
11/02/06 AJ Muller only "slow" if you can't appreciate character/story/mood - A+ for actors and script. 4 stars
8/19/05 ES This is definately one for the forgettable pile, neither inspires nor reviles 3 stars
4/02/05 Charlie Bit Slow 3 stars
3/30/05 R.W. Welch A little too contrived but manages to hold your interest. WAL most of the way. 4 stars
8/18/04 Peter B. Very good and involving! 5 stars
8/08/04 paolo enea it is a vey good movie 5 stars
7/07/04 Denise more story then i thought it would have 3 stars
6/23/04 Daveman Fails in what it aims to achieve because of the overabundance of irritating melodrama. 2 stars
4/28/04 Chaske Faulk good movie, not bad at all 3 stars
3/25/04 Alfred Guy More characters than crashes. it was better than I thought it would be. 4 stars
3/20/04 Linda Ellis Interesting story, kept my attention. 4 stars
3/17/04 Maria I thought the show was a worth looking at!! It had a good story line. 4 stars
3/16/04 Alfred Guy Better than I thought it would be. 3 stars
7/03/03 Jim Strong performances overcome a story that eventually becomes over the top. 4 stars
5/14/03 Den Beire Dont waste time and money on this. Sam jackson is, as always, the only good thing about it. 2 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Not too believable, but the story and characters are fascinating. 4 stars
11/26/02 Matthew Smith interesting film and a good cast 4 stars
11/25/02 Punk_Ass I really enjoyed the hell out of this film, nice supirse too, I saw no trailers or reviews. 4 stars
11/16/02 snowconehead Very predictable but still decent 4 stars
11/09/02 ^ZuLu^ too bad: very forseeable, too much of a stereotype, expected more of it. 3 stars
11/09/02 Nicole Too many plot holes to be ignored....irritating and horrid 2 stars
11/07/02 TLsmooth The Samuel L. I know would have bitchslapped the ho and stole the kids. 2 stars
10/18/02 palaboy101 It will make you think twice before doing something. 4 stars
10/08/02 spyguy2 At the level of made-for-TV. Totally over-rated. 2 stars
9/20/02 Phil M. Aficionado Needs to have a more credible story line before getting up on its pulpit; just so-so 3 stars
9/19/02 Eric Affleck and Jackson are wonderful, the movie is one of the year's best. 5 stars
9/13/02 rania it is very very nice, it's ethical 5 stars
9/11/02 palaboy101 Makes you think 4 stars
8/26/02 Martin I usually love Ben and Samuel....but I too wanted that time in my life back....... 2 stars
8/04/02 David A. This movie gets very preachy--be honest and don't hold grudges. Come on! Grow up! 2 stars
7/22/02 Bueller Ben Affleck as a lawyer? Right! Next, you'll say he's playing someone who works at the CIA! 3 stars
7/03/02 KMG Makes me detest the rich even more 4 stars
6/07/02 ownerofdajoint good performance by jackson/plot goes limp at end... 4 stars
6/04/02 cleansparks great movie. samuel jackson is once again excellent. 4 stars
5/26/02 Joseph Berger Excellent movie, strong writing, good acting, especially Toni Collette and Samuel Jackson, 4 stars
5/24/02 Suzz Stoopid, boring and totally implausible. 2 stars
5/23/02 Krakanova Uninspired acting, lame (but plausable) story 1 stars
5/11/02 Benjamin Leatherman Boorrrrrrring! Blah blah blah, at the end of the day I do more good than evil. Whatever. 2 stars
5/10/02 maverick Film Afficianado's spelling lacks "credability." LOL 4 stars
5/10/02 malcolm well, i'm not a lawyer. way too many of those fuckers. 4 stars
4/30/02 Film Afficianado Implausible. Lousy script. Completely lacks credability if you are a lawyer. 2 stars
4/30/02 The Bomb 69 just kept waiting for the suspense to build and then... nothing, total Hollywood ending!! 2 stars
4/26/02 Sarah really great movie--Ben Affleck and Samuel L. Jackson are excellent!!! 5 stars
4/26/02 JZA A decent movie, but you'll forget about it minutes after leaving the theater. 4 stars
4/25/02 Andy Enjoyable though the ending was lame, should have been a tragedy. Hollywood has no balls. 3 stars
4/23/02 Jimmy James meh, worth watching once 3 stars
4/22/02 KMG Very good movie....Affleck is a shit, SLJ is pissed off as usual 4 stars
4/20/02 Janine Lay good story line, but very slow moving and boring at times 3 stars
4/19/02 Film Guy Good movie.but way to over hyped 4 stars
4/18/02 Nick2k wow. this movie was really good. this'll make up for affleck's pearl harbor crap. 5 stars
4/16/02 El Scorcho Only 4 comments? This movie looked like it sucked ass, but was involving and mature. A- 5 stars
4/14/02 Emily great 5 stars
4/14/02 Film Dude Not bad. A bit tedious though. 4 stars
4/14/02 Akira_773 Excellent movie. Don't miss, if you value your moviegoing sanity 4 stars
4/12/02 Dmitri Tiomkin The worst kind of Hollywood "formula". The plot creaks mechanically. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Apr-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Nov-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast