Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.83

Awesome37.16%
Worth A Look: 36.49%
Just Average: 8.78%
Pretty Crappy: 7.43%
Sucks: 10.14%

9 reviews, 94 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Miss Fisher and the Crypt of Tears by Jay Seaver

Dealer/Healer by Jay Seaver

City Without Baseball by Jay Seaver

Invisible Man, The (2020) by Rob Gonsalves

Hunt, The (2020) by Rob Gonsalves

Da 5 Bloods by Rob Gonsalves

Hamilton by Peter Sobczynski

Outpost, The by Peter Sobczynski

Audition, The by Jay Seaver

Sometimes Always Never by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bad Santa
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Elaine Perrone

"A Christmas cookie that bites back."
5 stars

After serving my Thanksgiving dinner, distributing leftovers, and listening to my first Christmas CD, I ended my holiday kickoff with a screening of the very-much-for-adults-only, black-as-a-lump-of-coal romp, Bad Santa.

Billy Bob Thornton is Willie T. Soke, a foul-mouthed, foul-tempered, pants-wetting, blackout drunk, who, together with his partner Marcus (Tony Cox, who happens to be a black dwarf), celebrates the Christmas season by cutting a larcenous swath across the U.S.

Each December, the pair sets up shop in a different metropolis, taking jobs as department store Santa and his elf by day and closing out their stay in the city on Christmas Eve night, when they crack the mall's holiday-stuffed safe and help themselves to the retailers' merchandise, aided by a gift wish list supplied by Marcus' wife Lois (Lauren Tom).

Complications ensue when they land jobs in an upscale mall in Phoenix and come under the scrutiny of an understandably suspicious store manager, Bob Chipeska (the late, great John Ritter), and a wily security officer, Gin (Bernie Mac), who has larcenous ideas of his own.

Adding to the merriment is "The Kid," Thurman Merman, a shy, awkward, literally snot-nosed young boy (Brett Kelly), who takes a shine to "Santa" and lets him come live with him and his dotty grandmother (Cloris Leachman). Then there's Sue (Lauren Graham), a Jewish bartender who takes a shine of her own to Santa, with whom she celebrates her own brand of joy-to-the-world sex in a hot tub at Chez Merman.

Nothing, and no one, is sacred in this gleeful and unrepentant paean to political incorrectness, which skewers not only alcoholics, blacks, and dwarves but also gays, Italians and Jews, the elderly, and men who have anal sex with plus-size women.

Side-splittingly funny and the perfect alternative to the usual sweet holiday fare, Bad Santa is a mighty tasty-and-tart Christmas treat that bites back, hard!

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8367&reviewer=376
originally posted: 07/26/04 00:14:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell bad indeed it sux donkey dicks 1 stars
12/19/14 PAUL SHORTT AUDACIOUS, FUNNY SATIRE 3 stars
2/28/11 Captain Slog Best Xmas movie ever made 5 stars
12/13/10 MP Bartley When Santa came down the motherfucking chimney, he brought this motherfucking great film. 5 stars
10/18/09 Chad Dillon Cooper A new Christmas classic. I ho ho hoed my A$$ off 4 stars
10/14/09 art WHO NEED"S THIS?,<IT"S REALLY PITIFUL! 1 stars
5/17/09 art BAD IS RIGHT! 2 stars
11/16/08 Samantha Pruitt incredibly raunchy and funny, that Billy Bob does a great job! 4 stars
10/10/08 Annie G Great concept, but poorly executed. Even a Scrooge like me says ‘blah’ 2 stars
5/01/08 art A BRUTAL AND MEAN SPIRTED YET A FUNNY AND< TOUCHING FILM 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies A guilty pleasure. 4 stars
1/31/08 Bonny S. It had a few good laughs, but kinda stupid. 3 stars
10/15/07 fools&#9835;gold Violence is beautiful and real. This is realistic and funny - if only it was more fresh! 3 stars
6/15/07 al smith so crude and funny.billy bob is awesome 5 stars
3/23/07 mb Nothing There 1 stars
12/21/06 MP Bartley When Santa came down the motherfucking comedy he brought a motherfucking good comedy. 4 stars
11/05/06 Chris Bad santa bad movie 1 stars
1/20/06 eTourist Raunchy, Profane, Perverted, Seditious ... and ... Perfect 5 stars
1/07/06 gerry dunne why is there so much violence in american films? 2 stars
9/11/05 Total Crap Hands Down. The funniest movie ever. Wait till your find out the kid's name. 5 stars
8/10/05 ES funny movie, great main character, so many cool scenes 4 stars
6/18/05 Charlie This is the next "Christmas Story"! 5 stars
5/08/05 JFK not to funny, but entertaining.the end sucks 4 stars
4/10/05 gasml laughed the whole movie, brilliant 5 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold Good for several bellylaughs, but really not much to it. 4 stars
3/11/05 Edler It is missing some. The crudest is overdone at time. The kid is great though! 3 stars
12/23/04 Hugh Janus If you missed the point of this masterpeice, its your fuckin loss 5 stars
12/13/04 Taylor Fladgate Bad Santa? Bad idea, bad movie. 1 stars
12/12/04 Landshark Willie is to Santas what Shakes was to clowns...Zwigoff never gets candyassed. 4 stars
12/09/04 Jason Kaul Get past the language and overall crudeness, and this film has a lot of heart. 4 stars
12/04/04 Kristina Williams THIS is an Xmas movie! 5 stars
11/21/04 Melissa Way funnier than I expected. I laughed (and even cryed) at sweet Therman Merman 4 stars
11/10/04 David Johnson A great black comedy, ... for anyone needing their fix of "BAH HUMBUG"!!! 4 stars
10/30/04 Sherman McMerman FUNNIEST MOVIE IVE EVER SEEN I love the part when throws da clock and yells FUCK U 3 times 5 stars
8/29/04 Geo78665 Some laughs, but too one-note. Where did all the great reviews come from? 3 stars
8/17/04 Anthony G one of the worst movies I have ever seen, FUCK THIS SHIT. 1 stars
8/07/04 DH 4th grade attempt at satire--so lame! 1 stars
8/05/04 Chris it made me laugh, and it was an okay movie. not the greatest ive seen though. 3 stars
8/04/04 ownerofdajoint THIS MOVIE IS A FUCKING HOOT!!GO FUCKING GET IT ! 4 stars
7/30/04 Tom with the talent in this movie, I was hoping for much better results 1 stars
7/27/04 Mike Devans hilarious 5 stars
7/07/04 Simon Khalil I'd comment but I'M ON MY FUCKING LUNCH BREAK!! 4 stars
6/10/04 T. Maj Holiday-temed black comedy--great genre! 4 stars
6/08/04 Jon Hillarious 5 stars
5/11/04 Z F Funny as hell, +best little-person role since Year of Living Dangerously 5 stars
4/03/04 da hood i liked it! good halloween movie! 5 stars
3/25/04 LIAM JACKSON santa fucking a woman in the ass? right.... 4 stars
1/23/04 bender funny as hell. 4 stars
1/21/04 John B. Worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
1/15/04 Ralph R. Clemente Liked it a lot - funny in a sick kind of way 4 stars
1/14/04 Jack Bourbon Funny goddam fuckin shit. 4 stars
1/09/04 Tommy Funniest movie since Caddyshack; One for the Ages 5 stars
1/08/04 Vince Krey sucks the big one. 1 stars
1/05/04 jim march best christmas movie of all time 5 stars
1/03/04 b denton Steps close to saccharine, but never goes over the edge. 5 stars
1/02/04 A F Although raunchy, you need to be at least 50 to enjoy this film. 3 stars
12/31/03 Mike I can not believe that parents really let their children participate in this move 1 stars
12/31/03 Nee Nee This should have been rated X instead of R 1 stars
12/31/03 Me. >:) My god, Max Van Ville is FINE! 5 stars
12/30/03 Angolmois If you like Coen Brothers movies, you'll like this one.Never though I'd laugh at crotchkick 4 stars
12/28/03 Haney Fuckin Hilarious 5 stars
12/25/03 Richard Finally a movie that sees this Christmas shit the way I do 5 stars
12/24/03 Greg Wheat funny as hell 5 stars
12/23/03 Jed Just amazing! Funny but hits an emotional chord. 5 stars
12/23/03 Marcia Lartz Entertaining in spite of itself. A guilty almost pleasure. 4 stars
12/22/03 SC It was the sickest, most twisted, perverse, irreverent and utterly appalling movie I had se 5 stars
12/22/03 Steven wolff best xmas movie ever 5 stars
12/21/03 Ivan Amaro Very creative, you get a surprise after a surprise, the soundtrack picks are extraordinary 5 stars
12/21/03 ger Bad Santa is one of the 10 worse movies I have seen 1 stars
12/11/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. I haven't seen a Santa this BAD since Bill Murray on "SNL" in 1977. R.I.P. John Ritter. 5 stars
12/11/03 john great, hilarious, delightful 5 stars
12/10/03 Tom F Great movie! Laughed so hard I cried! 5 stars
12/10/03 astrotart Finally a movie that's just as crass as I am! 4 stars
12/09/03 re funny 5 stars
12/08/03 Still N. Stitches Funniest "got damned" movie I've seen in a long while! Riotously hilarious! 5 stars
12/04/03 Smitty in Evanston The funniest film of the year... 5 stars
12/04/03 Igor Laughed my ass off. I haven't seen a movie this funny in a very long time. 5 stars
12/02/03 Obi Wan Unexpectly very funny . . .didn't know Billy Boy had it in him! LOL I'M ON MY BREAK!!!!!! 5 stars
12/02/03 Agent Sands This is a surprisingly brilliant, hilarious movie. Everything's done well. 5 stars
12/02/03 aseelye Funniest movie I've seen in a long time 5 stars
12/01/03 kawaii50 I laughed but I found myself wondering why in the @#$% I was watching this mess 2 stars
12/01/03 HangMikeMyersforFuckinguptheCat THIS MOVIE WAS FUCKING AWESOME.HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/01/03 JackedSanta Funny 5 stars
11/30/03 NoRefill 4 or 5 pretty funny scenes, but the rest just falls apart. Had potential, but fails. 2 stars
11/29/03 cpbjr Laughed my ass off, but was very poignent at the same time. Good flick. 4 stars
11/29/03 Morally Sound Ho-ho-hollarious from start to finish! Black comedy at its best! 5 stars
11/29/03 jimmy d this movie is a very touching family movie. only rated R for 1 f word. rest is touching!!! 5 stars
11/28/03 ajay this movie is full of those moments where you think, "man, it's so wrong, but so funny" 4 stars
11/28/03 Michael Medved Fun for the whole family!! Bring the kids! 5 stars
11/27/03 Scott Imhoff Bad Santa is a mean-hearted story about the abuse of an overweight child. 1 stars
11/27/03 Curious George Pretty good. 4 stars
11/27/03 TP Bad film, Butt fucking bad! 1 stars
11/27/03 nick2k this movie was quite coen-esque. really funny! 5 stars
11/24/03 HangMikeMyersforFuckinguptheCat Saw it last night in a screening. very funny, and good to see ritter again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Nov-2003 (R)
  DVD: 10-Oct-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Nov-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast