Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome38.29%
Worth A Look: 16.46%
Just Average: 5.7%
Pretty Crappy: 19.62%
Sucks: 19.94%

19 reviews, 202 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

Harriet by Jay Seaver

Greener Grass by Jay Seaver

Two Tigers by Jay Seaver

Dare to Stop Us by Jay Seaver

White Snake by Jay Seaver

Knives Out by Peter Sobczynski

21 Bridges by Jay Seaver

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Eyes Wide Shut
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Oh, my eyes are shut...I'm sleeping"
1 stars

Stanley Kubrick's final film is an artful mess that will hopefully be forgotten in light of his better work. Just because a cinematic genius dies after completing a film does not mean it will be destined to be a classic.

Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman are an unhappy doctor and his wife. They go to a party. Kidman flirts. Cruise flirts. They flirt and flirt. See Tom and Nicole flirt. They drink and flirt. Then Tom is called upstairs to talk to Sydney Pollack.

Apparently Syd's last few films have bombed, and...oh, wait, that was the conversation in between takes. Tom helps Syd's hooker out of a drug induced stupor. Tom and Nicole are on the verge of cheating on each other.

To make a very long movie short, Tom goes to a mysterious mansion where an orgy is going on. Tom is discovered. People begin disappearing. The ending is wrapped up in one neat and tidy package, and Tom and Nicole get back to making good movies, and a divorce.

I glossed over the plot, and let me explain. The plot does not matter! All of Kubrick's films have been screenwriting nightmares. "Full Metal Jacket": the first half was great, the second sucked. "The Shining": Kubrick hated King's book, and it shows. "Dr. Strangelove": a little long, with Peter Sellers having to play multiple roles (again) in order to make it entertaining. "Barry Lyndon": almost as slow as this film. "2001": do not lie to yourself and pretend to "get" the ending to that one, and so on and so on.

Kubrick is better known as a visualist, but here he fails as well. Not wanting to shoot in New York City, but in London, Cruise must act as if in the Big Apple and interact sometimes with the ancient backscreening process. It was not believable for one minute.

I think this film will go down in cinematic history as Kubrick's Hallway film. Never have I seen so many hallways in my life. Characters walk up hallways, they walk down hallways, they talk in hallways. The camera follows everyone to the hallway. I thought I was watching some nightmarish new show on Home and Garden Television: "Hallways! with Christopher Lowell".

Every scene here runs long. Every scene. Forty five minutes could have been trimmed off of this easy, and probably without losing any dialogue. The harsh piano score is also a punishment for the ears, it generates headaches and dizziness, not suspense or intrigue.

Tom Cruise? Awful. He runs around the English set, flashing his doctor's credentials like he is Dennis Franz on "NYPD Blue," and delivering all of his lines as if he, too, had no interest in what was going on. Nicole Kidman, when drunk, high, or sleepy (90% of her screen time) talks very slowly and it takes her five minutes to spit out a sentence or complete a line. Both actors have no chemistry together, and flounder under a lack of motivation. The shoot took a year, and it shows. Tom and Nicole's hair will change length and color, sometimes in the same scene; check out Nicole's dream recounting scene. The ending is tacked on, the supporting players will disappear after their scenes as if Kubrick and his cowriter stopped for lunch and forgot where they left off.

I think this is heralded by some because Kubrick was worshiped, therefore this work should be worshiped. Even geniuses have off days (or off years in this case), and I consider "Eyes Wide Shut" a pretentious, dull, unentertaining, lazy mess. I would rather remember Stanley fondly for better films.

If I want to watch a film about too-beautiful people and their sexual problems, I will rent an episode of "Red Shoes Diaries."

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=724&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/25/03 13:59:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/17 morris campbell intersting wellmade well acted but nothing special 4 stars
10/10/16 Louise Like a lot of Kubrick's stuff but this didn't really work. And Kidman was AWFUL! 2 stars
5/16/16 brian Beautifully filmed stool is still just a pile of crap. Snxxxxx.... 2 stars
3/21/15 stanley welles haunting and brilliantly executed 5 stars
7/29/14 D. The R. Slow, dull, inept dialogue, insultingly trite. Sorry, Stanley. 2 stars
6/10/14 Max Dreamlike, nightmarish and theatrical. Kubrick is a master. 5 stars
12/10/12 Nellie Kubrick's best movie. Riveting and engrossing, can't turn it off!!! 5 stars
2/19/11 Ark Great water-cooler mystery as what happened to Nightingale. B4 Cruise became such a douche! 5 stars
6/02/10 User Name Ignore the excessive sex, and you will find a richly layered masterpiece. 5 stars
5/13/10 Eyes Wide Shut: An Enigma I enjoy the intrigue raised in terms of the symbolism, "overt," dark references.. 4 stars
1/17/10 babette Secret Societies. 5 stars
3/11/09 PAUL SHORTT A STEAMY, DREAMY BIT OF FILMMAKING 2 stars
2/04/09 Faraz J Riding only on the nudity. Crappy movie. 2 stars
11/03/08 David If you're stupid, you'll probably hate this film. If not, it's truly stunning. 5 stars
4/11/08 Duke of Omnium Should have been called "Yuppiescum Almost Gets Laid". Dull, but pretentious. 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann As sexually stimulating as a hooker on novocaine.Cold & distant...a real weenie-shrinker! 1 stars
9/08/07 William Goss Thoroughly dull, so far as sexual odysseys go. 2 stars
4/09/07 fools♫gold Damn, are the DVD interviews something to watch. 5 stars
1/25/07 Matt Monumentally pretentious crap. Rather cut the balony and watch a fuck film. 1 stars
12/20/06 Bitchflaps Doesn't benefit from the mediocre leads, yet it's fascinating and compulsively rewatchable. 4 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini Kubrick must have died before this was finished and they just slapped a the footage togethe 1 stars
11/10/06 Bill Hi all 4 stars
7/07/06 chienne Very amusing review Parry, & quite right. Nicole should try play school. 1 stars
6/07/06 Peggy Doty TOTALLY AWFUL COULDN'T WATCH IT 1 stars
5/07/06 chienne Nicole Who? Absolute offal! WTF was that? Yurk!! 1 stars
2/02/06 John Cruise is way in over his head - not as good as expected 2 stars
12/02/05 Bleach A movie for the intelligent 5 stars
10/21/05 Luca Not entertaining, nor involving, nor erotic. A bad movie barely interesting to analyse. 2 stars
8/05/05 Pierre STANLEY KUBRICK IS THE GREATEST DIRECTOR OF ALL TIME, AND ALL OF YOU ARE LOSERS. 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones Fly Wide Open Let Down Pointless beyond belief 1 stars
5/01/05 Sophie terribly dissapointing 2 stars
3/17/05 indrid cold Not good. Incredibly ponderous in its pacing and self-importance. 2 stars
1/29/05 Kostas Boyiopoulos A masterful and complex anatomy of sexual fantasy, a masterpiece of Postmodernism. 5 stars
1/20/05 Mr. Durden Awesome movie, but if you don't like artsy stuff, you'll hate this. 5 stars
1/15/05 Shaun Only one reason to watch this movie and that's to see Nicole Kidman's awesome body! 2 stars
1/01/05 jake Bad movie only made somewhat bearable by the super sexy Nicole Kidman getting fucked hard 3 stars
11/12/04 Ginn Gold Jerry, Gold! 5 stars
11/10/04 monkeybear nothing can make this boring, stupid, headache inducing film appear clever. 1 stars
10/29/04 HL Talk About Erotic and Weird. Very Compelling 5 stars
8/07/04 john bale Nicole nice naked, with Kubrick CRUISING on Valium in fleshfest nightmare thriller 3 stars
8/07/04 Stuart Kidmans acting was irritating and overated - as was the movie 2 stars
7/14/04 malcolm nicole bucknekkit & ending with the word 'fuck' were cool, pretentious+wierd doesn't = good 3 stars
3/30/04 Nichael Paysden Senile old man's movie with a lousy title. 1 stars
2/08/04 KCobain The bomb. The absolute bomb. Brilliant! 5 stars
12/04/03 john Tom Cruise is slightly in over his head on this one and it shows - good concept but boring 3 stars
9/26/03 Jim-0404 Kubrick's best, Cruise's best. Hey Weinberg, IT IS A MASTERPIECE !!! 5 stars
7/30/03 Nicole Kubrick fan, but I totally didn't get this 2 stars
7/11/03 Indrid Cold It's excrutiatingly slow-paced with no intellectual or emotional payoff. 2 stars
6/17/03 Angela thought provoking with misleading plot lines comparable to hitchcock. visually stunning. 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Flawed but mesemrizing and entertaining. A better male lead would have helped. 4 stars
2/25/03 y2mckay High titty factor aside, this is truly and underappreciated Kubrick film. 4 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Bonerbility Factor: 9.8 Storyline: Absolute zero 1 stars
12/29/02 Joseph Hedrick Have no expectations 5 stars
12/18/02 Armando Del Romero Probably Kubrick's most neglected Masterpiece 5 stars
11/17/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies zzzzz - most boring orgy I have ever seen. No wonder Tom and Nicole split up 1 stars
11/03/02 Matthew Tragic 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum How can tits and ass be so damn boring? 1 stars
9/16/02 Zefram Mann Slow, pointless crap. The Flintstones is more intellectual than this shit. 1 stars
8/28/02 Iris Peduncle I used to copy Nicole Kidman, but now my butt is sore from not wiping it enough. 3 stars
8/05/02 R.L.A. masterpiece. 5 stars
7/26/02 karen goldstein Any One Who Likes This Movie Just Enjoys Wathcing Naked Women Cause The Movie Is BORING!! 1 stars
7/26/02 Soulis my wife and I have noticed that most men like this movie, most women hate it 4 stars
7/26/02 I Can't Swim Its a dream movie so it doesn't HAVE a plot! Young losers stay away, its too much for you! 5 stars
7/10/02 .Choadushouse. i love this movie. it's just so odd! thats all that matters! 5 stars
6/29/02 David A. Raises an issue--the creepy private lives of the rich and famous. I think they killed her. 4 stars
6/24/02 Law Kubrick lost it 2 stars
5/26/02 Nicole I could be wrong, but I didn't see a plot......just orgies. Hmm, sounds like porn. 2 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Aaaah..maybe Kubrick did this as a gag. maybe there IS NO meaning. It's soft porn, baby. 2 stars
3/11/02 KMG Ya know, I think this is just a documentary day in the life of Tommy. Sans Penelope. 4 stars
3/05/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress Boring and strange. I never thought Tom C. was gay before, but I do now; movie is gay too. 2 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Not Kubrick's best, but still very interesting. Ms. Kidman does a great job. 4 stars
2/24/02 iulian sorin nice 2 stars
2/24/02 John Linton Roberson Much more interesting had Kidman been the protagonist; still, good Kubrick, if not great. 4 stars
1/27/02 Jessica Davis Incomprehensible plus who wants to see Nicole Kidman wiping her butt &Leelee S. as a whore? 2 stars
12/28/01 Phil M. Afficianado Your mood, life views, values, principles will largely determine your reaction. But see it 4 stars
11/03/01 Hunter Nicole Kidman Nude-What a Surprise! Too bad there's nothing to see! 1 stars
10/31/01 Harrison C. (Earnest Man) Vinessa and Leelee are favorite stars in this film 4 stars
10/30/01 daniel mr. cruise was in way over his head in this one i'm afraid. 4 stars
10/10/01 esat duymus I love this film because of nicole kidman.I think she is wonderful actriss 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Only Kubrick could make such a fucking cool movie out of such a limp story. 5 stars
7/13/01 othree Cruise was his awsome self, Kidman was weak/confusing, kinky society pft! it was a big mess 2 stars
7/02/01 INCUBATOR Sometimes u just don`t no why it`s so good 5 stars
6/27/01 Steve A wholesome film for the entire family! Get the kids in the Taurus and go see this one! 2 stars
6/19/01 PaleDavid Compelling. Unnerving. Sex reduced to dirt. Brilliant. 5 stars
6/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby The Master tries hard but I refuse to trash him or the movie 4 stars
6/03/01 Sir Harrison Chough I have this movie, but I never watch it because it's too long, too slow and unexciting 2 stars
5/21/01 Harrison Chough My favorite woman was only shown once in this movie 2 stars
4/29/01 :P Something different, but the worst closing dialogue in cinema history without doubt. 4 stars
4/20/01 Harrison Chough I wish Vinessa Shaw had been shown more. She wasn't shown enough 4 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L the Godfather is a moron 1 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! UGH! Five UGHS! 1 stars
3/28/01 Jamie O'Neill Eyes Wide Shut is a unique film. 5 stars
3/16/01 Kook Sloooooooooooooooooooow. Kidman sucked. 1 stars
3/07/01 Sanja please tell me, why do we have to watch their own bed problems?! 1 stars
3/01/01 Scott Kubrick's last film is about infidelity in a lonely marrige not sex.Not his best though 4 stars
2/16/01 Michael Nicholls Fastidiously crafted, directorially commanding and endlessly intriging... 5 stars
2/03/01 Althaia This movie sucked. 1 stars
1/31/01 Big Isil strange, provoking, a bit slow, Kubrick leaves with some dignity 4 stars
1/22/01 Sully tried to like it- but it just plain sucked. slow pace made me furious. waste of time. 2 stars
1/21/01 jmr kubrick's last and best 5 stars
11/14/00 salvo toscano love Kubrick, but this film doesn't work at all. And Tom's pretty crappy 3 stars
10/24/00 Viking Grow a brain, Gremlin...you've missed the point !!! 5 stars
10/23/00 Gremlin Shitiest movie I have ever seen. I wipe my ass on this gay ass movie. Patooie! 1 stars
8/31/00 JB McMichael Kubrick can't do shit right. Worst dribble I have ever seen. 1 stars
8/07/00 Elvisfan maybe i am not smartenough to grasp it all but it bored me for the most part 3 stars
8/01/00 Delusia Kubrick does no wrong! 5 stars
6/19/00 Beavis Not enough nudity, dammit! Change it, Butthead! 3 stars
5/29/00 danilo i'm not sure if i got it all, but its visual beauty stunned me 5 stars
5/08/00 dimlight A DR Evil lookalike stalking Tom Cruise it doesn't get any funnier than that!!! 3 stars
3/30/00 misternuts Film is a stunning, cerebral journey. The end does make sense (irony - Clockwork Orange). 5 stars
3/29/00 yankee great, why do guys do dumb shit. This will stay with you. 5 stars
3/25/00 Matthew Smith kubrick is a master. will stay in your mind for days to come 5 stars
3/24/00 Lesley worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
3/19/00 Keith Only Very intelligent Kubrick fans will get it. If your not, don't see it. 5 stars
3/04/00 Ryan Of course it's not sexy. It's not meant to be. It's meant to be scary and dreamlike. 4 stars
2/17/00 Andi C. I HATED this movie 1 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman i can't describe my disappointment. (maybe i just did) read the book - it's great! 1 stars
12/01/99 Sam Iyengar A piece of trash. I agree with Kidmann's last word "Fuck", except you add "ed" at the end. 1 stars
11/26/99 don stimulates your mind 5 stars
11/22/99 Ralf Behet Not without flaws, but absorbing most of the way. Cruise is fine in the lead. 5 stars
11/20/99 Vick Di Brecci A nice slow high 5 stars
11/18/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Kubrick strays well off the beaten path in this one, weird, kind of a David Lynch feel. 5 stars
11/18/99 Tyson Stewart The most brilliant, haunting art picutre ever made. It perfect in every way! 5 stars
11/07/99 Mickey More Kubrick's recent death almost seems justified. Sex has never been so unappealing. 1 stars
11/04/99 Mike Quite riveting 4 stars
10/31/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules I made a mess in my sheets. 1 stars
10/26/99 Katherine One of the best movie I have seen this year ! 5 stars
10/26/99 pipeman Masterful. The best movie in years. 5 stars
10/26/99 Ed The best movie I've ever seen first run in the theatres. Kubrick is the master. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan The ultimate sex relationships film. I don't know what the ones who hate it were expecting. 5 stars
10/25/99 the snu very tasty,be prepared to debate over it with loved ones.... 4 stars
10/20/99 Antti Where's the story. All I saw was sex after sex 1 stars
10/18/99 Tommi People who think this is crappy should be shot 5 stars
10/17/99 JonnyAngel Great date movie! (ummmm, No) 2 stars
10/07/99 Jonny Too bad Stan the Man had to end with this mess. 2 stars
9/19/99 Costars Flawed but fascinating 5 stars
9/18/99 RelliK Fucking Awesom 5 stars
9/10/99 Timbo I love flesh Flesh rules like OZZY 5 stars
9/08/99 azzad snoozefest 2 stars
9/08/99 Raymond Great! 5 stars
9/04/99 Weird Andy At it's best in its quiet moments. Pollack is terrific. 4 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread It feels like genius, but Kubrick still was missing something 4 stars
8/21/99 the Schlock Like every other one of Kubrick's films... it kicked all ass. 5 stars
8/21/99 Olivia Neutron-Bomb Bloody fantastic, and that's that. 5 stars
8/20/99 Fork Those that haven't seen Dr. Strangelove and The Shining should not see this movie. 5 stars
8/20/99 Heather Intriguing, thought provoking movie, great cinematography 5 stars
8/18/99 Geoff Yikes! The director ain't the only thing that's dead... 2 stars
8/17/99 reveal Pretty stupid 1 stars
8/14/99 Keith Kubrick is a Fucking Genius! If you think this is a porno film, you are a fucking idiot! 5 stars
8/12/99 ADD Awful. 1 stars
8/12/99 Elizaveta The music, the cinematography, EVERYTHING, lives up to Kubrick's vision - one of his best! 5 stars
8/12/99 Pierce Lanson Over-hyped, slow, absolutely non-erotic,nice photography 2 stars
8/12/99 Steve Kelley Like Thin Red Line, those "it's brilliant" reviews are so much pomposity. 3 stars
8/10/99 Andy Truely one of the great cinematic masterpieces!! 5 stars
8/03/99 c790 A Kubrick masterpiece. People will talk about this film for 20 years 5 stars
8/03/99 jeff call All undressed with no place to go-- it was really weak--nice tits Nicole 2 stars
8/02/99 Trevor Snow Good flick. Might not be one you'd take your girlfriend to. 4 stars
8/02/99 beachlovr9 Tom is the only one who did a good job in this film. It was a great story line though. 4 stars
8/01/99 JimBob lots of gratuitous T.&A. but whats the point??? 3 stars
8/01/99 Elmyr23@yahoo.com An hour too long, thirty years too late 2 stars
7/31/99 danwild Worst film Kubrick ever made. Was he trying to show how stupid the superstars are? 2 stars
7/31/99 Curt Neuman There are people who understand what Kubrick is saying and peope who don't. You don't. 5 stars
7/29/99 Fork The best movie of the last 3 years. 5 stars
7/28/99 Sabina Great film 5 stars
7/27/99 bewitch324@aol.com Really slow and boring. Very self-indulgent and shallow. Nicole is excellent as usual. 2 stars
7/27/99 sydney a beautiful film full of Freudian twists and turns 5 stars
7/27/99 Doug Thompson (DGThompson@aol.com) Big fan of all people involved, but this movie was a big disappointment. 3 stars
7/27/99 kizirk seeing as i didn't know what to expect when i walked into the theater i was impressed 4 stars
7/26/99 Michael E. Bryant unquestionably Kubrick's worst film and the worst of 1999. 1 stars
7/26/99 Todd Roberts Brutal film. Couldn't care less for the characters 2 stars
7/26/99 Mavraam I kept waiting for a point. I still am! 1 stars
7/26/99 emperor Kubrick is a genius, 5 stars
7/26/99 Blubberbot If you love Kubrick you'll love this film. 5 stars
7/26/99 Bitch Hypnotic, provocative and haunting, it is one of Kubrick's best films. 5 stars
7/25/99 critic very disappointing--the last line of the movie topped it all off--watching it is absurd 1 stars
7/25/99 Randall Beautiful, that's all I can say 5 stars
7/24/99 The Graduate A brilliant look at male fantasy and the temptation of infidelity. Kubrick did it again! 5 stars
7/23/99 dowdy Eyes Wide Shut is an extraordinary film that was very different from what I expected 5 stars
7/22/99 16 in. of swingin' meat and a bucket of balls Kubrick got lucky. I didn't get to die after watching this turd. 1 stars
7/22/99 Kirgo1 An empty trip into Prentense.Horny boys who can';t afford porn will like it. 1 stars
7/22/99 jvt Those who loved THE THIN RED LINE are the same who will like this 5 stars
7/22/99 Cody Cannon burns a wicked trip into your brain for days after its over 5 stars
7/21/99 tigerlette focus:redemption-vidio,nice-audio,awful 4 stars
7/21/99 PhilmPhreak Wow Naked Nicole, zzzzzzzzz, wow naked chicks, zzzzzz, look at all the sex, zzzzz 4 stars
7/21/99 grunter hollow, unconvincing, pretentious, ultimately saying nothing 1 stars
7/21/99 Jim Holthaus A movie that will leave you wondering what you just saw. 4 stars
7/21/99 Nessus Surreal, but still poignent, delivered at a snails pace with maximum effect 5 stars
7/21/99 Hypnos Amazing, disturbing, provoking, intellectual, and passionate. Just plain fucking brilliant. 5 stars
7/19/99 Coxian dragged-out, long, & dull/eerie exorcist piano best part 2 stars
7/19/99 Bob, Lord of Evil You cannot watch this movie- You have to be in it. 5 stars
7/19/99 ALiaS wow, one of those films that makes you sit there about 5 mins after it ended 5 stars
7/18/99 Zoit other than the naked chics, this movie sucked! 2 stars
7/18/99 Randall Made me feel dirty, i liked it 5 stars
7/18/99 bridgette less than i expected, but still quite good. music is haunting, and you have to love alan c! 4 stars
7/17/99 Arkansas Jon A slow but gripping study on the effects of jealousy. Sad that WB caved with the edits. 4 stars
7/17/99 David M. Hoats Very compelling, portraying sex and nudity as mysterious, exciting and yet common place. 5 stars
7/17/99 wendy@internetx.net Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman make this film excellent! 5 stars
7/17/99 dbx nudity, and leaves you wondering... ! 5 stars
7/17/99 buddy Hail it just because it's Kubrick? I think not. 1 stars
7/17/99 Ariel Interesting in many ways. Why they had to be that famous couple in the whole world??? 4 stars
7/17/99 Michelle One of the few movies this summer that REALLY makes you think. 5 stars
7/16/99 tigerlette long but visually beautiful and redemptive 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-1999 (R)
  DVD: 12-Jun-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Aug-1999 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast