Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.93

Awesome: 8.93%
Worth A Look: 5.36%
Just Average: 12.5%
Pretty Crappy: 16.07%
Sucks57.14%

3 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

Competition, The by Jack Sommersby

Hollywood Harry by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Mod Squad, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmink Magazine (owes us money)

"Like bad TV."
1 stars

If you were a fan of the original TV series this is 'based' on, you're going to hate this movie. But if you've never seen that series before and are going in expecting something cool, exciting and fun... well, you're still going to hate this movie. Mod Squad has its moments, but the script is just so trite and pseudo-hip that it leaves you squirming right through.

Danes, Ribisi and Epps are young folks who were on the wrong side of the law until a kindly policeman (Farina) takes them under his wing. They'll report to him, and get into areas that real cops never could, but they can't carry guns and won't rat on 'the kids'. All is well until one night when the boss-man is shot. "Well that sucks, but hey, we're not cops, it's none of our business, see ya later..." Of course, this attitude lasts about minute, before they all get predicably guilty consciences and decide to find the shooter. From here on it's like a 1999 version of The Hardy Boys, reduced to laughable crime-solving techniques. Granted, they're kids, but still. Eavesdropping? Snooping? Recording evidence on a micro-cassette in the pouring rain? How very Scooby Doo.

The cliches and pop culture references fly thick and fast ("I feel like I should say I'm gettin' too old for this shit") and the final scene set in an abandoned warehouse is so predictable that even the characters themselves predict it. Of the performances, Danes is the usual dependable Danes, but Epps (Higher Learning) is more wooden than Howdy Doody and Ribisi looks like he's trying not to break out in giggles.

The rest of the production is decent enough, but it's the script that leaves this film looking like bad TV. There are better bad cop movies, but few so oddly disappointing as this one. --- Ryan Arthur

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=803&reviewer=14
originally posted: 08/22/99 23:10:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

9/07/19 Karen_S terrible script 1 stars
3/24/18 morris campbell decent best i remember 3 stars
6/11/16 Tommy2tone What a fucked-up review by Erik Childress. 3 stars
5/19/14 PAUL SHORTT INCOHERENT, MINDLESS REHASH 1 stars
4/24/03 Jack Sommersby As dreadful as expected. Somone ban Danes from the world of cinema. 1 stars
3/30/02 Carmen Crowe Last look at halfway good Claire Danes before downward spiral began in Brokedown Palace. 3 stars
11/22/01 Andrew Carden I'd Rather Watch The TV Series, but Not Half-Bad. 3 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean Ribisi got on my nerves, the script was shit.....you get the idea 2 stars
6/07/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This movie was like smelling somebody's stinky armpit for 2 hours. Utterly repulsive. 1 stars
10/01/00 Madoc69 not worth the bandwith you wasted to read this 1 stars
7/23/99 Hagbard Celine MOD SQUAD?! I haven't even seen it, but it MUST suck. 1 stars
7/20/99 James The seventies funky feel may have helped people to reminisce, but I was four when the ended 2 stars
7/18/99 TOMB WORSE TRANSLATION TO FILM KIND OF MOVIE 1 stars
5/07/99 Diptherio I am amused 5 stars
4/29/99 Evan Hughes This movie caused me physical pain. I think my body rejected it. 1 stars
4/29/99 Goddess No way does this movie suck! I think it's cool. 4 stars
4/26/99 Ben Galewitz I could have made a better film about me taking a shit, i like to smell my urine, im gay 1 stars
4/23/99 Ember_fires Good movie, funnier than expected but is far from the best. 4 stars
4/11/99 Technorama Go! was a better flick. Reeally botched up movie. 1 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo Talk about a waste of talent. This movie was reeeeally bad 1 stars
4/08/99 John Sutphin I could've filmed a better movie in my backyard 1 stars
4/04/99 Stephanie I loved this movie, finally it was the grown-ups who were bad instead of the kids. 5 stars
4/03/99 Albert Hey, loved this movie. Ribisi Rocks. 5 stars
4/02/99 Lily Will someone PLEASE return Claire Danes' brain? 1 stars
4/01/99 Ah Dooey The Big Hit was better. What a bunch of dumbass polliwogs. 1 stars
3/30/99 Cecelia worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
3/29/99 Daddy Rich Robisi is hilarious and Epps is a cool mother fucker. Other than that, just average. 3 stars
3/29/99 Michael Claire sucked 1 stars
3/28/99 Marcous no don't go 1 stars
3/28/99 Keith I agree, "My so called movie" fits. Maybe the "bomb Squad" it's gonna bomb 1 stars
3/28/99 mikef this rocks when you don't compare it to the tv show. YEAH BOB! 5 stars
3/28/99 Randall Give it a shot, its better than a lot of other crap out there 4 stars
3/27/99 HeatherLadyBug They should have named it "My So-Called Movie" 1 stars
3/27/99 Lisa Awful. Painfully bad. S-l-o-w. Almost walked out. Not one funny comment or one cool stunt. 1 stars
3/24/99 Viral Messiah Not much decency in this movie. 3 stars
3/24/99 CHERLETTA WHITAKER OMAR EPPS WAS GREAT AND THE MOVIE WAS ALSO 5 stars
1/24/99 Dark Horizons I found myself rather bored throughout the entire film. 2 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool Hip actors. Hip music. Hip clothes. Nothing special. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Mar-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jul-1999


Directed by
  Scott Silver

Written by
  Scott Silver
  Stephen Kay

Cast
  Claire Danes
  Omar Epps
  Giovanni Ribisi
  Steve Harris
  Josh Brolin
  Michael Lerner



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast