Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.67

Awesome: 9.76%
Worth A Look: 25%
Just Average: 18.29%
Pretty Crappy: 16.46%
Sucks30.49%

10 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


End of Days
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Take your loved ones, and watch ‘em squirm."
4 stars

“End of Days” is, first and foremost, a movie that rocks; director Peter Hyam lays aside all else and concentrates on making every single second worth your moviegoing dollar. He creates a world shrouded in a pre-Millenial tension and then sits back while his stars blows up huge, bullet riddled chunks of it. If this doesn’t sound like a good time yet, wait until I tell you about the orgies, the exploding churches, and the crufixion scene—ESPECIALLY the crucifixion scene.

Loads of audiences will hate this movie for one reason or another; if it’s not the violence, it’ll be the slack filmmaking, and if it’s not the slack filmmaking, it’ll be the awful acting. None of those things matter, really, once you get into the movie, and I believe anybody who watches it with the right mindset will think it’s cool as ice cubes.

Like me. I went in looking for explosions, blood, and nudity. I got all three things in large amounts, with much style and plenty of jump cutting. Think the movie is pedestrian? Right you are, buck-o, but that just happens to be Hyam’s biggest charm. He slaps appropriate amounts of firepower on the screen without pretense or posturing—just good, devilish fun. The copious amounts of ultraviolence showcased here should be more than enough to wake an audience weened on Bruckheimer from their action-lite stupor.

Basically, this is a man’s film—gruesome and garrish, even the moments of beauty are found amidst huge floor ripping explosions. Pay attention and witness how much fun Hyam has turning a church into a funhouse of destruction, pews rising from the ground in waves and stained glass shattering every which way. Before this scene comes Arnold’s magical awakening, and while you can see right through the moment, you can feel it in your stomach—faith-restoration as brash, gut churning cinema.

If you sit back, look past the one liners and wooden performances, and pay attention to how joyful the action sequences are, you might just have a good time. And if you’re really in the mood, you’ll be teleported right out of the theater—not the world’s most groundbreaking trick (it is cinema, after all), but it is something to be savored in this woefully Bruckheimer-ed day and age.

Snap to attention, pussy—if you’ve ever bitched about generic actioners, this is for you. Don’t miss it.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=798&reviewer=123
originally posted: 11/30/99 17:39:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell it rips of the exorcist & and rosemarys baby good effects though still it sux 1 stars
7/28/14 The Hammer Schwarzenegger crucified! Satan fuses a mother & daughter during an orgy! Devilishly Good 4 stars
3/13/10 PAUL SHORTT NASTY AND OVER-THE-TOP 1 stars
8/29/09 the dork knight The Devil Pees gasoline? 4 stars
8/12/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 5 stars
8/09/08 Bnorm I wouldnt have elected him after seeing this turd thats for sure 1 stars
10/23/07 Ivana Mann The best of the worst laugh-till-you-pee millenium "thrillers." 1 stars
4/23/07 Indrid Cold Byrne never actually does anything cool. Contrast with Al Pacino in Devil's Advocate. 2 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini saw it but have no memory so it must have sucked 3 stars
2/19/06 Ronin Horrible script from the purely logical point of view. Arnold OK, Robin Tunney v. cute. 2 stars
10/29/05 chris good film i enjoyed it fully 5 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson All I could possibly say is, I liked it a lot better than STIGMATA & LOST SOULS! FUN!!!!!!! 4 stars
4/28/04 X Just terrible 1 stars
3/16/04 Brando FAH! 1 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr This movie caused my eyes to bleed 1 stars
11/29/03 john end of arnold 1 stars
9/09/03 Dreafre As a friday night TV diversion it has its moments 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Uneven and silly, but also very entertaining. A guilty pleasure. 4 stars
1/13/03 CAPTAIN FOX GREAT FILM OVERALL ARNOULDS BEST EVER 5 stars
10/26/02 MarktheShark6 Hey, at least the soundtrack was decent, right? 1 stars
7/11/02 KMG When they say end of days they really mean end of good movies 3 stars
4/05/02 Junshi Um...I'm not sure I remember anything but errm...the plot is utterly worthless. 1 stars
3/29/02 Evan The Critic I'll go to church when I want to learn about the bible. Go rent Total Recall instead 2 stars
3/01/02 Alan Smithee Nothing but a complete pile of shit. 1 stars
1/14/02 Magnum Craphole The most embarassing thing Arnold ever did. Pure garbage. 1 stars
12/14/01 Cracked head One of the stupidest movies ever made. 1 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid Poor Byrne. What a fallout since "The Usual Suspects." 2 stars
11/24/01 Cookie Cutter An insult. 1 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Not asgoodas I expected,but scary if U see it when 1st released.Past y2k,no scare no flare. 2 stars
8/05/01 badfish First i love Arnie.That said this was a big piece of stinky Yak dung! 1 stars
7/14/01 officer 412/l arnie you've past it. you are to old to be doing action movies and you cant act. 1 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Pure Arnie Junk. I love action films, but this blew big time. 1 stars
6/11/01 Crisis Management This movie sucks, and Chef ADogg proves again he's a total idiot with no clue whatsoever. 1 stars
5/01/01 TNT-6 "This movie is shit" and laughing their ass off. That's how everybody was in the theater. 1 stars
4/23/01 Luke Arnie Arnie Arnie! 4 stars
4/04/01 hum wow this is dumb! Did the writters do ANY research? 1 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Arnie, what the hell happened to you... this one BLOWS DONKEYS! 1 stars
1/25/01 Diego Romero It´s just pure Arnie action 4 stars
1/16/01 The Terminator Probalbly Schwarenegger's most underrated movie 4 stars
1/14/01 Action freak Dark thriller, I liked it 4 stars
1/10/01 Jason Rowlands End of Days rocks! It shows that even the Devil can be outwitted. 5 stars
12/31/00 R.W. Welch Pretty well done villain, otherwise not much. 2 stars
12/24/00 bub you are all going to hell for comments like that!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/26/00 JC23 I really enjoyed this movie 4 stars
9/26/00 Terrie Smith Arnie's done better but the film has its moments; good visual effects. 4 stars
6/21/00 Visc I don't care what other people say, this is a good movie. 4 stars
6/03/00 OS Oh come on, this movie isn't that bad 4 stars
6/01/00 Wafer too many gratuitous Arnold grunts and irrelevant alcoholism references 1 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy Could have ben better, but it was still pretty good. 4 stars
5/22/00 Monday Morning $50 mil for EFX, not a farthing for original thinking. 2 stars
5/20/00 mellemel Bad. Really Bad. 1 stars
5/18/00 Steve A great performance by Byrne, an entertaining flick 4 stars
5/14/00 Chrissy T Why does Gabriel never live to see daylight.He's the Devil.Let the man get some for once. 2 stars
5/02/00 matt entertaining movie, but not awesome, however extremely entertaining 4 stars
4/26/00 Leo Chef ADogg is right this is by no means a great movie but an entertaining one 4 stars
4/22/00 The Bomb 69 surprisingly enjoyable 4 stars
4/18/00 foxgroundcolt "easy with the hardware!!!" 4 stars
4/09/00 Bruce Not one of Arnold's great movies, but it was decent 4 stars
3/14/00 Lame-Oh GO SEE THE NINTH GATE 1 stars
3/09/00 movieman has it's highs and lows, but overall it was entertaining 4 stars
3/05/00 Captain Highcrime Hilarious to hear Arnie butcher the phrase "Glock Nine Millimeter." 3 stars
2/11/00 James Woodman Good solid return for arnie 4 stars
2/08/00 Ed Wood very enjoyable 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Poor script. Arnie proves he cannot act. Byrnes is very good. 3 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler i enjoyed it 5 stars
1/14/00 Marli I can't say anything about this movie 3 stars
1/13/00 henry hill I enjoyed this film 5 stars
1/12/00 heroinchic Come on Arnie! Back to basics. Stop playing the Goodies. Your boring unless bad 2 stars
1/12/00 master this is a good film 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d i liked it 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d i liked it 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d i liked it 5 stars
1/11/00 dr.d underated 5 stars
1/09/00 Aiken Drum Its Arnie saving the world, what a guy. 3 stars
1/05/00 Joel Harwood Freaky 5 stars
1/05/00 Ian Rivlin Pathetic claptrap 1 stars
12/24/99 Stu Shoot me, shoot me now, please. 2 stars
12/23/99 Wafer I've never seen a worse movie & every fight scene was filled w/ excessive schwarzen-grunts 1 stars
12/22/99 Matrinka Oh god... I'd rather let Satan win than watch this movie again. 1 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz Simply put... shite. 1 stars
12/16/99 Lame-Oh this was campier and stupider than the ad. Lies, lies, LIES! 1 stars
12/11/99 Obi Wan The Devil is the shit, Gabriel Rocked it!! Bruce Willis should have played Jericho 3 stars
12/09/99 Sher worst movie in the world..priests are so pathetic that they allowed Arnold to fight satan.. 1 stars
12/07/99 JonnyAngel Even after all the bad reviews, I relly thought I'd like it, but... 2 stars
12/07/99 majawat um, not good. Not good at all. But not painful at least. 2 stars
12/07/99 Cheryl Man, people TOLD me not to see this piece of shit and I didn't listen... 1 stars
12/05/99 Ami the wonderbread I just don't buy Jericho's "strength" at the end to defeat Satan. Whatever. 1 stars
12/05/99 Amy Lamest script I've ever heard, but Gabriel Byrne was good. At least it wasn't boring. 3 stars
12/05/99 Wojtek Arciszewski Reminded me of British cooking... some interesting moments... but over all a bland meal 2 stars
12/03/99 joe chip Its amazing what you'll agree to when you're on fire 2 stars
12/03/99 russ johnson THIS MOVIE SUCKED MAJOR ASS.....ARNOLD IT IS TIME TO RETIRE 1 stars
12/02/99 Kevin Way Cheesy. Boring. If you must see it, catch it on cable in about... two weeks. 1 stars
12/02/99 Carlos G. Lamas A Terrible Waste of Film and Time 1 stars
12/02/99 Roman A damn fun time 5 stars
11/30/99 Vaughn Allen Let's not get hung up on being cynical- this movie was fun as hell 5 stars
11/30/99 MickCollins The biggest piece of shit since "Spawn" 1 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules This movie was so brilliant. It truly moved me in ways a movie has never moved me before. 1 stars
11/28/99 George Nedelchev Good one-liners are not enough. Disappointing comeback for Arnie. 2 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel this was one huge P.O.S. Arnie has gotten very desperate for a film. 1 stars
11/26/99 The King of the Bros I just liked it when that old lady kicked Arnold's ass. 3 stars
11/25/99 CATM The ending gave it a higher rating, but could've been better.Too gorey 3 stars
11/25/99 Lame-Oh could have been better 3 stars
11/24/99 Thomas Aquinas...man, that wasn't even original in the movie... Byrne was fun to watch, & Arnold's old reliable, but there's an excess of jokeyness 4 stars
11/23/99 Ramsay With less action and a real actor, it might have been interesting 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Nov-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast