Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome: 31.65%
Worth A Look46.04%
Just Average: 9.35%
Pretty Crappy: 7.91%
Sucks: 5.04%

8 reviews, 91 user ratings


Latest Reviews

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Love Actually
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Marigold

"I know it's only sappy crap, but I like it."
4 stars

I need to bitch about something for a minute here. Lately I've read several very negative reviews of Love Actually and since they all sound the same, I was able to condense my response into this simple axiom: LIGHTEN UP, PEOPLE.

Cranky, uptight folks who consider themselves too sophisticated to enjoy a piece of fluff like Love Actually have their panties all in a twist over bullshit like:

§ the fact that the story is romantic and sappy (no kidding?)
§ the unfair manner in which overweight people are portrayed(what the..?)
§ the questionable symbolism of the porno movie stand-ins (what the..?)
§ the crass artistic trespass Curtis made in putting not just a wedding, but a wedding AND a funeral in this movie, when he already made us think about weddings and funerals once before so how dare he do it again! (Critics think they’re being really clever here as this point is noted in EVERY bad review.)

To you grouchy bastards I say: What the hell is wrong with you? Why can't you just enjoy a movie for what it is? Why would you expect it to be The fucking English Patient or something, huh?

Suddenly everyone is all concerned about the realism of Curtis's love stories. I mean, what the hell? Why is realism so important all of a sudden? Did anyone complain that Terminator 3 wasn't realistic? ("Unstoppable cyborgs from the future that can change shape?!? My god, who's going to believe that? It's so unrealistic!")

Was this movie billed as a drama? Was it billed as a freakin' documentary? I know it’s not real. I know it’s not deep. I mean come on – would a young, handsome bachelor ever be elected to any head of state? And more importantly, would any woman cheat on Colin Firth? Yeah, Love Actually is a fantasy. No shit. Maybe you're just a wee bit resentful that deep down, you really loved it.

From my full review that is unnecessary here, since everyone already knows the story:

Love Actually is a succinct, well-executed success. It was kind of amazing to watch so many stories be told so fluidly and so well – with none left dangling. Equal time is given to each plot thread in soap-opera fashion. Though here, each vignette is either touching or hilarious, often both. I could not spot any boring or unnecessary scenes.

The connection between the characters is there, but is not the main point. Don’t look for karma-like significance in their relationships. They are just people who are tightly or loosely related through friendships, jobs, and family. Although sometimes a little over the romantic top, this film does its job and does it well.

I’m giving Love Actually a "worth a look" rating because it was top-rate entertainment. The writing, the humor, and the excellent use of surprise cameos make it a real crowd pleaser.

Not the most significant work of art or anything… not going to change the face of film making, etc…. but a good reason to go to the movies and that’s what it’s all about.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8297&reviewer=356
originally posted: 01/23/04 12:52:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/24/17 Suzanne One of my favorite movies ever - but the Wisconsin plot was ridiculous (Southern accents?) 5 stars
12/19/16 Charity ABSOLUTE BRILLIANT FILM. Brilliant casting. Brilliant acting. Brilliant writing. 5 stars
4/02/12 Shirley Temple Thomas Sangster was one unappealing little boy. How old is he now?, 2 stars
3/23/12 Les S. A bit of a slow start but it pulls you in and you find yourself enjoying it. 3 stars
1/08/11 Beverley Sporck Sends all kinds of messages. Great to view around the holidays. 5 stars
8/06/09 Simon A lot of the reason we do see movies is to feel good. A cheesy guilty pleasure 5 stars
11/30/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 4 stars
12/03/07 Ionicera sweet and shallow 3 stars
8/31/07 johnnyfog Schitzo plot, but Liam Neeson's in it, so it's OK. 4 stars
5/13/07 David Pollastrini All the women in this film are hot! 3 stars
4/11/07 Dark Enchantress If i could give it a zero i would! Oh yeah that girl kiera knightly is a slut! 1 stars
2/08/07 Stanley Thai One of the better romantic comedies. 4 stars
12/02/06 William Goss Stuffed, slight, but undeniably charming. Nighy provides snarky oasis amongst the schmaltz. 3 stars
5/05/06 Ashley Hinz I love pieces of this film, just not all of the characters. 4 stars
9/26/05 Corinne Pettersen I adore this movie, especially Carl - please can you give me more information on him. 5 stars
4/14/05 Danny Takes a while to get into it, but worth the time. 4 stars
3/07/05 Hydrian Good romantic flick without being too mushy to deter the guys. 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw Such a sweet film, quite refreshing. 5 stars
12/26/04 mjoc Adequate holiday fare 4 stars
12/24/04 Hugh Janus Too cutesy by the guy that played Karl was fucking deadly...SCHWING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
12/12/04 Helen Great movie!! Also loved the music 5 stars
10/23/04 michaelb14 Very feel good, funny movie for the holidays, Nighy is hilarious 4 stars
9/26/04 alicia definitly a chick flick..but a damn good one 5 stars
9/04/04 Dave My whole family loved this film. Funny and touching. Emma Thompson remarkable. 5 stars
8/16/04 John charming and immensely entertaining 5 stars
8/05/04 Chris this movie had maybe too much to say but very sweet and endearing. worth checking out. 4 stars
7/17/04 Daveman I was left with mixed feeling but I won't deny I enjoyed it. 3 stars
7/15/04 S.F Total crap...actually! 1 stars
6/18/04 Monster W. Kung A piece of crap! 1 stars
5/22/04 Vic & Helen We loved it...a happy, warm and romantic comedy 5 stars
5/04/04 TIM HENNEKER HAS A TINY PENIS GOOD MOVIE 2 stars
5/04/04 Beverley Sporck Need to view it a couple times to 'get' most of it anyway. Thought provoking with humor. 5 stars
5/02/04 chris. packing bad stories into a movie to fit the alotted time does not make a movie "ultimate" 1 stars
4/28/04 The Dude Britain sucks, but the movie was good. 4 stars
4/23/04 Jack Saw it on a plane and found it delightful with a bit of truth but no universal truths 4 stars
4/21/04 Littlepurch. A bit too pointlessly sad in places but some moments were v.funny and acting was all gr8. 4 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart not my sort of thing its too romantic !!9BUT GOOD IF YOU LIKE THAT SORT OF THING) 3 stars
4/09/04 Gemma An absolutely fantastic heart warming film that had me gripped all the way 5 stars
4/07/04 harriet best movie ever actually bloody fantastic 5 stars
3/12/04 wrob Textbook, pithy, sentimental pap. Painfully cliche and predictable at the same time. 2 stars
2/02/04 jacqueline robson love actally is all around good 5 stars
1/24/04 amy not for the cynical or self rightuous 4 stars
1/23/04 Saf aWESOME MOVIE--saw it 3times in the first couple weeks! 5 stars
1/22/04 Chloe Brody This was such an awesome film! Will never get tired of HG in the same role every movie... 5 stars
1/18/04 Cathy It revamps popular cliches with devilish British humour. 5 stars
1/18/04 Carol Shanahan CRAP ACTUALLY 2 stars
1/15/04 Heather Purplethorne Ending has some feelgood fluff, but the getting there -- TOO LONG! 3 stars
1/14/04 Betty White Good cast rounds out this hopelessly contrived, overdone romantic comedy. 2 stars
1/13/04 Chupa Chups I thought it was good! cheesy, but touching. 5 stars
1/10/04 Chris You cannot be serious! Have our tastes slipped this low??? 1 stars
1/10/04 Shadaan Yikes ! 2 stars
1/09/04 ness you HAVE to see this film 5 stars
1/07/04 Mokina It was a really sweet movie not everythings about sorrow,good to see that portrayed 4 stars
1/01/04 OnlyChild It's a sweet movie.. 4 stars
12/30/03 christina thomas sangster made me love this movie, he was the best actor there 5 stars
12/30/03 Chlo Gyllenhaal I thought this was really good! Cheesy, but the sort of film that just made you smile! 4 stars
12/28/03 your worst goddamn nightmare you might get this if you really really love someone... loved it, actually... 4 stars
12/27/03 Donelle Occasionally quite funny, over-inflated, deliberate audience manipulation & predictable 2 stars
12/27/03 John Bale The ultimate Xmas feel good movie with a fine cast. Lotsa Fun. 4 stars
12/22/03 Dee Fantastic Film. loads of hot men, the funniest film I have seen in a long time. 5 stars
12/20/03 Littlepurch Some depressing bits but v. funny overall. Loved it, actually. 4 stars
12/16/03 Greg Register Without fail...one of the most entertaining films I have seen in years. 5 stars
12/16/03 Michelle Teeva, you must be a women's rights lesbian, get off it. 5 stars
12/15/03 jada most hot men in one movie 4 stars
12/15/03 Teeva so sexists, every woman subserviant - while exposed! gratuitously. 1 stars
12/14/03 Ginnie Roberts Brilliant 5 stars
12/14/03 Kent I enjoyed it - funny & thought-provoking. 4 stars
12/14/03 christina Gee this is the bst movie ever 5 stars
12/13/03 Carla It was fabulous! Alan Rickman is the best! 5 stars
12/12/03 Viv Phillips Xmas feel good movie for 2003 ! Yeah Poms you sure know how to do it! 5 stars
12/10/03 Jummai It had warm funny scenes and you werent forced to laugh and enjoy it, came naturally 4 stars
12/09/03 katrina lomas feel good and fun 5 stars
12/08/03 Vicky Adams I loved it. I bet everyone watching could relate to one of the stories 5 stars
12/02/03 Hayley Absolutely terrible. Calculated, stereotypical, sexist and racist (against the Portuguese). 1 stars
12/01/03 the muffinman who the hell is karl and where can i find out more about him hes sexy 5 stars
12/01/03 president billy bob Too many low points to mention all - a very sappy R-rated chick flick,not a film for guys. 2 stars
11/30/03 guisada yes 5 stars
11/30/03 LordJiggy A brave masterpiece about choice and choosing love...even if it costs you. 5 stars
11/26/03 Mike H Crap, actually. Which is surprising considering the great cast. 2 stars
11/22/03 jrsygrl I enjoyed the film because it leaves you with a warm-fuzzy feeling - - and a smile. 4 stars
11/22/03 Bobbio Best film of the year, great cast, very funny. 5 stars
11/21/03 amy made me feel warm and fuzzy, without hating myself for it 5 stars
11/18/03 Johnny's Been Rotten Saw it. Loved it. Most charming movie of the year. 5 stars
11/18/03 nick2k very cute and adorable... "we're gonna get the shit kicked out of us by love" 5 stars
11/17/03 marzio arigoni@rtsi.ch too many boring little stories... 2 stars
11/15/03 Deanna I will quote the film "Say Yes you skinny moron" and go see this with someone you love. 5 stars
11/12/03 john fun, love trip...light hearted ... mooshy 5 stars
11/11/03 Heather Perfect Christmas & date movie, charming British movie 5 stars
11/11/03 Tyler GOOD MOvie 5 stars
11/09/03 Max Ernst The greatest date flick ever. Went 2x, 2 diff girls, both: score. Love this film! 5 stars
11/06/03 Cameron Slick If you're going to be dragged to one chick flick this year, be dragged to Love Actually. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Nov-2003 (R)
  DVD: 27-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-2003


Directed by
  Richard Curtis

Written by
  Richard Curtis

Cast
  Hugh Grant
  Liam Neeson
  Alan Rickman
  Emma Thompson
  Laura Linney
  Keira Knightley



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast