Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome: 31.15%
Worth A Look54.1%
Just Average: 4.92%
Pretty Crappy: 3.28%
Sucks: 6.56%

3 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Four Weddings and a Funeral
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by LitzaMo

"Sex, Sex, Sex!"
4 stars

Okay, so when I saw this movie for the first time I was in the midst of an adolescent obsession with Hugh Grant. Sue me. That doesn't keep it from being a decent flick.

Four Weddings and a Funeral, aka Notting Hill, Mark One. I think that the creators of Four Weddings felt so bad about the script they wrote for Andie MacDowell that they just had to redo the story with a better actress in the lead role, with better lines to say. (Not that I'm an Andie fan, but it's got to be damn difficult to pull of lines like "Is it still raining? I hadn't noticed," and even approach being convincing.)

I really, really like this movie. There are some priceless comic devices worked into the script, and I actually cry every time I watch the funeral scene, probably because the character who dies is one of the more endearing, energetic guys I"ve ever seen onscreen. The first wedding (for those of you who don't know, basically the entire movie takes place at four separate weddings and one funeral, with some in-between shots) is just fabulous. Charles (Hugh Grant), the best man, forgets the rings and ends up with a pewter skull ring and a plastic gaudy flower, donated by his friends. The folk singers are a riot. And then there is the HAT on Carrie (Andie MacDowell). This is really the first thing we notice about her. Carrie is not the most likeable person, yet Charles finds himself absolutely enamored with her immediately. (At one point, Carrie recounts her sexual conquests. Thirty-three at last count...) After meeting at the wedding and discovering that they're staying at the same inn, Carrie and Charles, of course, spend the night together, after which she asks him when they're announcing the engagement. Of course it's a joke, but the look on his face is pretty keen. Anywho, Charles finds out that Carrie's engaged and that's when the movie kind of dies. Charles has a great group of friends, and they provide some heavenly comic relief, and as I said before, one ridiculously moving scene with poetry by W.H. Auden. When Charlie gets seated with every lasst one of his ex-girlfriends at one wedding, the results are simultaneously mortifying and hilarious. And the final scene... It seemed to me that the writers just didn;'t want to write anymore, so they picked the most trite ending (in the rain, no less!) that they possibly could have. Overall, it's a good watch. Not worth going to the theaters for, but that's a moot issue.

Four Weddings and a Funeral: Quite good, but Andie MacDowell comes THISCLOSE to ruining it with flat delivery and bad scripting.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=749&reviewer=222
originally posted: 07/02/00 20:36:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/10/17 Suzanne my favorite Hugh Grant movie; also love the supporting cast 4 stars
3/16/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING COMEDY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/09/09 Anonymous. a really good comedy and one of hugh grant's best. 4 stars
9/18/07 Ben Larson Funniest movie i have ever seen. 5 stars
3/19/07 Brian Clever, cute and hilarious, but not devoid of hideous moments and sappy dialogue 4 stars
9/19/06 rebecca favorite movie ever! laugh every time i watch it. 5 stars
5/20/06 chienne Andie was totally miscast, who's the casting clown in this film? Great film despite her. 5 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz Amusing. Not your typical comedy. 4 stars
12/01/05 Indrid Cold A letdown given how famous it is; about as deep as a frisbee. Frequently funny though. 4 stars
9/28/05 faith shallow, boring sex role-reversal crap - Hugh: "You never rang, you never wrote..." - 2 stars
7/11/05 Tom Benton Terrific, very funny romantic comedy. Curtis' script is great, as is Hugh Grant. 4 stars
3/08/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Always has been one of my favorite films. 5 stars
2/22/05 julia one of best movies ever 5 stars
1/02/05 UMER great comedy-great movie 5 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams that gorgeous poem during the funeral scene is the best part 5 stars
10/27/04 Carolyn Metz one of my all - time favourites 5 stars
8/18/04 Peter B. Simply great and funny! 5 stars
2/21/04 Dagmar Raulin Hugh Grant was great and his supporting cast was also. 4 stars
12/08/03 john a wonderfully charming film - one of the best of its kind 5 stars
11/07/03 Littlepurch Can't fault it! Loved almost every minute. Atkinson, Fleet & other actors all gr8 5 stars
10/20/03 Rebecca pretty funny 4 stars
6/07/03 John Bale Classic British comedy - they do it well. MacDowell least well. 5 stars
4/06/03 R.W. Welch Droll, if somewhat predictable. The writing saves it. 4 stars
12/29/02 Tam Funny and endearing. With the exception of McDowell, characterisation is strong & profound 5 stars
11/22/02 CVJ Andie McDowell is crap but is still a great movie. 5 stars
10/28/02 Charles Tatum Andie's character is so repugnant, how can anyone fall in love with her? 1 stars
3/15/02 Frances ANDIE MCDOWELL SUX ,THE SHITTY CRACKWHORE! and dont insult us english u yankee bastards. 4 stars
2/02/02 Anus Naysayers go back to Americunt fart jokes you fucknig lamers. 5 stars
11/26/01 KMG There's no way to polish a turd, folks 1 stars
10/28/01 Gary Likeable, not too sentimental rom-com. Well-acted, and MacDowell isn't too annoying. 4 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg Great British comady .Andie Mcdowell is a mega babe . 5 stars
3/29/01 Shenai Anderson Its a brilliant movie and was well acted. 4 stars
3/22/01 Thomas J. should have been titled FOUR FUNERALS AT THE WEDDING 1 stars
3/24/00 Lesley i didn't like it I'm afraid! 3 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Tripe. 2 stars
3/01/99 Rachel I loved this movie. Best part is the moving eulogy at the funeral. 5 stars
2/01/99 Matthew Bartley Isnt it good to know rich people have crap love lives too? 1 stars
1/23/99 Hannah I was highly entertained. Liz Hurley?!? Come ON. MacDowell was good enough. 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce He should have married Fifi. Or Duckface. 4 stars
9/27/98 Heather Holder Love this movie! Packed with wit, humor, and a poignant view of singledom. 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs I loved it. Andie MacDowell must DIE for the performance that ruined the movie. 4 stars
9/01/98 J-Guy eh. it was all right. 3 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee a lot more boring than it's given credit for. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Mar-1994 (R)
  DVD: 31-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast