Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.83

Awesome42.11%
Worth A Look: 27.63%
Just Average: 10.53%
Pretty Crappy: 10.53%
Sucks: 9.21%

5 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fun, the Luck & the Tycoon, The by Jay Seaver

All About Ah-Long by Jay Seaver

Eighth Happiness by Jay Seaver

Psycho Goreman by Jay Seaver

Coming 2 America by Peter Sobczynski

Raya and the Last Dragon by Peter Sobczynski

Jumbo by Jay Seaver

Blithe Spirit (2021) by Jay Seaver

My Zoe by Jay Seaver

Nomadland by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Ginger Snaps 2: Unleashed
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by John Rice

"A weak followup to a cult favorite."
2 stars

"Ginger Snaps 2" lacks all the irreverent humor of the original. The attempts at seriousness simply come off as weak and poorly executed.

When we last saw the Fitzgerald sisters, Brigitte (Emily Perkins) had infected herself with her sister Ginger's (Katherine Isabelle) blood in an attempt to persuade her to get help. Brigitte's plan didn't go so well and the movie finished with viewers wondering if Ginger would survive.


The Movie
Ginger Snaps 2 begins, following Brigitte on the run from civilization, but mostly from the werewolf which is tracking her down. She must inject herself daily with the wolf's bane that prevents her complete conversion. Where the theme in the first film was teen hormones, which was lampooned wonderfully, the theme it part 2 seems to be drug addiction. There is scene after scene of Brigitte, sitting in cheap motel rooms, injecting the serum into her arm until she has a series of tracks. "Cutting" also seems to be a theme, as she repeatedly cuts herself, seeing how long it takes the wounds to heal.

Brigitte, is "captured" and sent to a hospital. Here she must deal with Ginger, who continuously pops into her mind to taunt her, and try to find the serum that prevents her from wolfing out. She meets a young girl named Ghost (Tatiana Masley) whose mother is a burn victim in the hospital. Ghost seems to spend all her time at the hospital reading to her mother, who appears to be trying to call out for help. Eventually, Brigitte escapes, leading to a series of seemingly pointless confrontations and the inevitable setup for another movie.

There doesn't seem to be a great deal of meaning to the whole story as Brigitte faces one obstacle after another. Unfortunately, this sequel lacks the humor of the first and seems to be aiming for more straight horror, which it does not succeed at. The many shots of Brigitte shooting up are clear enough. Drug use is ugly and bad. The original Ginger Snaps was a clever, amusing and original film which should have been left on it's own. Of course, success is never forgiven and a third film, this time a prequel, has already been completed. (This review originally appeared on Slacker-Reviews.com)

Hopefully the coming prequel will be a vast improvement over this installment.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=8643&reviewer=373
originally posted: 08/05/04 21:02:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 San Francisco Horror Film Festival. For more in the 2004 San Francisco Horror Festival series, click here.
For more in the Direct To Video Sequels series, click here.

User Comments

7/21/09 Jarrod Is good till the end ginger should have been in it more. 2 stars
11/10/07 little cody a strong sequel to the original flim, a kickbutt werewolf flick. 4 stars
8/12/06 Dude-a-Tollah Better than the first... grabs your b%##$ and doesn't let go 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist How many f#*%ing times must I tell you, CAMPY CRAP;not even medieocre!!!! 1 stars
6/19/06 cody a strong follow up to lst one , it like a girl interuppted meets the howling, good movie 4 stars
3/24/06 Dethbyhashi Even Better than the Original!!!! 5 stars
9/18/05 veronica my favorite movie is ginger snaps my 2'nd is gs 2 5 stars
8/19/05 ES Chris is so right, Canadian cinema is a joke & this movie was not nearly as good as #1 2 stars
7/02/05 Brigget All 3 of them ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/16/05 E-FUNK Nowhere near the triumph of the first film... but not the usual shit-sequel fare. 4 stars
12/05/04 K. Sear Unneccesary attempt to cash in on the prior films cult status. 1 stars
10/10/04 Melissa MacIntosh Ginger snaps 2 and 3 both suck. 1 stars
9/26/04 Liam MacGannon It was a great flick, I liked Bridgette 5 stars
7/29/04 Josh Standlee Very sweet with some really cute babes! By "sweet" I mean scary! 5 stars
7/15/04 Sean More of a drama then a horror flick 5 stars
7/09/04 MorallySound A great creepy film. Far better then the original. 5 stars
6/16/04 Bruce Campbell Kicked Major Ass - BALLSY 5 stars
6/09/04 Elizabeth It was good, and i think if you watch both ginger snaps, and ginder snaps 2 back to back in 4 stars
5/01/04 jessie loved it 5 stars
4/30/04 ken good 4 stars
4/25/04 Lisa Stratton This is what I choose for comment I'll say it is about the beauty of actor Emily Perkins 4 stars
4/16/04 Michael Greenwaldt I didn't want it to end. Bring on another sequel! Better than the first! 5 stars
4/14/04 Joseph Barale Awesome sequel with bite. Even better than the first 5 stars
4/03/04 Bridgette CaJones overestimated by zitty fanboys (ahem, Darkofnight), but still pretty decent. 4 stars
3/13/04 Jes I loved every second of it, my second favorite movie.. Ginger Snaps my first! 5 stars
3/11/04 jake DeLi never seen the second but the first was kick ass...i'm looking to see the 2nd and prequel 5 stars
3/01/04 Katie Saw this the first night it came out... AMAZING 5 stars
3/01/04 ashley bevis crap 1 stars
3/01/04 jdogg bad,bad,BAD movie! Pull out your eyes now so you don't accidentally watch this someday!! 1 stars
2/26/04 fairy psycho kick as bitch movie ;) 5 stars
2/20/04 ScaryDude Wicked, Tense and Gory 5 stars
2/16/04 Chris Elliott Wicked! Wanting the DVD and looking forward to Ginger Snaps Back. 5 stars
2/13/04 mememe bestest movie :) 5 stars
2/12/04 mike when is it coming to eastern canada 5 stars
2/12/04 Kai A horrible let down. The first was brilliant, this is just a sad attempt to follow it up. 1 stars
2/11/04 Mike Not as good as the first, I found it more suprising and disturbing then the first. 4 stars
2/11/04 rachel haven't seen it but it looks good 5 stars
2/08/04 Kyle BIZARRO! 3 stars
2/07/04 Mark Almost as good as the first. 5 stars
2/04/04 Ghost Is it gonna come out in the boston area anytime? 5 stars
2/04/04 Jenn not as good as the first 4 stars
2/02/04 Terry C "Sucked ass"?? How classy! Such eloquence makes one really proud to be an American! 3 stars
2/01/04 Alex Gaines It sucked ass 1 stars
2/01/04 Mark Great sequel in which the flaws do not distract from the movie at all. 5 stars
1/31/04 darkofnight Flawed, yes, but so wonderfully executed, that you just don't care. 5 stars
1/30/04 Vicious Horror with sublty and amosphere, excellent, only from Canada 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Apr-2004 (R)
  DVD: 13-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast