Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome34.67%
Worth A Look: 29.33%
Just Average: 17.33%
Pretty Crappy: 13.33%
Sucks: 5.33%

5 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Doors, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"This movie got my mojo risin'!"
3 stars

"The Doors," like any Oliver Stone movie I've ever seen, is a big, too-long, unwieldy mess. But, all stylistic qualms aside, I enjoy it every time I watch it. It works not as a typical filmed story, but rather as sort of a hyped up documentary. In any event, it's got Michael Madsen in it--you gotta love that.

After wasting away my thirteenth year listening exclusively to Jim Morrison and friends, I approached this picture wearily--I am not typically fond of Oliver Stone, or Val Kilmer. I could not honestly imagine a more demonic pairing in my mind.

And everything I feared about the movie was true--Stone captures the manic energy of the Doors, but with way too much reverence. He's unable to see the Doors for what they were (cheesy rock band with some excellent songs); he obviously worships them as mythic rock Gods.

And, for the most part, his film is a true representative of their sound--all cock and bluster, with lots of flourishes thrown in to disguise the threadbare heart. But there's nothing wrong with that, because the narrative actually lives up to it's pretenses.

Stone sweeps the audience up, capturing the time perfectly. His movie has a free, meandering spirit, and the occasional flower-power overloads have their goofy charm (a trip to the desert is aesthetically pleasing, if not exactly respectable filmmaking).

And Val Kilmer IS Jim Morrison. The first time he begins to sing, it's almost painfully awkward--eyes closed, voice booming; it all reeks of faux white boy soul. But Kilmer has enough presence to overcome the essential cheesiness of portraying Morrison, and his quiet intensity is a joy to behold.

"The Doors" often wanders off into the wrong direction, but its energy is infectious and there's plenty of great music to keep us watching. The combination of these tunes and Stone's high minded approach form a cinematic mix that is at once enthralling and nauseating, kind of like two cars colliding.

He's crafted a winning valentine to one of the most celebrated bands of all time, and he's done so by celebrating the Dionysian excess instead of the music.

I think Jim Morrison would have appreciated the irony.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=855&reviewer=123
originally posted: 08/15/99 13:52:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/28/17 morris campbell one stones better movies great music 4 stars
5/10/14 PAUL SHORTT INTENSE, WELL MADE BIOPIC, WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
8/19/13 Fire With Fire Riot and burn,says Oliver Stone. But leave his multi-million $ mansion ALONE. HYPOCRITE!!!! 1 stars
8/17/10 art CREEPY AND DEPRESSING! 1 stars
8/09/08 Kyle Boylan Its a great movie(can't wait to watch it while I trip) 5 stars
5/14/08 Jack Sommersby Lacks dramatic depth but Kilmer's performance and recreation of the time and place is A+. 4 stars
1/31/08 Shelbie Awesome! A great idea of what Jim and that era were like. Not enough of his poetic side.. 5 stars
11/10/07 Jackson This is OLIVER STONES JIM MORRISON dont get confused 2 stars
10/16/07 Anthony Tassone A gripping movie. It stays with you after you see it. Great insight into Morrisons life 4 stars
1/14/07 David Pollastrini could have done without the Shaman stuff 4 stars
10/09/06 albert A VERY GOOD MOVIE. 4 stars
1/04/06 Agent Sands This just might get me back into an Oliver Stone kick. I mean the guy is a GENIUS. 5 stars
10/05/05 Denise Cusack I concur with the reviews' overview 4 stars
8/21/05 Jeree I really enjoyed this film! 5 stars
2/14/05 Mr. Durden This movie cannot be put into words and be done justice, It's a must see. 5 stars
11/30/04 chloe i really felt inebriated! Kilmer is my idol, next to Jim, of course. 5 stars
11/01/04 jeff this movie kicked 5 stars
9/16/04 Ryan I loved this movie it had mostly everything correct to Jim life and that of The Doors 4 stars
6/20/04 Tim Superb film, so much content of Jims life, makes me wana time-travel and join him 4 a beer 5 stars
5/13/04 John hypmotic and intense with great performances butis it authentic? 4 stars
5/22/03 Biff Boffo Surely Morrison, being an arteeest, had to have more than 1 dimension to his being?! 2 stars
2/06/03 Dee-Dee awsome, tells the true life of the doors 4 stars
1/20/03 Climhazzard This is a GREAT movie. Don't tell me that you wouldn't live like Jim did if in the 60's. 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum The great music and Kilmer lift this above the normal Stone slop 4 stars
3/31/02 Jenny Tullwartz Good bio, and shows how Meg Ryan could be a serious actress. 5 stars
2/28/02 Butterbean Kilmer made the perfect Morrison! A good biopic 4 stars
9/16/01 Bri Awsome! 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A very honest, harrowing depiction of a musical God. Stone scores again. 5 stars
6/19/01 G-MAN Read "No One Here Gets Out Alive" first. It'll make more sense to you. 4 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Great pic tho the wigs are ALL fucking horrible 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L If you don't like this movie, you are too old... 5 stars
1/30/01 mehmet erkmen lack of morrison 1 stars
11/05/00 jkl;jojekl;nsa most awsome 5 stars
6/19/00 Ryan Mccollum Trip well worth it 5 stars
6/16/00 drew raley Stone seems very enamoured of his self-invoked status as '60scultural tourguide. Whoops. 2 stars
4/30/00 perverted pixie Up there with "Sid & Nancy" in terms of great rock bio-pic's. I loved it madly! 5 stars
10/10/99 Weird Andy As boring and overwrought as an actual Doors album. 2 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Fantastic biopic. Stone delivers again and Kilmer presents us with an acceptable Jim. 4 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink It lighted my fire alright! 5 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Kilmer really gives it a shake, but there's not enough here for a movie. Stone embelishes. 3 stars
10/24/98 Vincent An awesome piece of filmmaking, loses a lot on video (even ltbx) though 5 stars
10/02/98 wind excellent movie...watchin it right now...jim was pretty cool 5 stars
9/15/98 Lonatic Another Stone OPINION movie! Oliver Stone sucks as a diector/writer whatever he isn't.. 1 stars
9/14/98 cheryl_ann kickin flick, but i brought upon an a flashback for me. i dunno if that's good or bad. 4 stars
9/05/98 Helle Marie Allright, this is exxellent, beaudiful and fuckin` great! Val does a great job as Morrison 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Mar-1991 (R)
  DVD: 12-Dec-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast