Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome: 35.71%
Worth A Look52.14%
Just Average: 8.57%
Pretty Crappy: 2.14%
Sucks: 1.43%

11 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Man on the Moon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Less than perfection, but better than what I expected."
4 stars

I really DID NOT want to see this movie. I don't like Milos Forman, I don't like boring biopics, and I don't like it when Jim Carrey does his serious-acting-guy thing with the same Ace Ventura smirk he's been wearing since 1994. But it was actually pretty good.

The beginning did not bode well. Carrey's Latka-voiced introduction was funny for a little while, but it was taken too far. Three minutes into the movie and I was already getting restless.

After that, it slowly picks up. You have to get past Carrey, though. For some reason, he's always jutting his chin out and pursing his lips and making googly eyes, which is supposed to be touching and reveal the dreamer deep within Andy Kaufman, the late comic he's portraying.

But it's hard to believe Kaufman was mugging twenty four seven. So you have to get over that. Once you do, this really is a good little movie. Elegant cinematography, unintrusive direction, and excellent performances all around.

My personal favorite was Paul Giamatti as Bob Zmuda, Kaufman's lifelong friend and writing partner. Now, right away, the first time Giamatti came on screen, you could just hear the audience emitting a little hiss--"Pig Vomit!" I whispered to my companion. "It's fucking Pig Vomit!"

But, just as he did in "The Negotiator," Giamatti makes you forget about "Private Parts," and you really start to care about his character. This is his first "cool" role--he's the kind of guy you want around to bounce jokes off of and kid around with.

Danny DeVito also does some good work as George Shapiro, Kaufman's manager. I was amazed at how unslimy he was in this movie...My perceptions of him have forever changed. Courtney Love, another world-class scuzzball, plays it sweet and even-tempered as Lynne, the woman who falls in love with Kaufman. I would have liked to see more about their relationship (and less time devoted to Inter-Gender wrestling), but it's a flaw you overlook when you're watching the movie. So it's no big deal.

Now--Milos Forman. He's an alright guy. But I'm not a fan, mostly because of "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest." It's not really his direction that bugs me; I just don't think he should be awarded genius points for participating in the brutal jailhouse rape of a literary classic. He does a good job with "Man on the Moon," though, sweeping you up in the narrative and keeping you interested throughout.

Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewksi submit a truly bangup script. They stage Kaufman's life as a series of snowballing prank jokes, but don't get caught up in the kidding. "Man on the Moon" is an amazingly clearheaded film, considering its subject.

All in all, one of the finest movies I've seen this year. A really fun picture, with good performances and elegant direction. Let's hope the Academy throws a few nominations its way.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=804&reviewer=123
originally posted: 12/31/99 00:07:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/05/09 Dane Youssef A stunning re-creation and posession of an underrated genius madman & the havoc he wreaked. 5 stars
10/30/05 Wisamane Im sad now :( 5 stars
9/26/04 alicia carey is amazing in this. 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Jim Carrey's Andy Kaufman imitation. See a Kaufman documentary instead 3 stars
3/21/04 Elena This is highly underrated for its style, acting and plot. It's a great, funny and sad movie 5 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A fine movie on Andy Kaufman's life. It also remembrs "FRIDAYS". Put that show back on TV! 4 stars
11/23/03 Samuel One of the Greatest films of all time!! 5 stars
6/04/03 Mike A funny and entertaining movie. One of my faves. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Another overstated, poorly made Forman leftist cinematic leaflet. 1 stars
2/01/03 Hi there Jim Carrey is excellent. 5 stars
1/12/03 WestcoastPunk Carrey is the best underated actor in Hollywood 5 stars
10/09/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS MOVIE IS SO FUCKING COOL I LUV IT, ITS FUCKING BRILL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/29/02 Ryan Justice fucking hilarious a must see 5 stars
8/13/02 palaboy101 Jim Carrey's acting is great, but the movie wasn't. 3 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Lee Would like to give a full review as this is a must see film for those who have no seen Andy 5 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden I Liked How They Had Carrey Put Into Kaufman's Place For The "Taxi" Scenes. 3 stars
9/30/01 daniboy I loved it. Jim Carrey was impressive. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Good film. Carrey was perfect and of course, was fucked by the academy. (bastards 4 stars
7/14/01 Marijan Srdic Very entertaining!!!!! 5 stars
5/29/01 perverted pixie Kaufmans legend and Carreys gifts. Thats a double dose of crazy genius. 5 stars
2/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Jim Carrey proves once again that he IS, after all, talented. 4 stars
2/04/01 Diego Romero If you believe this movie sucks,go suck some cock 5 stars
2/03/01 Del R Jim Carrey is Andy Kaufman. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/20/01 thom carrey: usually a typcast gobshite. This is no exception, but it's ace cos Carrey fits. 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle Another movie with Jim Carrey doing his best work! 5 stars
12/19/00 Speedy With no oscar recognition, it's official: Carrey is now most underated actor in world 5 stars
12/18/00 natasha Jim Carrey was the heart of this film - see it for his performance 4 stars
11/17/00 salvo greetings by tony clifton 5 stars
10/11/00 Add Its a good film but Carrey makes it great. Congrats to Jim and bollocks to the academy! 4 stars
6/12/00 Michael Grimm should have focused on personal relationships more than being a documentary 3 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez I am History and I say he`s a fucking asshole!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/02/00 JonnyA Carrey is great, movie is very average but worth seeing 4 stars
4/06/00 SID Best fucking movie of the year, I don't care what anyone says. 5 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Really an expanded A&E Biography, not enough "Taxi," good 4 those who never really knew him 4 stars
2/25/00 Bernard Self Carrey is brilliant, the film leaves me confused! 4 stars
2/24/00 Matthew Smith worth seeing for carrey's performance. 4 stars
2/24/00 Mic Could've been better (pacing for one thing). 3.5 Stars. 3 stars
2/18/00 Joel Harwood Hello i'm ANDY and i enjoyed the movie 4 stars
2/14/00 the Grinch Go see this, if only for the fantabulous "Tony Clifton"! 4 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman didn't think i'd like it. i did. glad they didn't try to explain andy. 4 stars
2/03/00 arnold fucking funny 5 stars
1/27/00 Donna Fritz Carrey was awesome! A wonderful tribute to the daring Mr. Kaufman. Funnier than expected! 5 stars
1/21/00 tom too big of a deal made out of something ultimately unimpressive 2 stars
1/15/00 Lindsay Worth a Look 4 stars
1/12/00 Timmy Fucking Rocked. Go Jim! you're more than Fire Marshal Bill! 5 stars
1/11/00 Louis A Great Movie. A whole bunch of well-earned laughs 5 stars
1/05/00 ALIaS Very well done, my only complaint is that it was too short......there was so much more! 5 stars
1/05/00 Gregory damn good movie. carrey is amazing. 4 stars
1/05/00 Laura Baker It made me laugh as well as wonder! 4 stars
1/05/00 Aldo P Good Movie. Who would want to see it, tho? 5 stars
1/03/00 PhilmPhreak Really well done - not a lot of insight into why he was so wierd, though. 4 stars
1/02/00 SJKelley Carrey and odd subject-matter barely keep it from being a T.V.-caliber bio-movie. 4 stars
1/02/00 Fork Outstanding. Truely a thinking man's film. Not just a life but an enigma. 5 stars
1/01/00 Starry Knight The character of Tony Clifton was brilliant 5 stars
1/01/00 ZuG Definately bad-ass 5 stars
12/31/99 unstrung it was pretty damn good 5 stars
12/31/99 Mike Clifton The story was too fragmented & choppy to make this a masterpiece, but Jim is unbelievable 5 stars
12/31/99 sexychick After Any Given Sunday this movie rocked!! 5 stars
12/31/99 Tyson Stewart funny, funny, funny. a good story. Carey's best film! 4 stars
12/31/99 majawat okay 4 stars
12/31/99 ANNIE best film ever 5 stars
12/30/99 maryjane Jim Carrey is awsome as an actor. Andy Kaufman was/is a bastard genius. 5 stars
12/30/99 KK Carrey deserves an Oscar Nomination for this. 5 stars
12/29/99 Fenris I look forward to seeing where Jim Carrey goes from here. 4 stars
12/25/99 Sadie I loved it. I laughed and was moved to tears. The best film in years. 5 stars
12/25/99 The King of the Bros Read Zmuda's book you fucking hacks. 3 stars
12/24/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is a great movie, once again an amazing job jim!! 4 stars
12/24/99 JonnyAngel Really good, but I'm stingy with those 5 star ratings 4 stars
12/23/99 Losifer A great film. Wonderful. Fantastic. 5 stars
12/23/99 chouck Carey was great but the movie was all over the map 2 stars
12/23/99 Malbert Jim Carey is *awesome* in this one! 4 stars
12/23/99 Marc It is absolutely, no contest the best film of 1999. 5 stars
12/22/99 Z rather confusing movie, i didn't like it 2 stars
12/19/99 Marla K It is touching, well-acted and well-directed. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast