Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome: 35.71%
Worth A Look52.14%
Just Average: 8.57%
Pretty Crappy: 2.14%
Sucks: 1.43%

11 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Man on the Moon
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Vibeseeker

"Carrey is jaw droppingly brilliant."
4 stars

Andy Kaufman: mad man or genius? Man-child or schizophrenic? As an icon of the subversive, Kaufman gained his reputation through his stints on Saturday Night Live, his role as the quirky Latka on the TV series Taxi, and from his confrontational live shows. Man On The Moon portrays his life story, and under the direction of the great Milos Forman (One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest, The People Vs Larry Flynt), it offers an exciting premise. The highlights of his career are all here - inter gender wrestling, his abrasive alter ego Tony Clifton, Taxi (with the original cast), and the infamous "Great Gatsby" live show - and played to great comic effect.

But the undoubted pivot to the film is Jim Carrey. Leaving his screwball persona behind, as he did in The Truman Show, Carrey proves he can play the quasi-comedic role to perfection. His delivery of the full Kaufman routine is uncanny and haunting.
Taxi co-star Danny DeVito, starring as manager George Shapiro, is an ironic delight, which is more than can be said for Courtney Love. Reunited with her People Vs Larry Flynt director, Love is somewhat lacklustre as Kaufman's girlfriend Lynne Margulies, rarely exerting an onscreen presence beyond that of an extra's. In her defence, though, the role is decidedly half-baked.

The script, written by Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski of The People Vs. Larry Flynt fame, retells the life of Kaufman comprehensively. Yet ultimately that's the problem with the film. It simply just tells a story, rather than probing under the skin and getting to grips with this fascinating character.

Andy Kaufman already has a song by REM (who also supply the film's music) celebrating him, and with the film that carries the same title, his immortalisation is complete. Though engaging viewing, it's a shame that Man On The Moon will be remembered as a competent documentary devoid of any real insight, leaving Kaufman the eternal enigma. ---David Michael

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=804&reviewer=251
originally posted: 02/15/00 02:47:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/05/09 Dane Youssef A stunning re-creation and posession of an underrated genius madman & the havoc he wreaked. 5 stars
10/30/05 Wisamane Im sad now :( 5 stars
9/26/04 alicia carey is amazing in this. 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Jim Carrey's Andy Kaufman imitation. See a Kaufman documentary instead 3 stars
3/21/04 Elena This is highly underrated for its style, acting and plot. It's a great, funny and sad movie 5 stars
12/25/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A fine movie on Andy Kaufman's life. It also remembrs "FRIDAYS". Put that show back on TV! 4 stars
11/23/03 Samuel One of the Greatest films of all time!! 5 stars
6/04/03 Mike A funny and entertaining movie. One of my faves. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Another overstated, poorly made Forman leftist cinematic leaflet. 1 stars
2/01/03 Hi there Jim Carrey is excellent. 5 stars
1/12/03 WestcoastPunk Carrey is the best underated actor in Hollywood 5 stars
10/09/02 LIAM JACKSON THIS MOVIE IS SO FUCKING COOL I LUV IT, ITS FUCKING BRILL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/29/02 Ryan Justice fucking hilarious a must see 5 stars
8/13/02 palaboy101 Jim Carrey's acting is great, but the movie wasn't. 3 stars
1/26/02 Andrew Lee Would like to give a full review as this is a must see film for those who have no seen Andy 5 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden I Liked How They Had Carrey Put Into Kaufman's Place For The "Taxi" Scenes. 3 stars
9/30/01 daniboy I loved it. Jim Carrey was impressive. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Good film. Carrey was perfect and of course, was fucked by the academy. (bastards 4 stars
7/14/01 Marijan Srdic Very entertaining!!!!! 5 stars
5/29/01 perverted pixie Kaufmans legend and Carreys gifts. Thats a double dose of crazy genius. 5 stars
2/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Jim Carrey proves once again that he IS, after all, talented. 4 stars
2/04/01 Diego Romero If you believe this movie sucks,go suck some cock 5 stars
2/03/01 Del R Jim Carrey is Andy Kaufman. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/20/01 thom carrey: usually a typcast gobshite. This is no exception, but it's ace cos Carrey fits. 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle Another movie with Jim Carrey doing his best work! 5 stars
12/19/00 Speedy With no oscar recognition, it's official: Carrey is now most underated actor in world 5 stars
12/18/00 natasha Jim Carrey was the heart of this film - see it for his performance 4 stars
11/17/00 salvo greetings by tony clifton 5 stars
10/11/00 Add Its a good film but Carrey makes it great. Congrats to Jim and bollocks to the academy! 4 stars
6/12/00 Michael Grimm should have focused on personal relationships more than being a documentary 3 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez I am History and I say he`s a fucking asshole!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/02/00 JonnyA Carrey is great, movie is very average but worth seeing 4 stars
4/06/00 SID Best fucking movie of the year, I don't care what anyone says. 5 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Really an expanded A&E Biography, not enough "Taxi," good 4 those who never really knew him 4 stars
2/25/00 Bernard Self Carrey is brilliant, the film leaves me confused! 4 stars
2/24/00 Matthew Smith worth seeing for carrey's performance. 4 stars
2/24/00 Mic Could've been better (pacing for one thing). 3.5 Stars. 3 stars
2/18/00 Joel Harwood Hello i'm ANDY and i enjoyed the movie 4 stars
2/14/00 the Grinch Go see this, if only for the fantabulous "Tony Clifton"! 4 stars
2/11/00 Skye Chapman didn't think i'd like it. i did. glad they didn't try to explain andy. 4 stars
2/03/00 arnold fucking funny 5 stars
1/27/00 Donna Fritz Carrey was awesome! A wonderful tribute to the daring Mr. Kaufman. Funnier than expected! 5 stars
1/21/00 tom too big of a deal made out of something ultimately unimpressive 2 stars
1/15/00 Lindsay Worth a Look 4 stars
1/12/00 Timmy Fucking Rocked. Go Jim! you're more than Fire Marshal Bill! 5 stars
1/11/00 Louis A Great Movie. A whole bunch of well-earned laughs 5 stars
1/05/00 ALIaS Very well done, my only complaint is that it was too short......there was so much more! 5 stars
1/05/00 Gregory damn good movie. carrey is amazing. 4 stars
1/05/00 Laura Baker It made me laugh as well as wonder! 4 stars
1/05/00 Aldo P Good Movie. Who would want to see it, tho? 5 stars
1/03/00 PhilmPhreak Really well done - not a lot of insight into why he was so wierd, though. 4 stars
1/02/00 SJKelley Carrey and odd subject-matter barely keep it from being a T.V.-caliber bio-movie. 4 stars
1/02/00 Fork Outstanding. Truely a thinking man's film. Not just a life but an enigma. 5 stars
1/01/00 Starry Knight The character of Tony Clifton was brilliant 5 stars
1/01/00 ZuG Definately bad-ass 5 stars
12/31/99 unstrung it was pretty damn good 5 stars
12/31/99 Mike Clifton The story was too fragmented & choppy to make this a masterpiece, but Jim is unbelievable 5 stars
12/31/99 sexychick After Any Given Sunday this movie rocked!! 5 stars
12/31/99 Tyson Stewart funny, funny, funny. a good story. Carey's best film! 4 stars
12/31/99 majawat okay 4 stars
12/31/99 ANNIE best film ever 5 stars
12/30/99 maryjane Jim Carrey is awsome as an actor. Andy Kaufman was/is a bastard genius. 5 stars
12/30/99 KK Carrey deserves an Oscar Nomination for this. 5 stars
12/29/99 Fenris I look forward to seeing where Jim Carrey goes from here. 4 stars
12/25/99 Sadie I loved it. I laughed and was moved to tears. The best film in years. 5 stars
12/25/99 The King of the Bros Read Zmuda's book you fucking hacks. 3 stars
12/24/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" this is a great movie, once again an amazing job jim!! 4 stars
12/24/99 JonnyAngel Really good, but I'm stingy with those 5 star ratings 4 stars
12/23/99 Losifer A great film. Wonderful. Fantastic. 5 stars
12/23/99 chouck Carey was great but the movie was all over the map 2 stars
12/23/99 Malbert Jim Carey is *awesome* in this one! 4 stars
12/23/99 Marc It is absolutely, no contest the best film of 1999. 5 stars
12/22/99 Z rather confusing movie, i didn't like it 2 stars
12/19/99 Marla K It is touching, well-acted and well-directed. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Dec-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast