Jamie Kennedy's favorite movie review site
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.4

Awesome71.43%
Worth A Look: 11.22%
Just Average: 7.14%
Pretty Crappy: 6.12%
Sucks: 4.08%

3 reviews, 80 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Secret Garden, The (2020) by Peter Sobczynski

Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker by Jay Seaver

Force of Nature by Rob Gonsalves

Greyhound by Rob Gonsalves

Undercover Vice: Strapped for Danger Part II by Rob Gonsalves

Painted Bird, The by Rob Gonsalves

Relativity by Jay Seaver

Amulet by Jay Seaver

Secret, The: Dare to Dream by Peter Sobczynski

She Dies Tomorrow by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Rain Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"It's Raining Man"
5 stars

In the last few years, this was one of the few Oscar winners for best picture that was not a ponderous three hour history lesson.

Charlie Babbit, a struggling and cocky luxury car dealer finds out his father dies, and goes to Ohio from L.A. to collect his expected inheritance. He finds out he has an older autistic brother named Raymond who has all the money put in trust for his care. Charlie takes Raymond on a drive back to L.A. to await a hearing on custody of Raymond, and the film is, in effect, their cross country journey.

I have seen this film many times before, as have others, and I would suggest a new way to view this: just watch Tom Cruise's underappreciated performance. He is very confident and sure of himself, and holds his own against Hoffman. His character does change slightly throughout the film, but Cruise never allows Charlie to do a 180 into sainthood. Even at the climactic hearing, he speaks shortly to Raymond, and their final scene after the hearing, where Raymond leans his head on Charlie's, is wonderful.

Hoffman deserved the Oscar for best actor. Sure, everyone did their own Raymond impressions (until Tom Hanks' Forrest Gump came along; why do some people think mental retardation is funny?), but Hoffman has not been this good very often since ("Hero", anyone?).

The screenplay is wonderful, despite a troubled history and multiple endings. The one scene I had a problem with is when Charlie figures out who Raymond was to him as a child, and Levinson basically has Cruise talk to himself as a way to let those in the audience know. I cannot stand that. We can figure it out without Cruise mumbling "they sent you away because they thought you hurt me." This is just quibbling, however, considering other positives here. Levinson uses overlapping dialogue to a wonderful extent, with Cruise always talking and trying to find a way out of a jam. His scene where he keeps repeating his inheritance, the rose bushes, to his father's lawyer, while the lawyer tries to talk, is funny and a foreshadowing to Hoffman's Raymond. Maybe Raymond does not say some of the things he says because he is autistic, but because he is a Babbit. When Robert Altman uses overlapping dialogue, it seems forced, boring, and something you must endure until Sally Kellerman or some other leading lady agrees to take her clothes off. Here, it is very natural. Valeria Golina is also good as Charlie's exasperated Italian girlfriend.

Hans Zimmer provides an incredible score that is not used often enough. The pick of songs, from Bananarama's remake of "Nathan Jones," to Etta James' "At Last" seemed to be collected to make the movie work, not because someone wanted a hit soundtrack a la "Footloose" or "Beverly Hills Cop."

"Rain Man" is a great film, and one that deserves a fresh look today.

link directly to this review at https://www.hollywoodbitchslap.com/review.php?movie=932&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/27/03 16:57:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/16/12 hurdygurdy man Maybe I'm wrong, but I'm NOT, this movie blows. TC hammy (GF annoying) and DH stiff.. 2 stars
3/05/10 art AN UNBELEIVABLE STORY! 1 stars
11/05/09 steph i like this movie but i dont like the ending, should change it! 4 stars
2/04/09 Faraz J Excellent acting by both the leads. But the story was borING. 4 stars
10/21/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
9/09/08 PAUL SHORTT AN UNEVEN BUDDY-BUDDY/ROAD FILM WITH NO STORY AND NO MOTOR 1 stars
3/01/08 Pamela White I'm a good driver. Hoffman awesome role 5 stars
3/01/08 Ivana Mann Hoffman's funniest perfomance since Tootsie-& that's not a compliment.Cruise sucks as usual 2 stars
2/13/08 mado shefooooo man i love rain man moive 5 stars
4/27/07 Double M A movie to remind you that you're still a human. Hoffman and Cruise were amazing as always. 5 stars
4/21/07 Chris Redmond Hoffman superb as ever, but special praise must go to Cruise. 5 stars
11/24/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
7/03/06 Ashley Hinz I can't stand Tom Cruise, but I like this movie. 5 stars
6/04/06 chris It wasnt really that good, IT WAS FUCKEN AWESOME 5 stars
3/04/06 Erkan MUSLU Excellent Thanks to ALL 5 stars
2/10/06 G what the fuck is wrong with you people this a great film 5 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Hoffman annoying Cruise tries hard 4 stars
6/13/05 Indrid Cold Not sure why it's considered such a classic, but yes, Hoffman is quite interesting to watch 4 stars
5/10/05 Simon Humanity at its most tragic and true. 5 stars
4/02/05 John Bale Hoffman's standout performance in a finely crafted film with a moving story. 5 stars
3/26/05 Jack Sommersby Stupidly plotted; smoothly directed; dramatically obvious; pleasantly acted. 2 stars
11/17/04 chris first film i actually liked and didnt hate cruise in. 2 stars
10/23/04 UMER hoffman's third best movie 5 stars
7/02/04 R.W. Welch A novel plot line with grade A acting. 4 stars
6/25/04 Gray many people learned from this film that autistic people aren't retarted 5 stars
6/14/04 T. Maj Dustin Hoffman grandstands 3 stars
6/10/04 Kevin Farkas Sure, it's a simple road picture, but it never fails because of those two actors. 5 stars
4/20/04 Katie Malone I laughed . . . I cried . . . I applauded. 5 stars
4/13/04 John Aster Habig Ross Bernard you racist jerkoff twit 5 stars
7/04/03 Kaylene SHit This movie was the dumbest shit yet. I can't believe they would make such a gay ass movie! 1 stars
6/18/03 John Aster Habig definitely defintely a good movie definitely 5 stars
4/08/03 Ross Bernard good movie! did i mention all niggers should die? 5 stars
1/21/03 Pinkline Jones Rivetting Egocentric Uninspiring Nonsense 3 stars
1/12/03 Jack Sommersby A road laden with cliches. 2 stars
12/04/02 Agatha Cruise and Hoffmann were excellent! The end is a little bit sad 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Cruise in a good film? Praise L. Ron Hubbard! 5 stars
7/26/02 I Can't Swim It was good the first time I saw it. Did not age well, Dustin annoying after awhile 2 stars
6/14/02 spaceworm Hoffman gets it right; Cruise's best, period. 5 stars
6/01/02 Dark Barøn Hoffman rules. Cruise... about the same in every movie he starred in it. 5 stars
4/05/02 Justin I'm an excellent driver. Dustin Hoffman and Tom Cruise are so fucking good in it! 5 stars
3/11/02 KMG Very boring....cool soundtrack....Tom in those fucking sunglasses again! 3 stars
2/26/02 Nicole I loved this film and I would recommend this to many people to see. Everyone should see it. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Hoffman was brilliant. An exceptional film. 5 stars
1/29/02 Geebo The best 5 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Movie. Just Wonderful. A Must-See. 5 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz Weird. We scorn retards in real-life, yet we just love the cuter, sanitized movie versions. 3 stars
10/24/01 Tennille Klos Fantastic, very very very good 5 stars
10/16/01 Bernie McCourt makes me cry 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Cruise's second best role is miles less good than this one. Hoffman right on. 5 stars
8/08/01 E-Funk Moving. One of Cruise's best performances. Hoffman is great as usual. 5 stars
7/31/01 TLsmooth Get off of Hoffman's nuts, he hasn't done shit since and Cruise is better is this anyway. 4 stars
7/27/01 Henry Ginsberg What a great performance by Dustin Hofman . 5 stars
7/25/01 kygkk.gku uh oh fart, uh oh fart. 5 stars
5/11/01 Geebo I believe a 6 or 7 star rating is due 5 stars
4/28/01 R.W. Welch There is less here than meets the eye but Hoffman carries it. 4 stars
4/10/01 Troy Are Phil, Ant & Christine the same person? 1 stars
4/03/01 Crystal Excellent portrayal of autism by Hoffman. This movie shows that no man is an island. 5 stars
3/07/01 Sanja I like it very very much! 5 stars
2/10/01 Christine A great film. Hoffman's performance is just sensational. 5 stars
2/10/01 Phil Hoffman is remarkable in this sensitive and touching film. 5 stars
2/10/01 Ant Hoffman's is brilliant performance is stunningly sensitive and endearing 5 stars
2/10/01 Ant Hoffman's performance makes this movie. 5 stars
11/27/00 Cristopher Revilla great movie, magnificent performance by dustin hoffman 5 stars
11/14/00 salvo toscano the plot's flat, but dustin is amazing 5 stars
11/07/00 matt buchanan sweet 5 stars
9/16/00 Bruce A teriffic film 5 stars
9/08/00 Elvisfan Best perf by an emotionally disturbed person was Leo in "Gilbert Grape", not Hoffman here 4 stars
5/01/00 Cithel V. Orozco This movie is an excellent window into what it is to be autistic. 5 stars
2/24/00 David TOMASEK One of the most emotive but either funny and "real" movies I`ve ever seen. 5 stars
12/27/99 Albert Flasher Two thumbs up! 5 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis Hoffman is astounding, Cruise is terrific, Rain Man is remarkable! 5 stars
11/01/99 CHOPARD not bad at all 3 stars
10/18/99 vanessa mormile emotional, great movie 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***½ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 4 stars
2/20/99 little jerry All that praise for Hoffman's party trick performance when it's Cruise who shines. 3 stars
1/14/99 Dasha Tom Cruise CAN act! 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules "Up" there with Bill. I was not impressed with this film or Hoffman's performance... 3 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Multiple viewings will reveal subtleties that are not intially apparent. A classic! 5 stars
10/13/98 philip definitely good yeah definitely good 5 stars
9/11/98 kanatcha im too lazy for this... 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Dec-1988 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Privacy Policy | | HBS Inc. |   
All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast