Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.74

Awesome39.66%
Worth A Look: 27.59%
Just Average: 10.34%
Pretty Crappy: 12.07%
Sucks: 10.34%

4 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

Tenet by Rob Gonsalves

Bad Attitude: The Art of Spain Rodriguez by Rob Gonsalves

Judas and the Black Messiah by Peter Sobczynski

Minari by Peter Sobczynski

Nomadland by Peter Sobczynski

Rescue, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dracula (1992)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by LitzaMo

"Please....no more Keanu..."
3 stars

Since I (and the people I watched the movie with) were all screaming in agony over Keanu's surfer-dude-does-Brit THING, we all also decided that the casting chick should have been shot. Nevertheless, "Bram Stoker's Dracula" was a pretty decent flick.

SO yeah. Being in the play "Dracula" right now and comparing myself to Winona Ryder was maybe not the best thing that ever happened to me. It just makes me feel fat and unloved. She did well as Mina Murray, though. (i'll mention now that I watched the movie with the cast of our production.)

As stated above, Keanu basically just needed to die. Poor Pat (who's playing Jonathon in our production) just winced the whole way through. Thing is, Keanu's part is considerably smaller than Pat's is, which is not a bad thing.

The big debate came after the movie ended anyway. Half the cast loved the fact that Dracula came out to be a good guy after all (and Gary Oldman did a fantabulous job either way). Half the cast thought it was just a cheesy Hollywood addition that made no sense. I thought it was an interesting twist. What were Dracula's ambitions for becoming a vampire in the first place? I think the screenwriter just tried to explain that a bit. However, I HATED that they changed the ending. Our script is quite close to the original novel, and 1) Dracula dies, 2) Mina almost dies, 3) Arthur dies, and 4) Seward isn't a morphine addict. Mina in the novel is Undead. Mina in the movie kills Dracula (not Jonathon, who's supposed to, and Van Helsing should be performing a purification ceremony at the same time, and regardless, Dracula wouldn't have been dead with what happened to him in the movie ANYWAY.) So there's my rant on inaccuracy.

Visually...interesting. Way lots of boobies, way more than the book. I really am not thrilled ever with straight razors, especially not when they're being licked....ew....shudder... And some of the effects I could've done without. Anyway, I dunno, the movie was ok, not the best--that honor definitely goes to the old-school b/w version. Right now I have to go improv for a while.

If you want a really fabulous Dracula flick, get the old one. If you want blood, lust, and licking straight razors, get the '92 version.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=854&reviewer=222
originally posted: 10/04/00 21:01:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/16/18 Ajpwales Olman was good movie was average. Not chilling. 3 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell visionary but very overrated 1 stars
5/21/17 David Hollingsworth Forget about Keanu, and you have a sublime masterwork. 5 stars
9/15/13 Lestat Greatest vampire movie ever; Gary Oldman is perfect as my Lord and Master, Count Dracula 5 stars
11/19/11 Andi Movie sucks ass, its terrible and has aged awfully. Best parts are the smut scnes. 1 stars
6/05/11 art GOOD GRIEF,everyone is so HAMMY in this HORROR flick! 1 stars
6/27/10 stevie68a One of my all time favorite movies. 5 stars
2/25/10 art best drac was DAVID NIVEN in OLD DRACULA! 1 stars
2/13/10 brian Suitably overwrought and Gothic, gorgeous and inspiring at times, but Keanu is truly awful. 3 stars
1/19/09 Fruitcake angel Visually gorgeous and fun. Mina and Lucy look wonderful in those lovely dresses... 5 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Scary Film! 5 stars
4/14/08 Alex The Best 5 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White unless you read the book first you're lost, shallow 2 stars
12/19/07 Mary Don't care about makeup, effects etc. Script sucks=movie sucks. I miss Lugosi. 1 stars
11/15/07 mahmoud good movie 5 stars
9/25/07 David Cohen Loud and graphic, a dose of subtlty could have made it great 3 stars
9/09/07 Jubei There are only two seminal vampire movies: Nosferatu and this Dracula.Respects to Lugosi. 5 stars
7/29/07 me they wernt real bats they were pretending 1 stars
6/21/07 Dan I wish I could give it 4 1/2 stars. Reeves was the lone drawback to an otherwise great film 4 stars
4/15/07 Dark Enchantress one of the best! 5 stars
3/07/07 dbx Frankly awesome. But if you have no stomachfor gothic romance/fantasy - avoid. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega One of the best'Draculas' out there. 4 stars
12/26/06 Darth Vader gr8 movie. did u guys notice that monica belluci plays in it? YES,she's naked in it 4 stars
9/21/06 Booksworm What, are you poeple high?Do you seriously expect me to believe that you have read the book 5 stars
3/29/06 SushiLover Stylish, Sexy, Great Performances 5 stars
3/24/06 UndeadCaleb All who hate this movie can get bent 5 stars
3/24/06 Dethbyhashi Greatest adaptation to the Novel 5 stars
3/24/06 BlackCat scary and sexy 5 stars
2/23/06 TB Need to get rid of romance and a great Dracula film 5 stars
12/28/05 Matt Terrible script, D-grade acting, flaws galore, pretty good makeup job 1 stars
12/19/05 Indrid Cold Seems wrong to give it less than a 4, but the plot is bad to the point of being silly. 4 stars
9/12/05 Total Crap The most gothic movie out there. Love the cover. 5 stars
8/12/05 ES I liked the suit of armour he wears for five seconds in the beginning= everything else bad 1 stars
8/05/05 Pierre Still haven't gotten the bad taste out of my mouth. Good director, bad movie. 1 stars
5/12/05 norma this flm was well directed, the stars were well chosen and it deserves all the credit it g 5 stars
4/21/05 J K Rowling best dracula movie, not too bright though 4 stars
2/25/05 dbx one of my favorite movies; deliciously excessive, gary oldman is hot. 5 stars
2/14/05 J. Elaine Greenup solid 4 stars
1/28/05 Mmmm...Blood Oldman is Dracula 5 stars
1/28/05 Who is... Invasio? The Irresistable Force! Dracula is the real Irresistable force. Invasio barely compares 5 stars
1/28/05 Dracula This the best adaptation of my undead life! Blah! 5 stars
1/28/05 Cave Dweller Amazing movie 5 stars
1/28/05 Calebx Awesome Dracula movie 5 stars
1/28/05 DethbyHashi The greatest vampire film ever 5 stars
1/23/05 revenge of the poo-nuggets MAAAAAAGOOOBAHHHHHHHH 5 stars
12/14/04 Tom Benton Could have been better, much too erotic - but very well-done nonetheless. Oldman is great. 4 stars
11/17/04 chris some great bits in it 4 stars
11/09/04 Clare Scally The greatest film ever made! Gary Oldman looks gorgeous! 5 stars
8/25/04 American Slasher Goddess Very dull with uninvolving characters and storyline. 1 stars
6/24/04 Karen Stockdale Terrifically filmed if a little overacted at times. Oldman is wonderful!!! 4 stars
5/08/04 Pagan Excellent film John Robertson has no idea whats hes on about, fucking fool 5 stars
2/09/04 danielle it's my favorite movie 5 stars
11/28/03 john lots of camera tricks can't hide terrible casting and bad script 2 stars
11/24/03 Thiago This one will never be forgotten. A classic. 4 stars
10/24/03 Danny I think it is one of the best vamp movies so far 4 stars
7/03/03 Dave Hopman Not scary, but still a very good movie, although it's not very faithful to the book. 4 stars
4/04/03 Jack Sommersby Unscary and uninvolving. More concerned with f/x than story and character. 1 stars
11/22/02 brianna bah! its ok, but not a patch on the novel... 3 stars
11/19/02 Uncle Salty Two words: Overdone. (I know it's only one but, just say it twice.) 2 stars
9/29/02 Charles Tatum Overacted costume drama, Dracula without scares?? 3 stars
8/03/02 Edler False advertizing. This don't follow the book at all! It sucks wang! 1 stars
5/10/02 Butterbean I love Oldman, Coppola,and vampire flicks but I was very disappointed here. 2 stars
2/05/02 Nevz this film is pretty shallow, could of done better. 2 stars
1/05/02 Rhonda Fricker one of the best movies I have seen..Gary Oldman is amazing 5 stars
1/04/02 kevin very good nice compliment to john 5 stars
12/10/01 john linton roberson Awful postmodern failure.More dated than any version;painful to watch. 2 stars
10/17/01 Evil Kittie THis movie kicked ass!!1 5 stars
10/14/01 E-Funk One of Coppola's best. Visually stunning and horrifically entertaining. 5 stars
8/18/01 Andrew Carden Very Crazy Remake Of Dracula. Like A Roller Coaster Ride. 4 stars
7/27/01 Miguel Nuno Montes For me, one of the best movies of all time!! 5 stars
7/26/01 TLsmooth Keanu sucks ass but Oldman is fucking awesome. Ryder is a slut. 4 stars
4/02/01 Ro Ryder and Reeve are miscast and Van Helsing's written wrong. Apart from that - delicious! 4 stars
2/06/01 HELEN McBRIDE TOTALLY COOL MY FAVOURITE FILM IN THE WORLD 5 stars
1/25/01 Kat Best Dracula movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!! Gary Oldman is the best actor ever! 5 stars
1/08/01 Keanuette A sumptuous gothic flick! Keanu as Harker was a good choice, Shame about the accent.... 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin a stunning feast for your eyes, but stilory 4 stars
10/07/00 matthew didn't like at first viewing, but grew on me 4 stars
9/18/00 Tom McCullough Yes, it is scary, and incredible to look at and listen to on a good home theater system. 5 stars
5/17/00 Creeper Not scary, more romance than the novel, but an incredible film. 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie Funky, horney goth flick. The English actors piss on the Americans. 5 stars
11/14/99 Sherif Nashaat A touching story of love amid a visually stunning atmoshere. Complete Genius. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan This is not Bram Stoker's Dracula. It's Barbara Cartland's Dracula. Oldman sucks anyway. 2 stars
9/21/99 Kandinsky Agree with that "Victorian MTV" comment...only good part is Waits as Renfield 2 stars
9/11/99 the Grinch Disagree w/ JLR's vampire purism. Coppola used no modern filmaking techniques...very worthy 4 stars
8/24/99 jeff heath pretty entertaining, great cast. 4 stars
8/15/99 Elizaveta Gary Oldman makes this excellent film into an absolutely astounding experience! 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Pretty good 4 stars
1/09/99 Thorn Silvertree Severely flawed, but VISUALLY! What a FEAST! 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Only Oldman shows something of a performance. Some stunning visuals, though........ 3 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce I hate vampire films, but Oldman was superb. 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I love this film, it puts me in a trance every time i watch it! 5 stars
11/12/98 Jules Alright, it has faults, but it's PURE FILM MAGIC!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast