Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.05

Awesome: 18.07%
Worth A Look: 20.48%
Just Average32.53%
Pretty Crappy: 6.02%
Sucks: 22.89%

9 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hurlyburly
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by nine

"It will twist your mind with magnificent patterns of words."
5 stars

Take some Ginkgo for sharp thinking and hurry out to HurlyBurly . . .

This movie is genious. The dialogue is a continuous, melodic flow of intellectual self-exploration. It was originally written for stage and I cannot imagine the power it might have had with live actors.
However, the filmmaker has certainly used the space inside the screen to his advantage . . . Paths cross, water flows, TVs flash images of destruction . . . The pace is fast and it isn't an action movie. It's a pounding flow of thought leading in and out of confusion and revelation.
There are many quotable moments including an exchange between Spacey's character and Penn's character about the difference between "flip" and "sarcasm."
There's everything an LA movie requires (cocaine, "tits and ass") and that one ingredient it wants -- brilliance.

There is nothing 'EH' about this movie. Your brain will still be stinging with activity long after you leave the theater.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=802&reviewer=35
originally posted: 01/12/99 20:18:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/29/16 Sheller Shit review. Great talky type of movie, good examination of psychosis and neurosis 4 stars
1/09/16 Caroline Winter Unbearable. Insufferable and full of itself. 1 stars
4/30/14 Mr Right Efficiency tip: watch first 15 min & last 15; you'll get full value + save yourself 100 min 2 stars
8/13/13 PAUL SHORTT MORBID, SORDID, MEAN-SPIRITED DRAMA, DESPITE A GOOD CAST 2 stars
7/19/12 Luigi Great film, worthless review 5 stars
3/20/08 Ozan My favorite play & movie ever; a masterpiece completely misunderstood, like all genius is. 5 stars
7/02/07 fools♫gold What sarcasm? 5 stars
3/08/06 JLZ Total crap, indeed. 1 stars
11/17/04 psycho black dwarf A well-written, if not well-crafted "get over yourself" movie. 4 stars
5/10/04 Kooler Ugh--the kind of screenwriting hollywood thinks is intelligent and edgy. An embarrassment. 2 stars
6/10/03 Hottie okay 3 stars
3/31/03 Jack Sommersby Here, here, Charles! 1 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum Odious garbage that made me want a shower 1 stars
8/19/02 Mike Brilliant 5 stars
10/13/00 comeasur a reflection of the sickness in modern society. not a surprise that it is set hollywood. 4 stars
10/07/00 matthew nice? no. a tour de force for actors, brilliant, even meg ryan was 5 stars
8/08/00 Aron Tym Anderson An absolutely brilliant film, for those that can recognize one. 5 stars
3/11/00 JonnyAngel I can't explain but it's become a cult favorite of my cult 5 stars
1/07/00 seldom scene I was waiting for something to happen-This would make a better play than movie 3 stars
9/15/99 Ratso I thought this was a documentary on Sean Penn. Ooops. 1 stars
8/23/99 mard if you like coke and "fuck" this movie is for you otherwise who cares about these people? 2 stars
2/17/99 Derek Widely misunderstood movie. Great portrait of failure to connect w/ others in modern world 5 stars
2/14/99 emma mindblowing cast, mindnumbing movie 2 stars
1/31/99 Bridgette more like 3 1/2 stars, but spacey is wonderful 4 stars
1/21/99 Jeff good--love spacy--who know Meg Ryan was such a hottie as a coke head stripper?? 4 stars
1/11/99 Doobie Boy I was looking forward to this film, but it wasn't what I hoped. 3 stars
1/08/99 crc great cast (except ryan), wasteful, boring film. Long, dull-get ready to walk out early 1 stars
1/07/99 Movie Geezer Pathetic waste of time and talent. As bad a film as I have ever seen. 1 stars
12/29/98 The Dude Fucking great movie , Fucking great cast and it has Garry Shandling. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Mar-1999


Directed by
  Anthony Drazan

Written by
  David Rabe

Cast
  Sean Penn
  Robin Wright Penn
  Kevin Spacey
  Chazz Palminteri
  Meg Ryan
  Garry Shandling



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast