Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome63.95%
Worth A Look: 19.19%
Just Average: 11.05%
Pretty Crappy: 1.74%
Sucks: 4.07%

10 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Black Christmas (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Richard Jewell by Peter Sobczynski

Dachra by Jay Seaver

Little Joe (2019) by Jay Seaver

Knives and Skin by Jay Seaver

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bubba Ho-Tep
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"Put this on your 'must see' list. I guarantee you'll say Thankyouverymuch."
4 stars

Tales don't get much taller, or funnier, than Bubba Ho-Tep, a yarn about a geriatric Elvis Presley and Black John F. Kennedy battling the soul-sucking mummy who is preying on their nursing home in Mud Creek, Texas.

Bruce Campbell is pitch-perfect, and surprisingly poignant, as the 68-year old Elvis pining for his lost love Priscilla, contemplating what life might have been had he been a better husband and father, and had he not traded places with an Elvis-impersonator named Sebastian Haff, who died in his place in 1977 while the real Elvis continued performing on the circuit and wound up in the squalid rest home in East Texas after breaking his hip.

The wonderful Ossie Davis is fine here, too, as an oldster convinced he's the surviving JFK, living with a bag of sand in his head to replace the brain shot out on that fateful day in Dallas, who claims that a series of gruesome deaths at the nursing home are the work of Bubba Ho-Tep, an ancient Egyptian mummy who steals people's souls by sucking them out through their, uhm, posterior orifices.

Based upon a short story by Joe R. Lansdale, the joys of Bubba Ho-Tep are in the small details: A sweet little old lady patting the head of her friend who's in an iron lung -- then stealing her glasses; Elvis reveling in his first hard-on in "three presidential elections" -- and obsessing on a particularly nasty growth on his penis; the King doing battle with a cockroach "the size of a peanut butter and banana sandwich," with a bedpan as his weapon ("Never, but never, fuck with The King").

The big surprise, for me, was that Bubba turned out not to be just a campy horror comedy, but a campy horror comedy with a huge heart. It is almost impossible not to cheer as our heroes ("Ask not what your rest home can do for you but what you can do for your rest home") set out on their final showdown, in full regalia, aided by walker and wheelchair, to do battle with an Egyptian mummy decked out in a Stetson hat and Tony Lamas.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=6101&reviewer=376
originally posted: 07/19/04 00:41:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2003 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

12/16/18 Ajp wales Where is bruces oscar. 16 year old already. 5 stars
10/21/15 xkwdutyohth USA 3 stars
8/12/14 PAUL SHORTT LIKEABLE SPOOF, WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
12/28/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Elvis & JFK vs. mummy. Doesn't get much beeter than this. 5 stars
7/14/09 faiche13 fun, funny, funky 4 stars
6/22/08 bored mom A classic, and Texas has all the best weird fictionists 5 stars
3/20/08 mr.mike Has a few laughs , mostly from B.C. 3 stars
8/28/07 LtA Weird isn't funny. Weird for the sake of weird is NOT creative. 1 stars
5/14/07 Mike Koziol so much potential, a movie that didn't know where it wanted to go: comedy or more serious 2 stars
12/29/06 AJ Muller Story by the Texas Mojo Master done perfect by Coscarelli; Elvis by Campbell even better. 5 stars
11/30/06 kevin haile boring! 2 stars
11/02/06 Hauzy love Bruce Campbell but this just blew me away!! 5 stars
8/19/06 zaw Wow! 5 stars
8/03/06 Agent Sands Really funny premise, but very forgettable. 3 stars
4/23/06 Annie Treat yourself to a great little movie with lots of laughs! 5 stars
4/20/06 Becky Funny, great music. Bruce when Sebastain first meets Elvis= priceless 5 stars
11/21/05 Kurtis J. Beard Hilarious. 3 stars
9/30/05 matt good, but could have been better 4 stars
9/08/05 Mike This was a awesome moive, I never laughted so hard before. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES What a great idea, silly yet excellently done 4 stars
8/08/05 C. Fidance I absolutely love this movie; Bruce and Ossie are terrific! 5 stars
7/23/05 Reverse_Bear-Trap_101_"SAW" Good... But, not great! 3 stars
6/14/05 DM So gleefully bizarre it's almost touching. The fact that it's funny doesn't hurt either. 4 stars
5/28/05 Gary Bruce is great, but everything else was disappointing. Saw in a theatre. 2 stars
4/20/05 Dan Fun cult film, especially for Bruce Campbell fans 4 stars
4/16/05 Cary Gordon Builds brilliant, 5 stars
4/04/05 Eugene Mortensen ok if you like camp strange films 3 stars
4/01/05 Tom Benton Clever, very funny horror-comedy; Campbell and Davis are terrific. 5 stars
3/24/05 malcontent strictly for Coscarelli and Campbell lovers 3 stars
3/23/05 erebus45 Charming, engaging and Very, very well done 5 stars
3/14/05 brody horan the man must only have one nut snd be 13 years old 5 stars
3/08/05 LarryV Nice little B-flick. Ossie Davis and Bruce C. rock. 4 stars
3/04/05 Sam Eskenazi not for the unintelligent 4 stars
3/02/05 HORAN THE MAN!!!!! ELVIS CAN SUCK MY LEFT NUT!! 1 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson THIS IS THE BRUCE CAMPBELL FILM TO REMEMBER & DON COSCARELLI'S AS WELL! TRULY GREAT!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/11/04 Phil M. Aficionado Campy, innovative labor of love; total fun; Bruce/Ossie just plain fabulous 5 stars
11/24/04 Jason If Brian Mckay likes this movie I don't trust any other review he does this movie sucks ass 1 stars
10/27/04 Raven nothing happens in this movie at all NOTHING, its a borefest with some ok characterization 1 stars
9/08/04 Otto Schmidt This movie is the best drama-horror-comedy I have ever seen :) 5 stars
8/30/04 Matthieu very NICE, ORIGINAL story, not a girl and a boy who makes love at the end 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge Hope they find the funds to make the prequels! 5 stars
8/22/04 Samuel Great, from beginning to end! 5 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best in the genre, that I've seen in a long time. 5 stars
7/24/04 Drew-P Great fun. I even thought the beetles did a nice job of acting. 4 stars
7/23/04 Lord Durvok 2 "NOBODY f**ks with the king!" 5 stars
7/19/04 N. Christopher Bell This movie sucks. And I'm a Bruce Campbell fan (actual member of the fanclub). 1 stars
7/19/04 Jessica Gill If you remember that it's supposed to be campy, you'll love it. 4 stars
7/16/04 Uncle Phucker Fucking genius! Unique and fun film. Great fun and actors. 5 stars
7/11/04 Jim Delivers laughs and a few genuine scares. Campbell & Davis both excellent. 4 stars
6/19/04 Jean Funny, crazy, bruce & elvis, no need to say more. 4 stars
6/11/04 Tony Merlocco Loved it! VERY FUNNY! 5 stars
6/11/04 Wolf Slightly overrated, but good acting all around. Musical score + Ossie were awesome. 3 stars
6/10/04 DodoLurker Tremendous effort by the actors, well-shot, just terrific 5 stars
6/10/04 Jack Bourbon It was a sebaceous cyst 5 stars
6/09/04 othree Elvis' character and dialog was the keeper 4 stars
6/07/04 tatum Original, hilarious, touching, loved it 5 stars
6/01/04 Turtle If an Elvis were to record a song to describe this film, it would be, "I'm All Fucked-Up." 4 stars
5/31/04 maggie imaginative-interesting 4 stars
5/27/04 A F Elvis, black JFK, Mummy, how can you go wrong? Who thinks this shit up? Genius, Pure Genius 5 stars
5/26/04 fixer Great fun... What more could you want? 5 stars
5/26/04 bigmomma its kinda dumb 3 stars
5/14/04 Lord Durvok 2 The fact that Bruce didn't win "Best Actor" for the year shows that there is no justice. 5 stars
5/10/04 Morally Sound Freaking hillarious! Bruce Campell IS Elvis! The part with the graffiti is so funny! 5 stars
5/02/04 DarthFredo excellent movie, very amusing 5 stars
4/11/04 Peter A great film that deals with old age and life in general 5 stars
3/18/04 Cary Gordon A bit slower than I expected in parts but still a really fun watch. 5 stars
3/09/04 Caiphn Finally got to see it! Drags in parts, Bruce as Elvis is top-notch. 4 stars
1/14/04 Betty White Ossie Davis is wonderful is this unique horror flick. 5 stars
1/09/04 AC No tantamount asskicking has ever been displyed. 5 stars
1/08/04 Kara Excellent!!!!! -- except for the final minute 5 stars
12/09/03 JJMAN FAN-Fucking-TASTIC! It's ok Barry, this movie wasn't made for morons without a clue. 5 stars
12/08/03 Dan Davis Excellent, ball-buster for sure!! 5 stars
12/06/03 Punk_Ass This is one great movie. Very funny, yet touching. barry, you are a fucking idiot. 5 stars
12/04/03 Andrew Callaway Most awesome movie ever? Yes. Better than Evil Dead II. See it NOW! 5 stars
12/01/03 Barry Weiner The voice-over is a cop-out. Don't tell me, show me. 1 stars
11/28/03 john oh boy..what a great surprise this movie is...honest, funny, endearing and very moving 5 stars
11/09/03 Lord Jiggy Touching, moving, surprising...in spite of cheesy horror and bedpan humor. 5 stars
10/26/03 Jen hilarious and yet strangely touching 5 stars
10/22/03 Lord Durvok II Great acting and story. At first I thought, "No way in hell is Bruce gonna pull this off!" 5 stars
10/18/03 Kyle FUCKING INCREDIBLE. 5 stars
10/16/03 Jaded I love Bruce and I saw this with a very open mind but it was a big snooze. Not funny. 3 stars
10/15/03 Robbie This was not written by Coscarelli, but adapted from the short by Joe R Lansdale 5 stars
10/14/03 Nancy Cary Truly original. Great acting. 5 stars
10/11/03 nick2k speaking from a non-fanboy stance...i must say this was damn good AND hella funny! 5 stars
10/06/03 Ryan Bruce Campbell IS Elvis. 5 stars
10/06/03 Erik Van Sant You too will want a growth on the end of your schlong...God bless you, Bruce Campbell. 5 stars
10/06/03 Titus I've been waiting for this forever, and it was worth it. GO! 5 stars
9/26/03 Jon This movie is retardedly good! 5 stars
9/25/03 John That was fantastic! Don't miss that movie!!!! 5 stars
9/22/03 The F-Bomb BRUCE CAMPBELL IS THE MESSIAH!!! ASH IS GOD!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/19/03 Lee Bubba Ho-Tep kicked all kinds of boo-tay! 5 stars
7/29/03 Sunnyd The film is great and we hope it gains the presentation it deserves!! 5 stars
7/11/03 Mike Smith Starts in Portland Oregon September 19th. www.bubbahotep.com 5 stars
7/05/03 Darren I drove 2 hours, waited in line 4 hours, got lucky with tickets and saw bruce as the king. 5 stars
6/16/03 matthew fuck 1 stars
5/30/03 Jonathan Stokes (Stokesy) Bruce is better that ever. Its about time he takes the leading over again since Evil Dead 5 stars
5/19/03 Wallace this was one of the best films i've ever seen, bruce is the man 5 stars
4/30/03 I think "steve" is my dad I thought it was very funny and a good mummy movie. 5 stars
4/29/03 Pete A wee bit of class on film 5 stars
3/31/03 Will awesome, awesome movie 5 stars
3/27/03 Mike Smith Incredible flick. See it if you can. 5 stars
3/24/03 Tom like it 3 stars
3/23/03 Goofy Maxwell Saw Bruce@E. Lansing Film Fest.: Presley estate makin' Don do the Ho-tep 2step. (inbreds!) 5 stars
3/12/03 Mister Bigglesworth Hollywood's distrubution sucks.(inbreds!) Give us damn good dvd and watch the sales soar! 5 stars
12/02/02 jason decent but slow. 3 stars
11/19/02 mj Saw it at Toronto. Amazing. Funny, yet surprisingly emotional. 5 stars
10/19/02 Marc Morrison It's like an introspective Evil Dead 4 5 stars
10/04/02 steve This film needs Distribution!!! 5 stars
10/03/02 XH It Rocks! 5 stars
9/15/02 jon solita Saw it at Flashback Weekend in Chicago. Great film, and has an unexpected emotional weight. 5 stars
9/10/02 will saw it at toronto film festival, it was excellent! 5 stars
8/30/02 E. H. Bennett Visually exciting, touching story, great acting all around. Please sell it soon, Don! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 25-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast