Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.73

Awesome30.38%
Worth A Look30.38%
Just Average: 25.32%
Pretty Crappy: 10.13%
Sucks: 3.8%

4 reviews, 55 user ratings


Latest Reviews

In Action by Erik Childress

Spiral (2021) by Peter Sobczynski

Woman in the Window, The (2021) by Peter Sobczynski

Those Who Wish Me Dead by Peter Sobczynski

Oxy Kingpins, The by Jay Seaver

Dry, The by Jay Seaver

Water Man, The by Jay Seaver

Who We Are: A Chronicle of Racism in America by Jay Seaver

About Endlessness by Rob Gonsalves

I Was a Simple Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Titan A.E.
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Clint Morris

"Matt Damon is tooned in 'Good Home Hunting'"
3 stars

"Titan A.E" (the AE means After Earth) is a slick, animated film from the Fox Animation Studios that combines superb looking sketchings with a furious rock'n'roll soundtrack. Forget plot, this film looks superb with it's combination of computer generated images and animation.

Plot, by the way, is of a young man named Cale (Matt
Damon) forced to live on a space station ever since his
home planet, Earth, blew up 15 years earlier.
Cale discovers he is sort of a golden child and can
bring the humans back together, thanks to a map he possesses
that can help him and his new human friends find his
late father's spaceship, Titan. Of course, there are these
alien creatures on their tails at all times.
Sort of like a "Star Wars" for youngsters, "Titan A.E"
doesn't exactly have the plot of a Disney gem, but it's
original in the fact that it's a toon that may appeal to
a much older audience. The soundtrack rocks.

Another fine effort from the Fox animation team, after the rather enjoyable "Anastasia".

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=801&reviewer=238
originally posted: 12/11/00 01:57:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/19/21 morris campbell not bad 4 stars
2/13/21 Lil' Buddy From the creators of An American Tail, Rock a Doodle and Anastasia. 5 stars
9/24/12 FIEVEL MOUSEKEWITZ Directed by DON BLUTH (THE RESCUERS,AN AMERICAN TAIL and THE LAND BEFORE TIME). 5 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles Fun 4 stars
12/17/09 Alana Hignite Of course it's a kiddie stuff, of course it's child oriented- IT'S A KID MOVIE! 5 stars
8/29/09 CTT Surprising, strong animated effort 5 stars
1/22/06 Alana Hignite The Best Animated Movie Not In This World! 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Better than the critics said, a solid romp with some cool stuff tossed in 4 stars
10/02/04 arimla it,s okay 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Heart-warming and good! 5 stars
11/27/03 Joseph As long as it's not a Disney film, it's in my collection. 5 stars
5/20/03 Doc Shock I was entertained. 4 stars
10/18/02 Bluth Liker Deluxe An impressive Lensman animated film! Despite the box office, this is one of 2001's best. 4 stars
9/06/02 Ramblin Wreck Not a bad movie per se.......I was just waiting for Cale to shout "KHAAAANNNN"!!!!! 3 stars
12/02/01 D.Subbub This movie might have been better if they slowed it down a little 4 stars
10/28/01 Shell I personally loved this movie.. 5 stars
10/07/01 Andrew Carden Nothing Special Going On Here. 3 stars
8/01/01 KC Au Poor choice of voices. Nothing special here. Don't listen to Roger Ebert! Rent Anime! 3 stars
7/28/01 Steve Over-commercialized soundtrack, but definitely a movie worth watching. Too bad sales sucked 4 stars
7/27/01 Turtle This movie is a lot of fun, but there were a few things that bothered me. 4 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart It was a great film. I agree with Agglepraxis. 5 stars
5/01/01 Agglepraxis It was a "Star Wars" to me; I found the action and theme of hope captivating. 5 stars
4/21/01 ashira its a fuckin great film what ya on!!! 5 stars
3/28/01 SNAKEEYES EVE It's a really cool movie ! I just loved the soundtrack! 5 stars
3/23/01 Alex Simply astounding visually 5 stars
2/16/01 Dan Good movie, great soundtrack 5 stars
2/05/01 Brian Beautiful animation...lame plot. 4 stars
2/02/01 brentley great animated movie. i was very impressed. 4 stars
1/25/01 Craig slick film, well thought out plot if only it ran longer and played louder!!! 4 stars
1/22/01 dave not only were the vocies unreal, the animation and story were far deeper! give it a chance! 5 stars
1/05/01 Viking Great animation, pedestrian story 3 stars
12/11/00 cinemaestro70 Splended Visuals!!...What Plot? I don't care!! Foregeound character animation sucks! 4 stars
12/10/00 Adam Hail Hitler 5 stars
11/20/00 DREDD Worth watching twice, nice graphics and animation, but weak story line. 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin a HORRIBLE plot; child-oriented characters; good thing it was a box-office disaster 1 stars
11/09/00 The Bomb 69 the 3D animation was amazing, the story was pretty weak 3 stars
11/09/00 Grimlock I don't know what most people thought about this movie that was bad, i liked it 5 stars
9/07/00 Richard Wright The two styles of animation don't mix, and the story is basically ho-hum sci-fi drivel. 2 stars
8/25/00 Eric I liked it, so what!!! 5 stars
7/22/00 Digitalus nice 3D background, brilliant animation, better than Battlefield Earth 4 stars
6/25/00 Bubby What a steaming load. Save your money. 1 stars
6/21/00 frank the animation was horribly inconsistent and the story was cheesy. 1 stars
6/19/00 WinX 2D foreground graphics with 3D backgrounds look FAKE. 3 stars
6/19/00 Captain Highcrime Also very reminiscent of Transformers: The Movie (Unicron, the Autobot matrix, etc). 4 stars
6/19/00 B.O.B. Same kiddie animation fluff with cgi thrown in - take your money and buy "The Iron Giant" 2 stars
6/19/00 Chuck Craig Has its problems but I think it is the best animated movie since the original Heavy Metal 4 stars
6/18/00 Futuristic Underdog Hero Much better than I thought - very impressive animation, & better storywise than "Star Wars" 5 stars
6/18/00 Nessus Check logic at the door. 2 year old CG backgrounds with 20 year old animation pasted on. 3 stars
6/18/00 Cutter Newmoon I was expecting to be disappointed. That didn't happen. 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte nicely done 4 stars
6/18/00 ChuckEye Good blend, decent action, fun characters 5 stars
6/18/00 Thor-Leo Forget Akima... *Korso* is HOT! 5 stars
6/18/00 Krystal visually stunning, but the story itself had me nodding off 3 stars
6/16/00 DatherFrawdad akima is HOT!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/14/00 Crystal Magick visual beauty, script neglect 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-2000 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast